• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

#OccupyCentral thread: Give me Liberty or Give me Death!

sochi2014

Re: We need him in sinkapore

He is the small David taking on the mighty Goliath PRC. Guess who will win?

They raised him as a Christian — a religion he still identifies with

rushifa666

Re: Official proof that US financed and brainwashed HK youth to provoke China

Conspiracy nuts. If this were concrete china will be demanding an explanation before the UN. Do you think they are a very gracious country who will take anything lying down? Have a little common sense

DianWei

Re: What is Occupy Central? 10 key facts about Hong Kong’s pro-democracy movement

‘We belong to Hong Kong’: Thousands gather at solidarity events in 64 cities worldwide

PUBLISHED : Thursday, 02 October, 2014, 11:37am
UPDATED : Thursday, 02 October, 2014, 6:41pm

James Griffiths [email protected]

ny-times-a_0.jpg

Demonstrators hold umbrellas in support of Hong Kong's pro-democracy marches, at Times Square in New York. Photo: AFP

Thousands of people from around the world have voiced support for ongoing pro-democracy protests in Hong Kong at solidarity events in more than 64 cities.

In London, organisers said that over 3,000 people joined a rally outside the Chinese Embassy. Demonstrations also took place in Manchester, Liverpool, Edinburgh and Glasgow.

britain-hong_kong-china-politics-democracy_jr427_45899115.jpg

A man holds a sign at a Global Solidarity with Hong Kong rally in the centre of Manchester. Photo: AFP

“It was totally unexpected,” vice-chairman of the League of Social Democrats Avery Ng Man-yuen, currently in the British capital, told the Post. “When we first hosted a rally at the Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office in London last Saturday to protest against Beijing’s framework on reform, only 300 people attended.”

“Many participants feel like this is the only thing they could do for the students [thousands of] miles away,” he said.

london_protest_0.png

Protesters gather outside the Chinese embassy in London. Photo: Larry Au

Many demonstrators in London carried umbrellas; the unofficial symbol of the Hong Kong protests after they were used to ward off police pepper spray.

During speeches, the London crowd echoed demands for the resignation of Chief Executive Leung Chun-ying. Demonstrators in Hong Kong have warned that if Leung does not resign before a Thursday deadline, protests will escalate.

taiwan_hong_kong_protest_twn01_45893993.jpg

Taiwanese rally to support Hong Kong protesters. Photo: EPA

Dozens of other solidarity events were held around the world. According to the group United for Democracy: Global Solidarity with Hong Kong, which has been helping to coordinate and arrange events, rallies were held in at least 64 cities, including Taipei, Canberra, Singapore, Paris, London, Los Angeles, Washington, and Montreal.

hong_kong_democracy_protests_new_york_nykw107_45905175.jpg

People hold up customized umbrellas during a rally in Times Square in New York. Photo: AP

Hundreds of demonstrators gathered in New York’s Time Square to voice their support, including many veteran Chinese activists from the 1989 Democracy Movement, who led a chant in Putonghua: “Hong Kong, Democracy, Democracy, Hong Kong”.

“[They] see the future of the mainland as being intertwined with that of Hong Kong,” Mi Ling Tsui, communications director for Human Rights China, which took part in the rally, told the Post. She said protesters were motivated to take part in the event, and a previous rally over the weekend, by “their pride as citizens of a free society and their deep sense of connection to those struggling to preserve that freedom”.

Tsui said “A young woman said to me that it was important for her and her friends to show their support because even though they are no longer there, ‘we still belong to Hong Kong’.”

10670075_10205087667101354_4361244129232334336_n.jpg

A sign at a Hong Kong solidarity rally in Montreal, Canada. Photo: Kelvin Chan‎

In Montreal, more than 200 people turned out to voice their support for Hong Kong demonstrators.

"We're very impressed with the turnout especially with the diversity of the crowd," organiser Michael Law said. "There was a large group of older Vietnamese people, a lot of Hong Kong students and just other allies of democracy and human rights."

"We prove that solidarity and democracy cross national boundaries and that the legitimacy is on the students' side," he added.

_shn609_45904817.jpg

A demonstrator holds a sign in support of Hong Kong's pro-democracy marches, at Times Square in New York. Photo: Reuters

More than 37,000 people signed-up to wear yellow yesterday in solidarity with the Hong Kong protests and in North America events were held at around 40 colleges and universities.

“I wanted to raise awareness about [the Hong Kong democracy debate],” Heather Pickerell, one of the organisers of ‘Wear Yellow for Hong Kong on October 1’ told the Post.

10505391_1553920578172787_2995596973719921662_n.jpg

Students from University of Western Ontario hold signs in support of democracy in Hong Kong. Photo: Facebook

Rallies and speeches are not the only actions being taken in solidarity with Occupy Central. Two Hongkongers studying in the UK announced that they have gone on hunger strike to fight for democracy in the city.

“Many of us yearned to be in Hong Kong but we couldn’t, still we try our best to play our part in the Umbrella Movement: we organise sit-ins around the globe as a sign of moral support; we utilise social media to raise awareness. Yet, a sense of helplessness lingers,” Jobie Yip and Daniel Chan wrote in a statement posted online.

“This is the reason why we … have decided to go on a 24-hour hunger strike. Hong Kong, we stand as one amid the pain.”

1501721_868265536524872_4765663074419483426_n.jpg

Hong Kong Overseas Alliance
Political Organization · 3,140 Likes

LONDON - Daniel and Jobie have been hunger-striking for four hours. They demand real democracy in Hong Kong and uphold civil nomination.

倫敦 - 力行和靄瑤已經絕食4小時。他們爭取香港真普選,堅持公民提名。

Additional reporting by Danny Lee and Jeffie Lam

spotter542

Re: Official proof that US financed and brainwashed HK youth to provoke China

I only know 2 Sinkies worked for the Japanese during Japanese Occupation.

When that fateful day comes , will they be dancing under the lamp post with piano wires around their neck ? :biggrin:

tiongland need to take a page from LKY's book and implement a ISD in Hong Kong immediately......water board him and interrogate him in air con room for 14 hours.

Re: Joshua wong: The teenager who is the public face of the hong kong protests

I think find a sinkie kid like him harder than strike toto

Yeah, its really sad. Sinkies kids who see him should use him as an inspiration and example. he is forward thinking enough to know that if you let the PRC govt fuck with your system, by the time u have a family, u would be suffering like a dog. That is happening to sinkies now. All those sinkies in their 40s and 50s who lost their jobs to some cheap FT let in by the PAP, and other younger sinkies that can't afford a HDB flat should be asking themselves why I did not start a Joshua Wong movement when I was younger and make a difference.

Re: HK should hold Referendum on its future

i am saying US is showing support for the student protestors and the lives at stake belong to the students. china is not totally unfair, HK belong to china and not to those troublemakers who are trying to separate themselves from china.

What ang moh? This are locals rising up against oppressive china. Yet again in history. More a testament to china than anything else

"The protests really intensified after he got arrested," says Van Den Troost. "One of the first demands was to release him."

see that sinkie....the arrest intensified the protest..

so why the fuck so worried about arrest.. those dumbfucked police also dunno what the fuck they are doing.

This is called fighting for democracy, not bending down to let your govt screw you.

I have said this many times for years..i am always right.

congo9

i am saying US is showing support for the student protestors and the lives at stake belong t wo the students. china is not totally unfair, HK belong to china and not to those troublemakers who are trying to separate themselves from china.

A domineering China wont be good for the World. They are selfish and inward looking. Don't want to help out in international role. I would say a broken up China will be good for the World.

GramStroker

A domineering China wont be good for the World. They are selfish and inward looking. Don't want to help out in international role. I would say a broken up China will be good for the World.

Besides cheap factories and pretty whores, PRC has nothing to offer to mankind.

我戳你个妈

习近平应该下手香港大扫除咯

其实目前香港是废物寄生虫靠大陆养活的。一切都是自己退步。没有什么贡献。无论工程科技学术体育竞赛。都是零蛋。以前文化电影有小成就。现在退步到不像样了。随便比较都比不上上海深圳。工业经济地位低微。福利要求太多本事贡献微末。还有造反要求政治权利简直傻屄做梦了。

香港不只是个过气退步的问题,还是藏污纳垢的罪恶中心。洗黑钱藏赃款。贪污犯罪集团的基地。造反谋逆的基地。外国敌人入侵唆使叛乱阴谋作乱的立足地。间谍特务匿藏地。贪官逃亡藏赃洗钱的中心。

香港本来就是中共应该消灭的心腹大患。不是什么明珠宝贝。
现在应该趁机大力打击消灭了。废除基本法。立法院。选举。废除港币。废除交易所。解散香港警察。一切特区特权废除。中央委派市长官员。进驻大量公安武警。以一般中国地区法律统治。扫灭一切罪恶污垢与西方利益势力。反抗者死。

目前世界局势中国与美国需分出高下。鸡败小日本无赖讨打。怎可以继续优待纵容香港“港璨”作乱拉后腿?一个大耳光甩昏它!

港人的成就一直退步依赖大陆提供的优待条件生存。香港人去大陆混竞争不来落后失败,孤陋寡闻。被笑为“港璨”。世界到处去也没有光荣成就。逃去西方国家被排斥成2等公民。回香港还瞎吵你妈的屄民主。不自己撒尿照照自己什么条件资格。现在去做鸡鸭也没有什么人要嫖了。

香港电影歌艺一直退步失去市场。已经不如大陆的艺术界。成龙周润发就是这样过气没有看头就要与沈殿霞梅艳芳一起进棺材了。

97回归时中国太给西方势力面子。基本法优惠很多不合理条件。现在西方地位已经是要饭乞丐。没有什么资格谈条件。去香港混还要煽动暴民造反就应该犀利教训惩罚不必给什么面子。

基本法可以彻底废除。就直接中国法律制度统治香港。有什么国家有资格本事干涉就欠揍。目前香港制度不合理的提供西方国家财团利益优势保障。给它们乘机会偷鸡摸狗危害中国人利益。最佳例子就是索罗斯金融风暴,袭击港币人民币,捣乱金融市场。钻空档抢劫金钱。现在西方已经没有这种实力条件,但是不可以给它留下后路。

港币丝毫没有国际地位价值。是个累赘废物。澳门币还可以当赌场筹码。港币就可以尽快废除。用人民币。

什么狗屁立法议会选举全部废除。因为没有条件必要继续这样优待香港人。他们不感激还不满足。再优待下去大陆人不服气要造反了。

要大扫除整顿香港,驱逐西方国家的势力影响。西方财团银行的营业执照要吊销了滚蛋。西方间谍情报奸细要驱逐逮捕暗杀掉。国际贩毒犯罪组织在香港洗藏的黑钱要没收查扣。国内贪官污吏的黑钱要查扣枪毙。奸商逃税走私。洗藏香港的黑钱要查扣枪毙。诈骗集团赌博集团的香港基地要清剿消灭。

这些都是习近平早应该进行的工作。趁现在港璨作乱一次过的大扫除平定。以后中国前途更光明亮丽。

Sideswipe

what independence referendum. in Democratic USA, even the States cannot secede from the Union. it is unconstitutional. you can't talk your way into independence. historically, blood and lives are always sacrificed for the independence cause.

Sideswipe

the HK youths still can't speak fluent Beijing Mandarin. their English are average. they can only speak their Cantonese dialect.