• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why LHL's comments on LOVE is difficult to understand

Responding to a question following his speech at the National University of Singapore Society 60th Anniversary Lecture, PM Lee dismissed the film as a “self-serving personal account”. He also stated that a film was more problematic than books, as films could come across as more convincing.

“You write a book, I can write a counter book, the book you can read together with a counter book. You watch a movie, you think it’s a documentary (and) it may be like Fahrenheit 9/11 — very convincing, but it’s not a documentary. And I think we have to understand this in order to understand how to deal with these issues.”
- Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, as quoted by TODAY

It’s a strange argument that I’m struggling to understand. Content can be presented in various mediums: through books, articles, films, plays, paintings, art installations, etc. People then have the option of choosing which medium they would prefer to consume.

If your objection to the content is that it is fundamentally inaccurate and damaging, how can it then be acceptable in one medium and unacceptable in another?

Perhaps the Prime Minister’s meaning is that books – especially the history books that would cover controversial periods of Singapore’s modern history – might be academic and not very accessible to everyone, while a film is much more easily consumed by a wider audience. In that case, his issue doesn’t seem to actually be about the content, but the number of people who have access to it.
Contrary to the Prime Minister’s understanding...https://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/sin...arratives-is-a-boon-not-a-bane-080122683.html

actually books are more convincing then anything on a tv or movie screen......but films appeal to the wider masses and the lowest common denominator.

tens of millions have watched the bourne trilogy or hannibal lecter trilogy but how many have read the books?

Why are we so unfair to Yang Yin? Black and white letter says he is Mdm Chung's grandson and named as beneficiary of her 40 million fortune on her will. Black and white ok? Why all you xenophobic sinkies want to dig up pictures of him holidaying with his wife and children, and threads of him selling art over the internet?

Why people suing him in court? All lies lah! Black and white written down nicely you don't believe?? No need lah! Just read the letter can already. Hahahaha! Same thing! Movie full of lies also no need to watch lor!

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
actually books are more convincing then anything on a tv or movie screen......but films appeal to the wider masses and the lowest common denominator.

tens of millions have watched the bourne trilogy or hannibal lecter trilogy but how many have read the books?

Actually.... i have and the book is great :smile:

Leepotism

There's nothing to expect from a PM who's call Ass Loon, Gay Loong , Pinky , Sissy Loong and Ah Dao by the citizens of Singapore. His only love is that ugly manly idiotic gambler Ho Ching.