• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Does this make economic sense? HDB's new mechanized parking multi level garages.

japan has it, and it's ugly like shit.....

image.jpg

Let's picture this: your best buddy is a gambler. You've known each since you both were kids. He comes up to you one day to borrow money from you...AGAIN. He promises that after this time he'll never ever gamble again. If he does, you can chop off his hands. Would you believe him?

Leegime's been gambling away Sinkies' fortunes and livelihoods since Pinky became Emperor.

i would say.....fool me once.... shame on you.....fool me....cant gedda fool again....

[video=youtube;eKgPY1adc0A]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eKgPY1adc0A[/video]

rushifa666

There is only one line of interest. $5 million to increase SIXTY lots? Then it takes a billion for a new carpark?

greenies

Learnt from Taipei, the system is troublesome though it is space saving.
There were numerous accidents, recently a car was plunged onto the ground last year.

greenies

There is only one line of interest. $5 million to increase SIXTY lots? Then it takes a billion for a new carpark?

Ha ha your logic reminds me of younger day.
We joked about our school marks of... studying for 3 hours, got 60 marks; then we should study for 6 hours, we could hit 120 marks.

Mechanized parking is the way to go. It saves land spaces more cars can stack on top of one another. Just press a some pin number the cars will be delivered to you at ground floor. Hard for theives to steal your car and your cash cards unless he becomes Spiderman. But this mechanical thingie tends to break down often and there must technical standby 24x7 just in case you need to send someone to hospital in the middle of the night.

How do they ever make their money back by investing in this? They have to charge the limit for this.

Probably cost only $1 million, the other $4 million go to lackeys and cronies and GLCs doing the work.

Not really, I am more interested in the number of people which is proportional to the number of vehicles. I don't care what they do with the COE and ERP.

Mechanized carparks tell me that they are trying to make more efficient use of the land (read: squeeze more things into the small island). Which means the Population White Paper is right on track. Which means the PAP is unrepentant.

Either that or they realize their cash cow COE is at the near limit. By creating more parking spaces, they can allow more COEs for more cars on the road, and more money in their pockets from ERP, etc. Peasants stuck in traffic is not their problem.

Satyr

Great. No more running to your car to get something you forgot out of the trunk. Also, this must be fun at peak hours. Other than that , wonderful. Mechanised valet.

The return comes not from the additional carparks but from land freed up for building.

The mechanical product from China and the cost is cheap. One from Germany is expensive, Chinese copy is cheaper. Don't need brainer from the West to tell you expensive means is the best.

If you are interested to look into it, ask the PAP for the feasible study done and published in the LTA website for scrutiny and assessment. Don't let PAP paper generals screwed your life again.

How PAP has in place done the study of traffic management during peak hour? Don't let them tell you it is top secret again. Transparency is required to disclose their assessment to spend your CPF money $5M. Ask PAP for assessment compare concrete car park to mechanical car park system? PAP are developer, main contractor and cheap construction worker suppliers all in One, it is not a secret.

Cheap kekling kia labours build concrete car park is cheaper and maintenance free. Ozzies Angmoh Road Transport can tell you that.

1, Who is the manufacturer? Is the manufacturer reliable?
2, What is the noise level generated by the equipment?
3, Is this hydraulic or all mechanical equipment?
4. What speed is the equipment from 0 up 15 and 15 down 0 level?
5. Where is the feasible study of traffic management during peak hour?

More importantly, take their study and compare to other countries who has done the same. Many West town councils have thrown out the mechanical parking system. This mechanical system is good for private projects small size car park OK.

Gone are the days voters let PAP jiak leow bee paper generals turn Ministers do what they like. These coat tail back door entry MPs into parliament are NOT voters choices and letting incompetents slip in to plan your country is outdated.

One of Lee Bee wah's hair brained ideas. The HDB will build multi story mechanized parking towers to supplement its stock of park lots in the pilot estates. So one example that Penang Cow gave was that $5 million will be spend to create 60 new additional parking spaces using this tower system. Since they are keeping the charges the same, I am taking $90 as a monthly season parking for a covered car park. This means that the additional 60 lots will add $5400 per month in parking revenues. Since, it cost $5 million to build, at this rate, it will take 926 months or 71 years to pay off!! Are you kidding me? And these things cost electricity to operate, as well, the system has to be maintained, all costing money. In Yishun, they are spending $3 million to add 22 additional parking space. There is really no economic returns at all. Is this a prestige project of the PAP?

SINGAPORE: Residents in three public housing estates trying out the mechanised parking system will find it easier to get parking lots. The system in these three estates, costing a total of about S$18 million, is on track to be ready by the end of next year.

The pilot sites are at: Bangkit Road, beside Block 259A; Yishun Avenue 4, beside Block 666A; and Changi Village Road, behind Block 1.

The mechanised parking system will help address the shortage of car parks, especially in older HDB estates where there is limited space to build more car park lots.

The new parking system will be fully automated, which means that motorists do not have to hunt for a lot. They need only park their vehicles in the car-lift and key in a PIN number.

The system will allow automatic transfer of the vehicles to an empty parking storage area. To retrieve the vehicles, motorists simply key in the same PIN number.

The commencement ceremony for Bangkit Road site took place on Sunday (Sep 14) , with National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan, as the guest of honour. In a blog post, Mr Khaw said that the plans are progressing well, with construction to start next week.

The new mechanised parking system will add another 60 lots to the current 311, at a cost of about S$5 million.

The pilot project at Yishun will cost about S$3 million and will boast 246 lots, up from the current 224 lots.

The project at Changi Village will cost around S$10 million and will increase the number of lots from the current 182 to 319.

This being a pilot study, HDB will keep the parking charges for the mechanised parking system at the same rate as existing car parks.

The pilot implementation will allow HDB to test bed the suitability of the technology in Singapore, gauge users’ acceptance of the system, and gain learning points, before considering future implementation to more sites.

Earlier in October 2013, Lee Bee Wah, Chairperson of the Government Parliamentary Committee (GPC) for National Development and Environment, announced that HDB would be implementing the mechanised parking system in the three pilot sites. The announcement came after a joint GPC-HDB study on the viability of mechanised parking in HDB estates in Singapore, initiated by Ms Lee in January 2012.

HDB has assured residents that a comprehensive maintenance regime will be in place to ensure the reliability of the mechanised parking system. Should the system break down, motorists can call a 24-hour service hotline for immediate assistance. The parking system is also fitted with a back-up power generator and a manual mechanism that allows the retrieval of vehicles

Don't be surprised land space saving is NOT the issue. Mech parking system is 1 level parking, ground floor only. Cars getting in and out is on one single floor level only.

So there is long queue waiting for each car to park. Accident happen easily and jammed the car park may lead to jam all the way into the main road. In a serious accident cannot move cars and that is hours of jam leading to main road is possible.

Mechanized parking is the way to go. It saves land spaces more cars can stack on top of one another. Just press a some pin number the cars will be delivered to you at ground floor. Hard for theives to steal your car and your cash cards unless he becomes Spiderman. But this mechanical thingie tends to break down often and there must technical standby 24x7 just in case you need to send someone to hospital in the middle of the night.

tanakow

Given that the money don't come from her, whether it makes economic sense does not matter.

Just the driver-less MRT train in the NE line, it is more expensive to run but they still went for it.