• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another elite force to protect the PAP

CNB Special Task Force: Mummy wears a bullet-proof vest

SINGAPORE -To her 2½-year-old daughter, she's mummy.

To the drug syndicates selling their wares on our streets, she's their worst nightmare.

The wide smile she has when she plays silly games with her child disappears when she receives "the call".

At work, she dons a bullet-proof vest, slash-proof sleeves and gloves, and tails drug traffickers on a motorcycle. She knows that these criminals will do almost anything not to get caught as they can face the death penalty.

Staff Sergeant (SSG) Tini, 34, is part of an elite team with the Central Narcotics Bureau (CNB) known as the Special Task Force (STF). CNB, Singapore's drug enforcement agency, is part of the Ministry of Home Affairs (also known as the Home Team).

Her name, just like the rest of her teammates featured in this report, has been changed to protect her identity.

Formed in 1997, the STF conducts covert and high-risk operations, which often lead to the crushing of drug syndicates. While the number of personnel in STF remains a highly-guarded secret, their work has not gone unnoticed.

A story published in the Home Team News in 2013 revealed that around 25 syndicates are busted annually for the last five years. In most cases, the STF "would have been involved", the team's senior officer-in-charge, Jason, said.

STF officers are the "tip of the spear" or the "strike team". This means they can expect drama whenever they confront traffickers in a variety of scenarios like home raids, vehicle interceptions or even chasing a fleeing suspect who has decided to scale down the side of a HDB flat.

They are trained to blend in with the environment, often dressing like members of the public.

But do not let their looks fool you as they are always armed. (See story on right.)

When things go according to the officers' plans, the arrests happen smoothly. SSG Tini, who has spent 12 years in CNB with the last six years as a member of STF, described a recent arrest on a public road.

She said: "He (the trafficker) didn't know that we were in front and behind him... When the first (STF) car reversed to box him in, he thought it was an accident."

But there have been instances when the use of force was necessary in making arrests.

In 2012, STF officers used glass breakers - a sharp-edged tool on their extendable batons - to break the windows of a vehicle with two suspected traffickers inside.

After arresting the men, the officers found heroin in the front passenger seat area.

While many netizens have praised the STF's work, some have asked if too much force is used during some street arrests.

But SSG Johnny, an STF officer, said he is not too bothered by the criticism.

SSG Johnny said: "I won't harp on negative comments because I understand that most of them (the STF's critics) would not know what it takes to achieve what we want to do."

In her heart, SSG Tini knows her job is important because it helps to keep drugs out of the hands of abusers, especially the young.

"My interest and commitment to keep Singapore drug-free made me apply for the STF, as I feel I can contribute to the team with my readiness and dynamic thinking," she said.

But it still pains her whenever she has to go on long operations, especially when her daughter wonders why mummy can't spend time with her.

She said: "My daughter's growing up and it's a little difficult because she tends to ask where I am going. She's at an age where she starts to question."

Activities that most families take for granted, like festivities, birthday celebrations or just spending time with loved ones are viewed with nervous enthusiasm for SSG Tini.

Once activated, she would have to drop whatever she is doing with her family.

Then there is the danger that comes with the job.

The suspects are willing to do anything, including fighting back by pushing and kicking STF officers, to escape.

STF officers need know what drug syndicates are up to and the window of opportunity to arrest the masterminds is usually small.

For SSG Johnny, who is married and has three children, not returning home at the end of a day is normal.

"The longest stretch? Two or three days," he said. "Of course, I occasionally inform the family that everything's okay. It's like that every time."

But he takes comfort in knowing that after a successful operation, he gets to spend quality time with his family for the next few days. SSG Johnny also prefers to keep things vague so as not to worry his family.

He said: "I don't usually tell her (his wife) a lot about my work. So there's no issue of (her finding out about my) being at the 'tip of the spear' thing. She just knows that I'm a regular CNB officer."

Both officers admit that their supportive spouses shoulder extra responsibilities in their absence.

Added SSG Tini: "They (her family) understand we will be taking care of ourselves (while on operations)... And with the skills that we have, so far it has been alright."

[email protected]

the number of personnel in STF remains a highly-guarded secret, their work has not gone unnoticed.

Why is there a need to make the strength of the CNB-STF a secret?

All the elite units of each uniformed group are hush-hush because their main task is to protect the PAP in crisis. Members are selected based on their commitment to the PAP and in return, they are paid good money and perks and receive regular brain-washings.

The biggest drug lords come here to park their money, invest and do business.
Hobnobs with vile pappies....ask this task force go and arrest these guys who travel freely in and out of Sg with pap's tacit approval.

Presstitutes busy shoring up CNB's reputation after the Ng Boon Gay scandal. :rolleyes:

Probably also to woo the female vote with outlandish display of female empowerment and grrl power. :wink:

due to the extremely brutal and gruesome drug war going on in mexico, the world's most feared, best armed and elite anti-narcotic special forces belong to those of mexico.

image.jpg

Agoraphobic

There have been CNB officers going undercover since the 70s (Operation Ferret). As far as I see, they are merely lowly finks who rat out their friends.

The "undercover" cops' lives in Peesai is quite simple and safe, say compared with similar type duties in the US. For example, these cops have to become member of organizations, and in order to become that, you may have to carry out an activity like murder of a rival gang member. Has any local cop been asked to carry out this task by the gang s/her has infiltrated?

bigboss

It is misleading to label this thread as "Another elite force to protect the PAP".

It is an elite force to protect sinkies and their children from and to eradicate the drug traffickers and pushers. This is the right of the Govt to focus on. The menace of drugs will destroy the country.

The CNB has done an excellent job and all sinkies should commend the officers and men of CNB for their risks and efforts to keep sinkie land free of drug traffickers and pushers.

The CNB will exist as long as there is this country called singapore regardless whether PAP is in power hereafter.

bigboss

While many netizens have praised the STF's work, some have asked if too much force is used during some street arrests.

Use of extreme force is inevitable when arresting criminals especially those dealing in drugs or committing other serious offences because of the death penalty. If they have to face the hangman or to fight their way out of an arrest, these criminals might opt to fight it out to make an escape.

This is the reason why officers who make the arrest are sissies or have no balls to use force, they pose a threat to themselves and their colleagues. Shoot to kill or disable the criminals before they kill you. Be a nice guy and you might end up dead.

bigboss

There have been CNB officers going undercover since the 70s (Operation Ferret). As far as I see, they are merely lowly finks who rat out their friends....The "undercover" cops' lives in Peesai is quite simple and safe, say compared with similar type duties in the US.

The US is a country where individuals are allowed to own firearms and the trafficking of illegal drugs is part of organised crime. DEA is not only dealing with ordinary drug pushers but extremely dangerous professional criminals who will not hesitate to kill DEA officers.

Although sinkie land is relatively peaceful and safe, it is still a dangerous job for CNB officers to go undercover. The criminals may not get you in sinkie land but once you are out of the country and your cover is blown, you are a dead duck.

It takes courage, devotion to duty, commitment and brain matter to be an undercover officer. Not every one can be an undercover officer. One slip of your cover and you will end up dead. The undercover job attracts only those officers who can think on their feet and are willing to accept the risks associated with the job.

Even in sinkie land, it is a misconception to say that the undercover job is simple and safe. This is not true because if you are complacent, it may endanger your own life and defeat your purpose of going undercover.

Presstitutes busy shoring up CNB's reputation after the Ng Boon Gay scandal. :rolleyes:

Probably also to woo the female vote with outlandish display of female empowerment and grrl power. :wink:

CNB is a joke in singapore lah. In other countries when the narcotics squad bust a drug house, they usually get heavy return fire from the drug dealers. If this happened to this butch, she will be racing her other cowardly colleagues to escape in their cars.

Force 136

[video=youtube;HLZhBQTRS3E]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HLZhBQTRS3E[/video]

CNB officers stopping a drug suspect ....

These officers risk their lives to keep our streets clean of drug peddlers. .....

The US is a country where individuals are allowed to own firearms and the trafficking of illegal drugs is part of organised crime. DEA is not only dealing with ordinary drug pushers but extremely dangerous professional criminals who will not hesitate to kill DEA officers.

Although sinkie land is relatively peaceful and safe, it is still a dangerous job for CNB officers to go undercover. The criminals may not get you in sinkie land but once you are out of the country and your cover is blown, you are a dead duck.

It takes courage, devotion to duty, commitment and brain matter to be an undercover officer. Not every one can be an undercover officer. One slip of your cover and you will end up dead. The undercover job attracts only those officers who can think on their feet and are willing to accept the risks associated with the job.

Even in sinkie land, it is a misconception to say that the undercover job is simple and safe. This is not true because if you are complacent, it may endanger your own life and defeat your purpose of going undercover.

No need to spin la.
Undercover work is super safe in Sg.
Need proof? How many undercover police kena murdered in sg in total?
Even if figure is classified many are in the know....draw your own conclusions.
The Sg law enforcement agencies are joke.
They appear garang only because the wide encompassing law is on their side, penalties are heavy, Sg is small and well connected thus easy network to solve crimes. Last but not least SPF and the likes operate by strength in numbers.
The so call courageous arrest youtube clip shown of unharmed peddler need a dozen cars and double the men to subdue.
Big failed by any standards

It is misleading to label this thread as "Another elite force to protect the PAP".

It is an elite force to protect sinkies and their children from and to eradicate the drug traffickers and pushers. This is the right of the Govt to focus on. The menace of drugs will destroy the country.

The CNB has done an excellent job and all sinkies should commend the officers and men of CNB for their risks and efforts to keep sinkie land free of drug traffickers and pushers.

The CNB will exist as long as there is this country called singapore regardless whether PAP is in power hereafter.

Aiyoh, why you can't see beyond what the PAP tells you?
All the 'elite' units in the various organizations are the PAP's Republican guards. That's why their numbers are top secret. These elite units will be called upon to defend the PAP in times of chaos.

songsongjurong

when CNB head is getting 'head' and conspired to let one german drug trafficker escape the gallows...all the bells and whistle of undercover,multi prong anti drug campaign,STF shit sounds so...derisory..