• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

US MNC: We Didn't Fxxx SG for FREE. EDB: Agreed...

[h=2]Broadcom & EDB deny Broadcom is leaving SG[/h]
dmca_protected_sml_120n.png
PostDateIcon.png
September 7th, 2014 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

broadcom-300x150.png
It was earlier reported that large American chipmaker and Fortune 500 company, Broadcom, is starting to move some of its operations out of Singapore to Ireland (‘Large US MNC shifts operations out of Singapore‘).

In its latest annual report, Broadcom said that it would “utilise (its) Irish trading company for certain foreign operations”.

Broadcom has reportedly decided to shift some operations out of Singapore when the Economic Development Board’s tax incentives ended this year.

The tax incentives helped reduce Broadcom’s Singapore taxes by a massive US$423 million last year and by US$399 million in 2012. The savings were considerable given that the net earnings of Broadcom were US$424 million last year and US$719 million in 2012. Without the EDB’s tax incentives, Broadcom would not have made any profits last year.

Broadcom said the move to Ireland “would result in a similar foreign tax provision as our current Singapore tax incentive”. The relocation is not expected to have a “material effect on operating results and tax expenses, or on customers or suppliers.”

Yesterday (6 Sep), writing in ST Forum, Mr Giuseppe Miano, Broadcom Vice-President of Asia-Pacific Operations and Managing Director of Singapore, assured the public that Singapore “continues to be an essential location for Broadcom’s research and development, logistics and other support services”.

“Broadcom has contributed significantly to the country’s economic development for more than 15 years, and is dedicated to increasing investment here.”

He said that Broadcom supports the local school system as part of their efforts to cultivate future innovation leaders here.

He said, “Besides partnering the Economic Development Board, local government agencies and industry leaders, Broadcom is engaged with schools and education leaders to promote Stem (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) education.”

“Singapore remains a strategic market for Broadcom, and we are strongly committed to growing our business in this country, and continuing to work with our third-party manufacturing suppliers here for years to come,” he added.

EDB says Broadcom exploring new areas to invest in Singapore

Meanwhile, EDB Assistant Managing Director, Lim Kok Kiang, also wrote in to ST Forum yesterday to assure the public that Singapore’s electronics industry remains globally competitive and that wafer fab production levels were at a record high in the second quarter of this year, despite Broadcom’s move.

“We expect total manufacturing output to grow this year compared to last year,” he said.

“While there have been some recent consolidations and retrenchments, these are in line with the electronics industry’s transformation towards higher value-added activities.”

As an indicator of an industry’s competitiveness, Singapore’s electronics industry was able to attract more than $16 billion in investments over the last 3 years, which helps create 7,700 skilled jobs when the investments are fully realised, said Mr Lim.

=> How much of these $16B are actually grants from SG aka taxpayers' $? How many SGs are being hired?

“Through high-value-added components manufacturing, research and development, and headquarters activities, the industry creates good-paying jobs for Singaporeans,” he added.

Mr Lim explained that multinational corporations make decisions to shift their operations across different countries for various reasons.

“Despite the ongoing transformation in the electronics industry, leading global companies continue to grow their activities in Singapore. These include Broadcom, which still maintains significant operations and is exploring new areas to invest in Singapore,” he said.

Moving forward, Mr Lim said that EDB has positioned Singapore to capture new opportunities from the global trends of the internet and cloud computing by building capabilities in power management, communications, sensors and storage technologies.

“More than $500 million of investments in these areas have been announced this year from leading electronics companies such as MediaTek, International Rectifier and AFPD, which will create more than 500 new jobs. The EDB expects to see more of such investments in the near future,” he said.

“Our long-term outlook for the industry remains positive as we continue to attract exciting new electronics investments,” he concluded.

Did PAPsmearer cause this little distress among the PAPpy and their MNC bitches? I mentioned this in a thread on Sept 1st.

http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?...22-million-tax-savings-and-than-they-move-out!!

Than now on Sept 7th, all the EDB sycophants and their MNC leeches coming out to defend the move out of Singapore? Before I mentioned this in my thread, the news was buried deep in the Business Times and now one paid any attention to it. In the past, the EDB never came out to defend all these companies moving out. why now? Where is this pressure coming from? Surely, not from little old Papsmearer?

He said that Broadcom supports the local school system as part of their efforts to cultivate future innovation leaders here.

He said, “Besides partnering the Economic Development Board, local government agencies and industry leaders, Broadcom is engaged with schools and education leaders to promote Stem (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) education.”

Talk is cheap, why don't Broadcomm mention money? EDB give them USD$821 million over 2 years in tax holidays. How much did Broadcom spend on this engagement with schools? $1,000? $10,000?

“More than $500 million of investments in these areas have been announced this year from leading electronics companies such as MediaTek, International Rectifier and AFPD, which will create more than 500 new jobs. The EDB expects to see more of such investments in the near future,” he said.

Why don't the EDB tell us how much in free tax holidays they gave these leading electronic companies to come here. I mean if they gave them $700 million in tax holidays so that they will put in $500 million in investments, where is the win for singapore?

wMulew

Capture4-640x205.jpg

It is obvious from this statement. The only thing that has changed since 12 years ago is now we have more useless opposition retards in Parliament. Vote opposition to lose more good businesses

Heeheehee.. EDB scholar types hoodwinked by ang moh charlatans and their "intangible benefits". In the REAL world, such a debacle would have been career limiting.

im curious to know what investments did this broadcom bring in order to justify nearly 2.4 billion in tax incentives from a small country like us.....2.4 billion wtf is enough to pay 10,000 employees $240,000 each.

wtf do u know how many s300 missiles buk mii missiles and kornet missiles i can buy for the palestines with 2.4 billion?

LEGEND

See lah! Import so many rubbish workers from 3rd World Cuntries. Workforce standard drop liao, people don't want to invest here liao! :oIo:

kukubird59

Did PAPsmearer cause this little distress among the PAPpy and their MNC bitches? I mentioned this in a thread on Sept 1st.

http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?...22-million-tax-savings-and-than-they-move-out!!
hahaha....truly an empty vessel...
U took something reported in the press and thought u gave the world inside scoop....
The clarifications only confirmed that u are out of depth on such topics...
But of course you r too retarded to know this...

soIsee

Capture4-640x205.jpg

It is obvious from this statement. The only thing that has changed since 12 years ago is now we have more useless opposition retards in Parliament. Vote opposition to lose more good businesses

Stable gov and attractive, MY FUCK!

Once you do not give tax incentives to ME..

I move else where better, understand?

Money talks, O.K?

If you do not talk cock then where do you think my money come from where? LoL

Stable gov and attractive, MY FUCK!

Once you do not give tax incentives to ME..

I move else where better, understand?

Money talks, O.K?

If you do not talk cock then where do you think my money come from where? LoL

U are 100% right. The shit times leeporter don't have the balls to ask the Broadcom VP how come if singapore got stable govt, stable currency, world class infrastructure, business friendly, etc. why do they need $2.4 billion worth of tax incentives to come here? Why aren't they rushing to come here to set up shop for free? If Singapore has all these great things that he says, why are they moving to Ireland? Ireland is even betterer than singapore meh? If they can find 10 sober Irishmen to work in their factory, they should call that a good day.

hahaha....truly an empty vessel...
U took something reported in the press and thought u gave the world inside scoop....
The clarifications only confirmed that u are out of depth on such topics...
But of course you r too retarded to know this...

kukushit, go back to raping your mother's asshole. this is a forum for human beings, not perverts like you.

the theory is actually very very simple.

does the gahmen mean to benefit us if they make alot of money? anwer: no and wait long long.

same question to boardcom: do u think they are here to benefit the gahmen if they make lots and lots of $$$?

same answer like the pap has given us: WAIT LONG LONG...you siao ah!!

im curious to know what investments did this broadcom bring in order to justify nearly 2.4 billion in tax incentives from a small country like us.....2.4 billion wtf is enough to pay 10,000 employees $240,000 each.

wtf do u know how many s300 missiles buk mii missiles and kornet missiles i can buy for the palestines with 2.4 billion?

must hv investing in some untraceable bank account which US Fed will b happy to land their hands on.

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
What stood out for me was the title "assistant managing director".... managing director still need assistant managing director. Dunno got vice asst md or senior vice asst md....

They think they like our prime minister. Got so many deputy pm

palden

Many others also trying same pattern. One example is JDSU.

[h=2]Broadcom & EDB deny Broadcom is leaving SG[/h]
dmca_protected_sml_120n.png
PostDateIcon.png
September 7th, 2014 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

broadcom-300x150.png
It was earlier reported that large American chipmaker and Fortune 500 company, Broadcom, is starting to move some of its operations out of Singapore to Ireland (‘Large US MNC shifts operations out of Singapore‘).

In its latest annual report, Broadcom said that it would “utilise (its) Irish trading company for certain foreign operations”.

Broadcom has reportedly decided to shift some operations out of Singapore when the Economic Development Board’s tax incentives ended this year.

The tax incentives helped reduce Broadcom’s Singapore taxes by a massive US$423 million last year and by US$399 million in 2012. The savings were considerable given that the net earnings of Broadcom were US$424 million last year and US$719 million in 2012. Without the EDB’s tax incentives, Broadcom would not have made any profits last year.

Broadcom said the move to Ireland “would result in a similar foreign tax provision as our current Singapore tax incentive”. The relocation is not expected to have a “material effect on operating results and tax expenses, or on customers or suppliers.”

Yesterday (6 Sep), writing in ST Forum, Mr Giuseppe Miano, Broadcom Vice-President of Asia-Pacific Operations and Managing Director of Singapore, assured the public that Singapore “continues to be an essential location for Broadcom’s research and development, logistics and other support services”.

“Broadcom has contributed significantly to the country’s economic development for more than 15 years, and is dedicated to increasing investment here.”

“Singapore remains a strategic market for Broadcom, and we are strongly committed to growing our business in this country, and continuing to work with our third-party manufacturing suppliers here for years to come,” he added.

EDB says Broadcom exploring new areas to invest in Singapore

Meanwhile, EDB Assistant Managing Director, Lim Kok Kiang, also wrote in to ST Forum yesterday to assure the public that Singapore’s electronics industry remains globally competitive and that wafer fab production levels were at a record high in the second quarter of this year, despite Broadcom’s move.

“We expect total manufacturing output to grow this year compared to last year,” he said.

“While there have been some recent consolidations and retrenchments, these are in line with the electronics industry’s transformation towards higher value-added activities.”

As an indicator of an industry’s competitiveness, Singapore’s electronics industry was able to attract more than $16 billion in investments over the last 3 years, which helps create 7,700 skilled jobs when the investments are fully realised, said Mr Lim.

=> How much of these $16B are actually grants from SG aka taxpayers' $? How many SGs are being hired?

“Through high-value-added components manufacturing, research and development, and headquarters activities, the industry creates good-paying jobs for Singaporeans,” he added.

Mr Lim explained that multinational corporations make decisions to shift their operations across different countries for various reasons.

“Despite the ongoing transformation in the electronics industry, leading global companies continue to grow their activities in Singapore. These include Broadcom, which still maintains significant operations and is exploring new areas to invest in Singapore,” he said.

Moving forward, Mr Lim said that EDB has positioned Singapore to capture new opportunities from the global trends of the internet and cloud computing by building capabilities in power management, communications, sensors and storage technologies.

“Our long-term outlook for the industry remains positive as we continue to attract exciting new electronics investments,” he concluded.