• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

#OccupyCentral thread: Give me Liberty or Give me Death!

Semaj2357

Re: M Ravi: Law minister understanding of HK basic law is seriously flawed

in the wider scheme of things, shamu may just be advocating this for sinkies....be very afraid :eek:

Ridgewalkers

Re: Anarchists & Opportunist Abound in HK Chaos

LIVE: Students 'preparing' for dialogue with government as Occupy bases defy calls for retreat

PUBLISHED : Sunday, 05 October, 2014, 7:50pm
UPDATED : Sunday, 05 October, 2014, 11:56pm

Staff Reporters

jonathan_mk.jpg

In a surprise twist, a group in Admiralty announced they would retreat from the road near CY Leung's office in Admiralty, while volunteers in Mong Kok said they would be abandoning their base and move to Admiralty. Not all demonstrators agreed with these plans, however, with dozens planning to stay put and saying the groups had no authority to announce a retreat.

The government and its allies have been insistently urging the demonstrators to clear the streets, as Leung pushes for things to "go back to normal" on Monday.

Stay tuned for all the evening's breaking news.

11.50pm: Over 80 academics from all eight universities in Hong Kong have released a statement urging the government to respond to the appeal of students with concrete and substantive action.

"We are opposed to the use of brutal force on our people, whose pure intention is to seek rational dialogue with the government," the statement reads.

"If indeed the authorities are to go down the path of brutal suppression, not only will the current political stalemate continue, but it will also trigger futher escalation of conflicts in this community and bring about more rigorous counter-action."

Baptist University School of Journalism's To Yiu-ming, who signed the statement, said the government should at least show the public a time frame for the discussion between Occupy supporters and Chief Secretary Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor.

When asked whether he believed students should retreat, he said: "As a teacher, of course I worry about their safety, but I respect their decisions. I am sure every decision they made has been meditated."

11.13pm: It's all quiet on the Kowloon protest front. In Mong Kok, the atmosphere is generally calm, with about 2,000 people and onlookers, according to a Post reporter's estimate. Hundreds of uniformed and plainclothes officers are stationed on the west and east of the camp, and say they will only intervene if there is a commotion.

There were even a few new arrivals, spurred on by the departure of some 20 volunteers who called for the Mong Kok outpost to be abandoned and relocate to Admiralty. "The fact that they asked people to leave has prompted more people to come out," James Wong, in his 20s, said.

"If everyone squeezes into Admiralty, it will be very easy for police to clear the protest," he said.

dickson_barricade_policer.jpg

Students are sitting around peacefully in Mong Kok. Photo: Jonathan Wong

11pm: It doesn't look like negotiations will begin any time soon. Adding to earlier comments, Alex Chow, from the Federation of Students, said the government was still deciding who should be sent to the meeting with protesters, and where to hold the dialogue.

"It seems there are spilt opinions among the government. CY Leung has been rather tough against [a dialogue], but there are other officials who seem willing to talk," Chow said.

In the meantime, Occupy will dig in its heels. "Occupy must go on to give pressure to the government, as it is why they are willing to talk to us in the first place," he said. "Now, whether a dialogue can proceed depends on the sincerity of the government."

But he said: "We want the dialogue to begin as soon as possible. It is best [if a] time table can be set by tomorrow. "

dickson_barricade_policer.jpg

The police barricade in front of CY Leung's office. Photo: Dickson Lee

ce_dickson.jpg

Sit-in protesters in front of CY Leung's office. Photo: Dickson Lee

10.47pm: Amid anxious speculation about the police's next move this evening, an HKU academic has slammed the Hong Kong police force's recent claims that tear gas had a limited effect on the human body.

Ronnie Poon Tung-ping, a clinical professor at HKU's medical school, branded claims that CS gas was harmless, and equivalent to using pepper spray, as "a lie or ignorance".

Poon warned in a post on his Facebook page that tear gas could result in injuries or induce even acute lung problems that lead to sever hypoxia (where a region of the body is deprived of oxygen), he said.

“I am very surprised that the police force who are in possession of potentially lethal or harmful weapons seem to have no knowledge of the possible harms of these weapons,” the professor wrote.

The police commander who ordered the tear-gas rounds to be fired on September 28 defended his decision, saying: "No one's actually injured by the use of CS ... Nobody dies from CS smoke. It's not pleasant but no one was injured." For the full SCMP story click here

10.35pm: Another public statement: Chief Executive Tung Chee-hwa has joined a chorus of public figures, across the political spectrum, calling on the students (he calls them "future chief executives") to evacuate. Police haven't given a clear indication if they plan to clear the streets tonight, but it seems to remain a nagging concern.

Occupy students and young friends---we’ve heard your call for democracy clearly. We understand your persistence.

Street actions often lead to unexpected complications, which not only will affect your studies and careers, but also endanger your safety. Occupy is now in its eighth day and the situation is getting more and more complicated. Like many parents and teachers, I have been worried about students’ safety every day. I call on you, evacuate from the protest areas as soon as possible for your owns safety.

Hong Kong is a diverse society. You have made a great sacrifice, giving up everything else and joining the occupation movement for democracy. But the foundation of democracy is rule of law and abiding the law. And dialogue and communication is is the way to resolve over different views in a diverse civil society.

Students are the future of Hong Kong. Some of them will be Hong Kong’s Chief Executive(s) in the future. I believe that you not only have ideals and persistence, but also have courage and wisdom. I call on you to show them and to understand different views positively and peacefully, to have good exchanges [of opinions], and to seek a consensus with a vision that belongs to a civil society. Work with all Hong Kong people with your utmost effort to build Hong Kong’s future

10.05pm: Federation of Students secretary-general Alex Chow Yong-kang tells the crowd in Admiralty that they have started “preparations” for talks with Chief Secretary Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor.

While Chow noted that the police said they allocated adequate manpower to maintain public order and prevent clashes, "We still have to observe if the government is willing to take up the responsibility of maintaining public order in occupied areas”, he said.

He says the police guard fulfilled the federation’s prerequisite (guaranteeing safety for everyone, including detractors) for the dialogue.

Chow stressed that the federation's preparation did not signal a compromise, but that they had to work out details such as the dialogue format with Lam's representatives. The federation will not back down on its demands for civil nomination and the abolition of functional constituencies.

At this stage, “we will not be discussing the political reform yet,” he said. If the government "does not enforce the law impartially" and if it launches a violent clearance of protesters, the preparation will be suspended, Chow said.

9.43pm: A former Hong Kong chief justice has urged protesters to "use words rather than limbs" in fighting for democracy, as he warned all parties against using violence.

Yang Ti-liang said: “The string of protests in Kowloon and Hong Kong Island in the past few days have done harm to all sides. I feel that it is time everyone to think of ways to persuade each other and seek a solution with a cool head, tolerance and open-mindedness.

“The voice of the protesters, heard in Hong Kong and in different parts of the world, has made an impact. I think that if protesters can fight for their demands using language and words, rather than limbs, it will be more effective.”

“I call on everyone, whether they are young people or other residents, for restraint and mutual understanding of each other. Do not let violent actions damage your careers and studies, and even your personal safety.”

fisheye_dickson.jpg

People gather on Connaight Road in Admiralty. Photo: Dickson Lee

hugs_may_tse.jpg

People sit around and rest on the Admiralty section of Connaught Road. Photo: May Tse

9.37pm: Protesters outside the government HQ are grumbling about the auxiliary policeman turned Occupy protester who announced a retreat from Lung Wo Road earlier. Joe Yeung, a history major at Shue Yan University, was pictured shaking hands with a police representative after the supposed retreat was announced, prompting demonstrators in other parts of Admiralty to rush to defend the road.

Some protesters were heard wondering if Yeung was a "police spy". But Ronny Tse Kin-pong, who has known Yeung for two years, refuted this.

"He has been supporting the students since last week, when the students stormed Civic Square. When police fired tear gas last week, he was at the forefront. He was tear-gassed but still, he was there the entire night," Tse said.

Tse said Yeung "loathes the police's political stance" and wants to quit his job as an auxiliary cop. "He wanted to quit for a while but he did not have the time because he has been here supporting the Occupy movements," said Tse, who recently graduated from the university's English department.

untitled-2.jpg

Joe Yeung became a point of contention today after announcing a retreat at a key site in Admiralty. Photos: netizens group Keyboard Frontline

9.06pm: People Power party chairwoman Erica Yuen Mi-ming urged more protesters to occupy Queensway, which connects Wan Chai to Central, as it is the “most at risk of a [possible] police clearance tonight”.

Protesters on Queensway will be vulnerable to arrest if their ranks remain thin, Yuen said.

"The government has already announced that [classes] will resume in Central and Wan Chai, which means they are confident Queensway will be cleared by tomorrow morning,” Yuen said. But "all will be safe if there are plenty of people [on the road tonight]."

Meanwhile, another member of People Power, a “radical” pan-democratic party which holds two seats in Legco, is urging all pan-democrats to “paralyse” the legislature when the new session resumes on Wednesday, if Chief Executive Leung Chun-ying and Police Commissioner Andy Tsang Wai-hung refuse to resign.

“What Leung Chun-ying did over the past week has shown that he is determined to destroy the core values of Hong Kong," said legislator Chan Chi-chuen.

Chan urged the other 25 pan-democrat lawmakers to filibuster on all budgets and bills, and to deny pro-establishment lawmakers’ membership in two key committees dealing with manpower and public works, where pan-democrats hold a majority. Chan said an independent committee of judiciary officials should be set up to investigate the police's use of tear gas to disperse unarmed protesters last Sunday.

admiralty_road_may_tse.jpg

Some sections of road in Admiralty had few people, but others were starting to fill up. Photo: May Tse

cwb_raquel.jpg

Protest numbers in Causeway Bay have dwindled considerably compared to previous nights. Photo: Raquel Carvalho

8.48pm: Though crowds have noticeably dwindled in Causeway Bay, protesters say they have no plans to leave. Some 200 people, according to a Post reporter's estimate, remain camped out in front of the Sogo department store. Many stores are open, but there are only a few shoppers.

"We will leave when the last person leaves," said Philip Tsang, 34, one of the volunteers who have been keeping the base running in the absence of any Occupy of Federation of Students representatives.

"There's no leader here. Each one of us has an opinion" and we don't plan to vote on the next step, Tsang said.

8.37pm:
Strange turn of events in Admiralty as a move to un-occupy Lung Wo Road, near CY Leung's office, turns out to be short-lived. The decision, said to have been voted on by the crowds, was sealed with a handshake between a young protester and a police representative.

But hundreds of angry protesters, estimated by an SCMP reporter in the field, have re-occupied the road. The protester who gave the handshake, Joe Yeung, is an auxiliary police officer who has been joining the protests for several days.

Yeung's friend, Yuen Chi-kui, who joined him in the demonstrations, said: "Since the start of Scholarism's campaign late last month, [Joe] has decided to come and support the protesters. He will quit the police post soon."

joe_yeung.jpeg

Joe Yeung was pictured and filmed by media shaking the hand of a police officer when a vote to un-occupy Lung Wo Road was announced. Photo: Stuart Lau

8.15pm: An earlier call by a group of 20 volunteers to pack up the Mong Kok protest zone and hightail it to Admiralty hasn't had its intended effect.

The crowds have mostly stayed put, and new volunteers have stepped in to replace the ones who left. Many were unmoved by the 20 volunteers' call to leave for safety reasons.

There have been sporadic confrontations between demonstrators and anti-Occupy groups throughout the day, but none as serious as Friday, when a group of masked thugs attacked some protesters and cases of sexual harassment during the protests came to light.

mk_jonw3695a.jpg

We're not moving: Mong Kok protesters stay put after an earlier call to retreat and head to Admiralty. Photo: Jonathan Wong

8pm: Police said the government was planning to have classes resume in primary schools and kindergartens in the Central and Western districts tomorrow, but warned parents that there could still be traffic disruptions.

“We hope parents will be prepared that it will take a great deal more time than usual for their kids to go to school on Monday,” Lee Kwok-chung, senior superintendent of the police traffic branch, said in a news conference today.

Lee said that if Queensway in Admiralty remained blockaded, school buses headed to Caine Road or the Mid-Levels must take roads in Wan Chai or Sai Ying Pun, such as Kennedy Road and Western Street. These alternative routes could take 30 minutes to 50 minutes, Lee said.

A total of 2.9 kilometres of road are closed today due to the democracy protests, up from yesterday’s 2.8km after other Mong Kok street closures.

Meanwhile, police also said there were 20 cases of ambulances being delayed in the Central and Western districts, Causeway Bay, Mong Kok and Tsim Sha Tsui. They arrived at the scene a few more minutes later than the 12-minute service pledge, according to deputy chief fire officer Joseph Leung Wai-hung.

No fire engines were delayed in those areas.

ce_police_blockades_sam_tsang.jpg

Police continue to stand guard in front of CY Leung's office in Admiralty. Photo: Sam Tsang

7.55pm: Despite the government's calls for a dialogue, Alex Chow, secretary general of the Hong Kong Federation of Students, reiterated today that talks would be impossible unless the government could guarantee everyone's safety, including angry groups who seek to stop Occupy Central.

"Recently we’ve seen some deliberate attempts to interfere [with Occupy], especially in Mong Kok where [some came] to create chaos," Chow said. "The government has to promise that the incident happened in Mong Kok would not happen again and only by doing so can any dialogue be launched in a peaceful way, and this is the consensus of all the activists."

He said activists feared that the government was using a carrot and stick approach to suppress the movement.

He also slammed the government for providing "false information" to the public that access to the government headquarters in Admiralty had been blocked.

Amid speculation that police might be sent in to clear protest zones, Chow reiterated that everyone must leave if rubber bullets or a higher degree of force is used to disperse the crowds. "We would like to remind all people here to be careful of their personal safety because this is the first priority," he said, adding that protesters should reassemble somewhere else where it is safe.

jonw3147a.jpg

Scenes in Mong Kok. Photo: Jonathan Wong

7.49pm: There have been mounting calls for the protesters to leave the streets - for their own safety, and not necessarily for surrender - but it is unclear how protesters will respond. Here's what public figures and officials are saying today:

Andrew Li Kwok-nang, former Chief Justice: "No one would like to see the students getting hurt. I sincerely urge the students to leave immediately. Otherwise there is a danger to their safety"

Henry Tang Ying-yen, former chief secretary: ""I call on students and other protesters to withdraw immediately to ensure their personal safety. The best solution to problems is dialogue, not stand-off."

Law Chi-kwong, Democratic Party member and University of Hong Kong scholar: "Public support is the most important thing for any social movement. With prolonged actions, public support will dwindle, which is not good for the whole movement."

Professor Francis Chan Ka-leung, head of Chinese University's medical school: “To leave here at this moment does not mean failure or giving up. We have a long way to go. I hope students can put their own safety as the top priority.”

Professor Peter Mathieson, HKU vice-chancellor: "If you stay, there is a risk to your safety. Please leave now: you owe it to your loved ones to put your safety above all considerations."

Professor Leonard Cheng Kwok-hon, president of Lingnan University: "Several indications have pointed to the high possibility that the situation will become very dire in the next 12 hours. I urge all students and staff to leave all protest areas immediately for their safety and not make your families worried."

Joseph Jao-yiu, Chinese University vice-chancellor: "In the past week, the city, the mainland and even the whole world have heard your desire for democracy. We are touched by your sacrifice to the city and your love of Hong Kong. As a teacher, vice-chancellor and a father, I pleaded with you not to commit any unnecessary sacrifice. Please take a step back, which does not mean you give up or fail."

in the wider scheme of things, shamu may just be advocating this for sinkies....be very afraid :eek:

Under the Malayan Federation of States, its constitution allows for Singapore to be brought back legally into Malaysia.
Don't think we want that....but if it's not too much a stretch of the imagination, if Malaysia is the largest economy in the world, I say why not?

If anyone here thinks Singapore can last beyond 50 years as a sovereign country, he or she must be delusional.

The question to ask Roy and HHH is this.......Is Singapore really that worth sacrificing one's future for?

All this crap about securing democracy for the children or grand-children is really immature and frog in the well.

If you can't siphon off everything you can get out of Singapore now, don't think of doing it in the future.

There is no safe haven in Singapore...........that's why those in PAP are all in it for the money......now or never.

Look! In 10 years time, 40% of the Nipponese population will be over 65. That country is dying. Its refusal to inject foreign blood into its population and inability to look beyond its barbaric roots mean that Nippon will cease to be a country in 20 to 30 years time.

Singapore will go the same way and because it has no natural resources and the younger generation is hopelessly materialistic and do not understand hardships and hard work, do you think Singapore has any chance of surviving beyond 50 years?

If you think so, then I can only wish you good luck. You're on your own.

Ridgewalkers

LIVE: Students 'preparing' for dialogue with government as Occupy bases defy calls for retreat

UPDATED : Monday, 06 October, 2014, 2:13am

Staff Reporters

Occupy supporters have had preliminary discussions with officials in order to prepare for negotiations with Chief Secretary Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor, but progress has been slow, with both sides disagreeing on the guidelines behind the talks.

Meanwhile, the government and its allies have been insistently urging demonstrators to clear the streets, as CY Leung pushes for things to "go back to normal" on Monday.

2.10am
As of an hour ago, it seems possible for civic servants to resume work in Admiralty's Central Government Office tomorrow - with a bit of a squeeze into one of the two paths left open by protesters.

At the moment, a small passage about three persons wide leading to the government building remains open on the footbridge from Admiralty Centre, while another path from the Citic tower footbridge has been completely blocked off by metal barricades and is guarded by protesters.

20141006_002420_resized_1.jpg

Civic servants may be able to pass through this small passage to head to work tomorrow. Photo: Emily Tsang

20141006_002128_resized.jpg

Metal barricades completely block one of the entrances to the Central Government Office complex. Photo: Emily Tsang

One of the guards who insisted on blocking the passage told the Post that they could not stop the Hong Kong Federation of Students from opening a passage tomorrow for civic servants to go to work.

Some 3000 people work in the Central Government Office complex.

1.40am: By midnight a few thousand people have gathered along Harcourt Road in Admiralty, with a laidback atmosphere pervading the air with no sign of tension nor significant police presence to be found.

A short burst of applause erupted from the crowd after a new sign was lowered from a nearby overpass, bearing the Batman symbol and the words: "Everyone could be Batman."

img-20141006-wa0000.jpg

"Everyone could be Batman." Photo: Lana Lam

This is not the first time a superhero has been invoked as inspirational imagery for Occupy Central - previously in Admiralty, demonstrators dressed as Captain America.

Meanwhile, the majority of the signs in Causeway Bay have reflected appeals for democracy and peace, quoting speeches from noteworthy people such as Gandhi and John Lennon. Some signs, however, are highly charged statements regarding the United States involvement in Syria.

image1.jpg

Not all of the signs in Causeway bay are about Occupy Central. Photo: Danny Lee

It's worth noting that anyone can come up to the protest camp in Causeway Bay and write their own messages.

12.45pm: About an hour ago, Federation of Students deputy secretary-general Lester Shum told media that he and other federation members had just had a meeting with undersecretary for constitutional affairs Lau Kong-wah, political assistant Ronald Chan Ngok-pang and another administrative official.

“The officials did not agree with our three principles. We will have to meet again to discuss this before entering into formal talks,” Shum said.

The meeting was to prepare for negotiations with Chief Secretary Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor and Secretary for Justice Rimsky Yuen, he said.

While officials agreed to maintain an open attitude and respect the students, Shum said they would not agree with three principles: that the talks have to be multiple rounds instead of a single round; that both sides were equal; and that the government would “execute” the outcome of future negotiations.

“We hope the talks will not be merely a chat or a consultation. Our sole purpose is to solve the problem over political reform,” he added.

Shum, speaking at the University of Hong Kong campus, would not reveal the location of the meeting as officials asked them to not disclose where they met.

Semaj2357

Singapore will go the same way and because it has no natural resources and the younger generation is hopelessly materialistic and do not understand hardships and hard work, do you think Singapore has any chance of surviving beyond 50 years?

throw in ft's till 6.9 mil and later max it up to 10 mil and sinkieland will be perpetuated - majulah!

Hongkies are light years ahead of sinkies....result of 50 years of damage.
Even commie chinks who got no right to vote knows how to protest march.
Sinkies can only rank above the North Koreans in political consciousness.....even illiterate Burmese rank many notches above sinkie

Yet another stupid post by the gongest chee bye in this forum.

HKees protest in Hong Kong for fuck? If they really have balls, do it in Beijing, where the CCP is...

throw in ft's till 6.9 mil and later max it up to 10 mil and sinkieland will be perpetuated - majulah!

The writing is already on the wall......only third rated immigrants are taken in......these will only occupy spaces and they're eyeing the coffers. Their pre-occupation is to take and take and take.......the PAP is bringing these losers in to entice them to be citizens and rig up the votes and ensure it survive longer until such time the pilfering of the coffers is complete. There is no future for the next generation.

Singapore as a sovereign country will not survive another 50 years, whether the population is 3.5m or 10m, its shelf-life is soon overdue.

Never in the history of human race has any country without natural resources and land-mass able to exist beyond 3 generations. Singapore is like a meteor, not a star. It blazes through the sky shining bright but it will have to fall. This is its destiny. Singapore is not that special in the larger scheme of the cosmos.

Don't fight the bad fight. It's not worth it. Just return our CPF or else the PAP's end-game would be tragic and sooner. Not I say one, but the crystal ball says one.

No natural resources, don't know hard work... it sounds so familiar. Once upon a time it made perfect sense to me, now it triggers my bullshit alarm. Of course with a one party parliament there is only one solution laid out for you. You think you visit a chicken rice stall can ask for bak kut teh is it?

Singapore parliament should be like the hawker center, many stalls to choose what suits you. So many years of fast food from the PAP will give you high blood pressure if you don't moderate your intake of junk food.

Semaj2357

Never in the history of human race has any country without natural resources and land-mass able to exist beyond 3 generations. Singapore is like a meteor, not a star. It blazes through the sky shining bright but it will have to fall. This is its destiny. Singapore is not that special in the larger scheme of the cosmos.
why 3 generations? ....you expecting the albino to complete the last cycle :confused:
You think you visit a chicken rice stall can ask for bak kut teh is it?
if the fella was enterprising enuff, he'd come up with chick-kut-teh :wink:

No natural resources, don't know hard work... it sounds so familiar. Once upon a time it made perfect sense to me, now it triggers my bullshit alarm. Of course with a one party parliament there is only one solution laid out for you. You think you visit a chicken rice stall can ask for bak kut teh is it?

Singapore parliament should be like the hawker center, many stalls to choose what suits you. So many years of fast food from the PAP will give you high blood pressure if you don't moderate your intake of junk food.

I wish you good luck if you think Singapore has a future beyond 50 years. Take care, you're on your own.

Ridgewalkers

LIVE: A brief respite as Occupy demonstrators bunker down and students prepare for dialogue with government

UPDATED : Monday, 06 October, 2014, 4:59am

Staff Reporters

After a hectic week, Occupy Central protest sites are mostly quiet this early morning as demonstrators bunker down and authorities keep their distance.

Occupy supporters and the government are currently at deadlock over negotiations. Preliminary discussions to prepare for talks with Chief Secretary Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor have begun, but progress has been slow with both sides disagreeing on the guidelines behind the meetings.

Stay tuned for all the morning's breaking news.

4:50am: In Beijing, online state media issued two signed commentaries late last night on the Occupy Central movement.The articles, both penned under the name “Guoping”, were published on the People’s Daily website and the State Council Information Office’s affiliated news portal.

One of the commentaries alleges that campaigners of the Occupy movement have been using “populism” to mobilise young people.

“Hong Kong is 7 million Hong Kongers’ Hong Kong, and more so, 1.3 billion Chinese’s Hong Kong,” the commentary reads. “The Central Government and all countrymen’s attitude and stance [on Hong Kong's 2017 Chief Executive election] are unprecedentedly unanimous and not to be shaken.”

In the other commentary, "Guoping" criticised “street politics” and said that whoever governs Hong Kong in the future must be “loyal to the state and Hong Kong”.

3.40am: While dawn is still hours away, there's one Sun working under the moonlight.

Timothy Sun, 17, was seen picking up rubbish around the Harcourt Rd area around 3am, using a pair of tongs and garbage bags he had brought himself.

"Cleaning up is one of my habits because I like tidy things," the Canada-born Hongkonger said.

He has stayed overnight in Admiralty cleaning the streets every night, bar one, since the protests began more than a week ago.

Sun said he continued to support the campaign because he believed police had overreacted by using tear gas and capsicum spray last Sunday. The fight for universal suffrage has also energised him.

"We have the right to vote for our chief executive," he said while picking up cigarette butts and other litter.

3.00am: The demonstration sites have mostly turned quiet this early morning, with police keeping their distance. In Causeway Bay, around 150 demonstrators have camped out overnight, with the majority remaining chatty and few sleeping early.

Admiralty and Mong Kok also remain peaceful, a stark contrast to the tear gas and scuffles that occurred at both sites earlier this week. A police cleanup of both areas seems unlikely at this hour.

Currently, a few hundred people remain at the Mong Kok sit-in, while one protester who identified himself only as Jacky to a Post reporter showed up in fully decked-out combat gear to "support the students".

Ridgewalkers

LIVE: Students prepare for dialogue as Hong Kong's commuters rush to work early

PUBLISHED : Monday, 06 October, 2014, 7:12am
UPDATED : Monday, 06 October, 2014, 7:38am

Staff reporters

hong_kong-china-politics-democracy_amo604_45996025.jpg

A man sleeps among supplies in a tent at pro-democracy protest site next to the central government offices in Hong Kong on October 6, 2014. Photo: AFP

After a hectic week, Occupy Central protest sites are quiet this morning as some demonstrators leave for work, others remain and authorities keep their distance.

Occupy supporters and the government are currently at deadlock over negotiations. Preliminary discussions to prepare for talks with Chief Secretary Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor have begun, but progress has been slow with both sides disagreeing on the guidelines behind the meetings.

7.30am: Middle-schools resume classes in Wan Chai, Central and Western districts on Monday. Primary schools and kindergartens remain closed.

7am: Here's a quick round-up of the major developments overnight:

* The eight night of Occupy protests in Hong Kong has been the quietest so far. Minor scuffles between Occupy supporters and opponents continued in Mong Kok. The scene in Admiralty and Causeway Bay was more quiet.

* A statue similar to the Goddess of Democracy statue on Tiananmen Square was erected in Tamar. The man who made it said that he was inspired by a picture of an Occupy protester holding an umbrella for an officer under the rain.

* The People's Daily, the Communist Party's main newspaper, issued more commentaries blasting the democracy movement for using "populism" to gain popular support.

6.30am: Here's our front-page on Monday:

Here are some of the headlines in today's South China Morning Post:

John Tsang admits government not psychologically prepared for scale of protests

"The rapid pace of developments over the past week was completely beyond everybody's expectations," wrote Tsang. "It's hard not to be concerned that more serious chaos would happen ... To be honest I persistently didn't sleep well."

Students federation opens talks, but says protests continue

The Federation of Students last night began preparatory talks for a meeting with Chief Secretary Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor, but said its members would continue the protests that have paralysed parts of Hong Kong for a week.

Legal and political heavyweights unite in call for end to protests

Former chief secretary Anson Chan Fang On-sang, now head of the Hong Kong 2020 think tank, and Cardinal Joseph Zen Ze-kiun - both prominent supporters of the protests - issued statements urging students to step back for the sake of safety.

Police mobilise in Mong Kok after two days of clashes over Occupy protest

With the latest arrests, 30 had been detained in the Mong Kok protests so far. Twenty people held earlier for similar crimes have been released on bail.

Father threatens to jump from bridge in protest at Occupy Central sit-in

He struggled to turn on a loudspeaker that he had just removed from its packaging, and had to read the instruction manual while sitting on the edge of the bridge linking the Admiralty Centre with Citic Tower.

Ridgewalkers

Father threatens to jump from bridge in protest at Occupy Central sit-in

Man persuaded to climb down from bridge after protesting that his children can't get to school

PUBLISHED : Monday, 06 October, 2014, 5:31am
UPDATED : Monday, 06 October, 2014, 5:31am

Samuel Chan [email protected]

7602fd94e86306b0deb90730754457cc.jpg

The father-of-three sits on top of the bridge running above occupied Harcourt Road, where fire officers placed an air cushion in case he jumped. Photo: Sam Tsang

A father-of-three threatened yesterday to jump from a bridge over Harcourt Road, Admiralty - not for democracy, but because his children were unable to go to school last week.

The man, who appeared to be in his 30s, provoked laughs from the otherwise peaceful crowd during the near five-hour stand-off at the stronghold of the civil disobedience movement.

He struggled to turn on a loudspeaker that he had just removed from its packaging, and had to read the instruction manual while sitting on the edge of the bridge linking the Admiralty Centre with Citic Tower.

A police negotiator handed him another loudspeaker.

Asked if he was paid to create what many at the scene saw as a clown show, the man, who gave only his surname, Yip, said: "I am only a father of three.

"I am neither for or against [Occupy]. All I want is for my children to go to school and learn what true democracy is."

The commotion triggered the deployment of firefighters at the bridge. Two air mattresses were placed underneath, while six Fire Services Department vehicles, including two fire engines, were on standby.

Bystanders applauded when he finally took the hand of one of three police negotiators at about 5.50pm and came down under police escort.

In the past week, all schools in Wan Chai and Central and Western districts cancelled classes under Education Bureau orders.

During the time he was up on the bridge, the angry Yip made repeated requests to talk to student leaders Alex Chow Yong-kang and Joshua Wong Chi-fung.

"Chow Yong-kang, tell us when we can have our roads back!" he bellowed.

He also claimed to have worked for a television broadcaster before, and asked television news crews below to broadcast live a message he had for the Occupy leaders.

"I won't go until CNN or the BBC is live here," he said.

After the saga ended, Chow said they had followed police advice and talked to him. "We had been advised to stay away from the ground in front of him and to wait until negotiators had convinced him to come down before we could have an open dialogue," he said.

Earlier in Mong Kok, a couple showed romance was not dead, despite the threats of triads and tussles hanging over the sit-in. Protester Yau Chi-hang, 22, got down on his knees and proposed to Crystal Chan to wild applause from the crowds. Their celebratory meal? A fish fillet burger.

Ridgewalkers

Police mobilise in Mong Kok after two days of clashes over Occupy protest

Policing stepped up in flashpoint area after two days of clashes between Occupy protesters, opponents and police; more arrests and injuries

PUBLISHED : Monday, 06 October, 2014, 5:31am
UPDATED : Monday, 06 October, 2014, 5:31am

Fanny W.Y. Fung, Chris Lau and Joyce Ng

f9b7f41d427c59de9bd83ced5e4f44ca.jpg

Protesters and opponents clash

Mong Kok finally felt the presence of increased police patrols yesterday, on the third day of protest clashes that saw at least two policeman injured.

The stepped-up security was in stark contrast to Friday's fracas in which blood was spilled in street brawls between Occupy Central protesters and their detractors. Accusations flew that police had failed to allocate enough manpower to protect peaceful protesters and sided with anti-Occupy supporters, many believed to be triad-linked.

Yesterday, the extra police officers reported for duty at about noon at the junction of Nathan Road and Argyle Street, the heart of the Mong Kok sit-in.

Besides strengthening manpower, the force was also seen bearing down more promptly on anti-Occupy supporters trying to make a scene.

"The reinforcements came shortly before the afternoon, and their execution of duties has greatly improved," a protester in his 50s said. "At least 10, if not five, times more officers are around compared with the day before."

Fellow protester Steve Ip, 25, speculated that the police had been prompted by media scrutiny to demonstrate impartiality. "All the footage online has also forced the police to act."

A police spokesman stressed that more officers had been deployed to resolve conflicts among "people of different views".

Since Friday, Mong Kok has been the scene of frequent clashes between Occupy and anti-Occupy supporters, and between Occupy protesters and the police.

Nine men and one woman aged 26 to 67 were arrested on Saturday for fighting in a public place, assault, unlawful assembly and indecent assault. They included a man in his 50s who allegedly attacked a journalist. Police said some of the 10 had triad backgrounds.

With the latest arrests, 30 had been detained in the Mong Kok protests so far. Twenty people held earlier for similar crimes have been released on bail.

No one was arrested yesterday, as officers milled around the area in scattered groups. They immediately separated squabbling parties as soon as arguments sprang up.

At one point, officers formed lines of protection along the sides of a protest tent.

The change in law enforcement came after student activist groups Scholarism and the Federation of Students on Saturday called jointly on police to prioritise protesters' safety - a necessary condition they specified for any dialogue with the government to happen.

But the peace and quiet was not universal. Police still came under criticism from a 1,000-strong crowd over their handling of protesters.

During clashes in the small hours, officers used pepper spray and batons on the crowd. A televised report showed a man hitting a policeman in the head and two others throwing objects at officers. A mobile phone was flung at a policeman, leaving him with a bloodied forehead. The number of injuries has yet to be confirmed.

Tim Leung, 18, who witnessed the Mong Kok sit-in, said the frustration had been building up as protesters came under random attack, and was fuelled by police inaction and abuse of power.

As night fell, about 20 volunteers announced their decision to move to the Admiralty rally site. Most of the others stayed behind, and more people joined the protest.

"The fact they asked people to leave has prompted more to come out," James Wong, in his 20s, said. "If everyone squeezes into Admiralty, it will be very easy for police to clear the protest."

I wish you good luck if you think Singapore has a future beyond 50 years. Take care, you're on your own.

Depends on what you define as a good future don't you think? If you want the good life that PAP has engineered, next time best choose to lord over a bigger island or one that has less than 2.5 million native population.

Reddog

For this one time, I must disagree with M Ravi. Article 45 of the HongKong Basic Law is clear. The candidate for the CE job must be nominated by a committee. Period. Only those who aim to destabilise China (such as through a bunch of school kids) will try to interpret it using the French Language:

<<<Hong Kong Basic Law Article 45 (Chinese: 香港基本法第四十五條) is a controversial article in the Basic Law (constitution) of Hong Kong. It states that the Chief executive should be chosen by universal suffrage upon nomination by a broadly representative nominating committee as an eventual goal.>>>

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hong_Kong_Basic_Law_Article_45

enterprise2

HK must remain in China. Part of the masterplan for the new dragon dynasty. Soon other countries will be added into her orbit, like Taiwan, Vietnam and even Singapore. U will be assimilated, resistance is futile!

one world eating rice and noodles and speaking ching chang chong.

[video=youtube;z6ujbbinHrM]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z6ujbbinHrM&list=PLP_yL43vd5WnyaXBgNW2h6AFdjS9yJS04[/video]