• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

iPhone 6, Applewatch, Singapore not involved??

enterprise2

Everyone talking about it after the launch. Sales going to explode. But wait a minute, how's much is Singapore contributing or benefitting from it?? Very little, I am afraid. We can buy these gadgets when they r available but the monies or profits not coming our way! Garment bet on the wrong horse!! As usual!!

Of course the profits are not going to Sinkieland. :rolleyes:

1) Sinkieland does not do the R&D.

2) Sinkieland does not do the manufacturing.

3) The Apple HQ is not in Sinkieland.

PAP govt touch anything also turn into shit. And even if they make some profitable investments, not a dime will trickle down to you. Not enough money? Lease buy back your HDB pigeon hole.

Suck it up Sinkies. :rolleyes:

apple watch....how stupid is that?u mean no one has thought of it or tried it before?this shows apple is a worthless company except for creating stupid fads....all the other companies are just waiting for apple to start another retarded gimmick before they jump in and make their own "I watch".....wtf next?Ishoes?Ibelt?

enterprise2

apple watch....how stupid is that?u mean no one has thought of it or tried it before?this shows apple is a worthless company except for creating stupid fads....all the other companies are just waiting for apple to start another retarded gimmick before they jump in and make their own "I watch".....wtf next?Ishoes?Ibelt?

It's not stupid if it bring in couple more billions!!

Of course the profits are not going to Sinkieland. :rolleyes:

1) Sinkieland does not do the R&D.

2) Sinkieland does not do the manufacturing.

3) The Apple HQ is not in Sinkieland.

PAP govt touch anything also turn into shit. And even if they make some profitable investments, not a dime will trickle down to you. Not enough money? Lease buy back your HDB pigeon hole.

Suck it up Sinkies. :rolleyes:

Actually Apple was doing R&D next door to it's & manufacturing plant at the Ang Mo Kio location. The Asia Pacific office was at one time located in Spore. When Apple closed it's R&D the building was sold to NCS.

if you're buying the iphone 6 or 6 plus at full retail price unlocked with any carrier, it's best to buy the variants with the cellular and wireless chipsets a1524 and a1586. these 2 variants cover all the cellular frequencies and technologies used on the planet.....including the unique td-scdma rf modulation used in china mobile's 3g. also, there's td-lte support for 4 bands in china.

CDMA EV-DO Rev. A and Rev. B (800, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)

UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)

TD-SCDMA 1900 (F), 2000 (A)

GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)

FDD-LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 28, 29)

TD-LTE (Bands 38, 39, 40, 41)

Steve job invents everything, for the new i6 he even invented nfc, smthg not heard before that it is just farking brilliant, wish my galaxy s5 had it. There were rumors if this in Japan a decade again, but no more then rumour. Heard the i6 gas such a large screen it could even block out the sun. Totally unprecedented. Umbrella would soon b a thing of history,

the iphone 69 will do everything for you, including sexting with your mistress in swahili. you don't even need to hold it. it will hover like a drone, taking downblouse and upskirt pics and video record bukake sessions through highrise windows. all you need to do is sleep or stay in bed with your ipad 69. :p

Actually Apple was doing R&D next door to it's & manufacturing plant at the Ang Mo Kio location. The Asia Pacific office was at one time located in Spore. When Apple closed it's R&D the building was sold to NCS.

Yeah, and Seagate once made hard disk drives in Singapore. Nokia Asia Pacific HQ was in Singapore. So?

Once we were the centre of what's happening !! Now it's just casinos and property plays!

from silicon chips.....

image.jpg

to clay chips.....

image.jpg

B Man

To be honest, the "R&D" done was nothing compared to what they did in Cupertino. They only did the basic iPod development here. No 'R"esearch done at all which was all controlled via Cupertino. No designing concepts, no innovation and idea generation... No fancy stuff like Macbooks, Macs, iPad, Apple Tv etc..

The "R&D" office here was to mainly to meet the criteria for tax breaks....

Yeah, and Seagate once made hard disk drives in Singapore. Nokia Asia Pacific HQ was in Singapore. So?

50 years & what does the PAP have to show:confused:
It goes to show that Spore has failed to nurture any local companies. Even losing all the MNCs that it paid in the past to set up shop here in Spore.

They plan to move PSA to a new location :eek: With the poor PAP's track record I expect another costly mistake.

To be honest, the "R&D" done was nothing compared to what they did in Cupertino. They only did the basic iPod development here. No 'R"esearch done at all which was all controlled via Cupertino. No designing concepts, no innovation and idea generation... No fancy stuff like Macbooks, Macs, iPad, Apple Tv etc..

The "R&D" office here was to mainly to meet the criteria for tax breaks....

The main software development work has to be done in Cupertino. If they did that outside the US, it would require the VPs & CEO to travel outside the US, slowing the development work.

The Spore R&D was working more on monitors & I think the speech recognition thing. Apple was manufacturing monitor in Spore & it made sense to have the team located in Spore.

DollarsNoSense

About 5-6 suppliers to Apple from SG:
https://www.apple.com/supplier-responsibility/pdf/Apple_Supplier_List_2014.pdf

BUT don't know if they are local-owned, or may be supply only screws and plugs.... SG is nothing in the iPhone 6 $$$ pie compared to Taiwanese companies especially Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company (TSMC ) which produces the A8 chip:

http://ctee.com.tw/News/Content.aspx?id=501976&yyyymmdd=20140305&f=afc5dbd539fcf65dd2c8066ee5f37695

SG millionaire businessmen make their moneys from the stock market and property market, if u ask them to invest in manufacturing, they would laugh and show u the exit door