• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Remote Online Gambling Act

w13158

The act just passed 2 days ago, some online casino already act upon and is starting to close Sg a/c. Ladbrokes is one of them send email that wef from 10/10 it will not be made available to Sg. For act to commence it will take another 2 months, 1st the President need to assent, then indicate the commencement date. The whole process will take 2-3 months.

Very soon, LW will be over-populated and everyone rushed for tickets. It is just too difficult to control gamblers.

Yes I will be closing this section at the end of the year with the loss of thousands of dollars of revenue.

There is no point my selling banner and advert space if all the links are blocked.

august2014

whoa lau.. jialat lah like that... I also got an email from Ladbrokes telling me they will close my account.

But what Boss LeongSam posted makes me feel abit confused...

Obviously it won't affect your banner ad business right Boss? Given that IBC, Casino855 etc (operated by the agents in the SBF forum).. will not be under the purview of the act?

yes?

HorLee

The act just passed 2 days ago, some online casino already act upon and is starting to close Sg a/c. Ladbrokes is one of them send email that wef from 10/10 it will not be made available to Sg. For act to commence it will take another 2 months, 1st the President need to assent, then indicate the commencement date. The whole process will take 2-3 months.

Very soon, LW will be over-populated and everyone rushed for tickets. It is just too difficult to control gamblers.

lw already gearing up for off site betting . see their offering on EPL 4D etc etc etc

whoa lau.. jialat lah like that... I also got an email from Ladbrokes telling me they will close my account.

But what Boss LeongSam posted makes me feel abit confused...

Obviously it won't affect your banner ad business right Boss? Given that IBC, Casino855 etc (operated by the agents in the SBF forum).. will not be under the purview of the act?

yes?

The accounts of all the agents will be closed too so there is no point my continuing to sell banner space. No SG agent will want to advertise anyway as it is not a viable business anymore.

I suspect all the operations will move on to wechat, telegram, whatsapp etc. Telegram is via secure encryption so it would be a perfect medium of bookies to operate on.

All the Singapore government will achieve is to shift gambling from one platform to another. Vices can never be eliminated.

DavidMoyes

The accounts of all the agents will be closed too so there is no point my continuing to sell banner space. No SG agent will want to advertise anyway as it is not a viable business anymore.

I suspect all the operations will move on to wechat, telegram, whatsapp etc. Telegram is via secure encryption so it would be a perfect medium of bookies to operate on.

All the Singapore government will achieve is to shift gambling from one platform to another. Vices can never be eliminated.

Telegram has become increasingly popular thanks to South Koreans.

Many Singapore gamblers getting fix online

Published: 11 October 2014

<article style="box-sizing: border-box; padding-bottom: 30px; overflow: hidden; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: 'Open Sans', 'Helvetica Neue', Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; line-height: 19.5px;">
party_poker_screenshot-partypoker_org_website-111014.jpg

A screenshot of the PartyPoker website. The Singapore government is proposing to ban residents from participating in any form of online gambling. - Pic from PartyPoker.org, October 11, 2014.For eight to 12 hours a day, they can be playing at as many as 24 tables concurrently, making decisions in milliseconds on whether to check, fold, call or raise with their hole cards before the buzzer goes off.

The actions of the eight other players they are up against at each table are inconsequential to them, because they are playing, in Texas Hold’em aficionados’ parlance, ABC poker – making cold decisions based solely on the mathematical odds of their hands.

To these so-called “professional grinders”, online poker is a full-time job and one which promises eye-popping rewards: In rakebacks alone – the rebates on commission operators levy on each game – they can get a Porsche in one year. Ironically, the pocket change, generally speaking, is the money they win – playing ABC poker usually gives a margin of 5 per cent over the long run, give or take.

And these regulars in online card rooms such as Poker Stars and Full Tilt Poker are not about to let the deterrent measures – including blocking payment and access to these websites – legislated under the Remote Gambling Bill passed earlier this week smash their “rice bowl”.They have virtual private network services on the ready to circumvent the blockade the authorities intend to impose on remote gambling websites.

“We know ways to get around technical obstacles or we will find ways,” said a 31-year-old online poker player who did not want to give his name. “If you can find ways to get past the Great Firewall in China, anything can be done.”

He recounted how poker enthusiasts got around hurdles when the game first surged in popularity here six to seven years ago.

As Singapore credit cards are not accepted, they turned to buying funds from other online players to get their fix, for instance. Many also set up e-wallet accounts, such as with Skrill, PayPal or Western Union, to pump funds into their accounts with these card rooms.

While Second Home Affairs Minister S.Iswaran has said the focus is not on nabbing individual gamblers, the new law provides for six months’ jail or a S$5,000 fine for those who go for a flutter on unauthorised websites.

Not that this is sending chills down the spines of all casual gamblers. A 24-year-old undergraduate who plays on PokerStars two or three times a week, each time for a couple of hours, said: “So many people in Singapore are playing, I’m just a small fish.”

The draw of online poker games, she said, is they are much faster – compared with approximately only 10 hands in an hour for actual games, online players get up to 30 seconds each to act – and available round the clock. “I don’t play at the high-stakes tables anyway, it’s just a fun thing to do,” she added.

The lure of poker tournaments, which are unavailable at the two casinos here, is another factor, said another poker fan, who is planning to open a bank account in Johor Baru and get a Malaysian credit card to slip through the cracks.

“You get to play against people from so many different countries, it’s more exciting,” said the 38-year-old, who has gone to Genting and cruise ships to take part in poker tournaments.

Apart from the prize money, a golden ticket to larger-scale poker tournaments – such as the World Series of Poker, which has been held in Las Vegas annually between June and November since 1970 – sometimes awaits the winner, he added.

Others are taking a wait-and-see approach. If it gets too cumbersome, they will unfurl the felt at home.

At some condominiums, for instance, poker enthusiasts have formed WhatsApp chat groups to organise games and even tournaments. During weekends and public holidays, in particular, there can be as many as six games hosted in different homes simultaneously.

“Most of us play poker online and we exchange stories of interesting hands during these sessions,” said a 35-year-old, whose condominium has such a group. “It’s just not the same when you’re playing with strangers. We are thinking of including many more friends of friends in our games.”

As for those into football betting, the comparatively poor odds offered by state-sanctioned Singapore Pools have long been cited as one of the reasons they choose to place wagers with online operators.

There is also a plethora of betting options offered by these bookies, which inject an addictive thrill, they added. For instance, you can bet on the total number of corners in a game or continue punting on a handicap throughout a match on websites that are popular here, such as IBC Bet and SBOBET.

A runner said the illegal bookie he is working for is anticipating brisk business to be diverted from these websites. “We can give new proxy websites every week or something like that. It’s very hard for them to shut us down. They can only keep chasing us,” said the 33-year-old, who asked to remain anonymous.

Although they acknowledged the extensiveness of the new law, counsellors whom TODAY spoke to noted its limited impact on those hooked on online gambling.

The latest National Council on Problem Gambling statistics from 2011 showed that such gamblers have the poorest self-control, gambling longer and more frequently, as well as being more prone to dipping into their wallets to satiate their craving.

Deborah Queck, executive director of Blessed Grace Social Services, which runs a gamblers recovery centre, felt online gamblers would pull out all stops to get around the new curbs. Otherwise, they are “very likely” to seek alternatives, such as going to casinos or turning to illegal bookies.

Maximilian Koh, director of Thye Hua Kwan Problem Gambling Recovery Centre, added that these gamblers are not in it solely for the money, but also because online gambling is easily accessible.

“The excitement it brings and its easy accessibility ... also, it provides them anonymity,” he said.

The centre run by Blessed Grace Social Services has seen an increase of about 20 per cent of online gamblers this year from last year.

Queck said: “(We) need to have more help portals if they are in trouble, create more public awareness and run more campaigns to say that gambling is harmful to families and the worst scenario is it will become an addiction.”

Still, she added that the new law is an effective deterrent against those who have not tinkered with online gambling. – TODAY Online, October 11, 2014.

</article>- See more at: http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/...blers-getting-fix-online#sthash.AjJCU1ad.dpuf

AhDin97

Talk more also no use ...Singapore Pool just wana conquer the online gambling market.
You queue up buy 4D ,can always see the advertisment on "OPEN ACCOUNT WITH SINGAPORE POOL FORLIVE BETS"
ToTo min bet for system 7 increase to $7 from $3.50
Monday & thurs got toto,Wed,sat & sun got 4d.
Open casino not one but two,than setup what gambling addiction conselling etc...
See liao also dont know how to say...crocodile tears

august2014

Thanks boss Sam for your reply. But hor, I still don't understand. Why the accounts of all the agents will be closed? What they have been doing (having betting accounts) for years have not been legal anyway. So what has this new law/act's impact got to do with their already running operation anyway?

Can shed some light on this please? Any bros here can comment too please? Thanks :smile:

Thanks boss Sam for your reply. But hor, I still don't understand. Why the accounts of all the agents will be closed? What they have been doing (having betting accounts) for years have not been legal anyway. So what has this new law/act's impact got to do with their already running operation anyway?

Can shed some light on this please? Any bros here can comment too please? Thanks :smile:

Because overseas sites and agents are not accepting Singapore based players anymore. The government has said it will block sites, block vpn services that are used to bypass the sites and block payment channels to prevent bets being placed and payouts being transferred.

Gambling on line was never legal but neither did the government make any effort to control on-line gambling in the past.

There is no point my collecting banner ad money if on line gambling is going to me made so onerous that nobody is going to bother.

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/remote-gambling-laws-take-effect-next-year?singlepage=true

The MHA has formed a unit to develop capabilities to monitor gambling sites and related payment mechanisms. Working with the police, it will use third-party resources and build on collaborations with regulators in other jurisdictions to track remote-gambling trends and best practices. The list of websites blocked will be updated regularly and sites of Virtual Private Network service providers aimed at bypassing Singapore’s blocking measures for remote gambling will be blocked too, Mr Iswaran said.

If you're not happy with the way the PAP is trying to control the lives and entertainment pursuits of Singaporeans, you guys can always vote them out at the next election and vote in a party that is more liberal and less controlling.