• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CB! WP MP Pritam Singh wants Govt to ban Airbnb!!

zeroo

SINGAPORE - The Government needs to study the implications of the increasing popularity and growth in the number of websites such as Airbnb, on which home owners offer their residences for short stays of under six months, said Senior Minister of State for National Development Lee Yi Shyan.

He was replying to Workers' Party MP Pritam Singh (Aljunied GRC), who asked if there were plans to review the regulatory framework governing such short-term rentals, given the growing popularity of such websites.

Currently, renting out residential premises for less than six months is illegal. Portals such as Airbnb do have disclaimers stating that those offering or taking up such accommodation must comply with local laws and regulations, noted Mr Lee, who is also Senior Minister of State for Trade and Industry.

Anyone who travels overseas know Airbnb gives you a chance to stay in a local home and mix with the local community, while providing a cheap accommodation.

This bao tao kia wants to ban this in SG!!

CloneHunter

Anyone who travels overseas know Airbnb gives you a chance to stay in a local home and mix with the local community, while providing a cheap accommodation.

Your conclusion is warped. Pritam asked for a review.
It is amazing you interpret that as asking for a ban.

sochi2014

Of all the issues WP could attend to, like Ah Roy's CPF issue, they only focus on this boliow issue?

HUAT THE FISH?

nkfnkfnkf

In many ways WP will be much worst than PAP only not revealed yet. We need badly to replace PAP, but sadly the availiable oppositions are just as bad or worse.

iluvgst

pap will likely ban airbnb. it will affect the hotel industry. the garment collects room tax and corporate tax from the hoteliers. but they can't collect tax from airbnb room operators.

rushifa666

Sorry airbnb will be responsible for many shady dealings. A big loophole. Getting rid of them will prevent crime. Don't think the cheapos will spurge here anyway. Good riddance

What good is preventing crime when the regulators are themselves the very criminals? :rolleyes:

AirBnB is simply amazing. It allows simple folks like our enterprising immigrants to play hoteller and be an accomplice to vice activities. Thanks to the PAP, plying the world's oldest profession has never been easier.

sochi2014

sgp hotels are expensive and not value for money. S$100 bucks you get those hotels for chicken business.

airBnB is clean and near to hawker centers.

Chieftain

AirBnB is simply amazing. It allows simple folks like our enterprising immigrants to play hoteller and be an accomplice to vice activities. Thanks to the PAP, plying the world's oldest profession has never been easier.

Vice can never be eradicated. :wink:

GeneralHavoc

$$$ comes first for the PAP. If they have no tax in it then hahaha.

kulgai

Your comprehension is indeed poor. That's not what he said.

This app will be used by FTs more than locals.

It will just give PR more chance to rent out their HDB at higher profit.

HTOLAS

Precisely. We should not have any opposition until the perfect opposition (which is ready at any moment to take over the government) turns up miraculously and becomes 'worthy' of our vote.

In many ways WP will be much worst than PAP only not revealed yet. We need badly to replace PAP, but sadly the availiable oppositions are just as bad or worse.

Jar Jar Binks

Precisely. We should not have any opposition until the perfect opposition (which is ready at any moment to take over the government) turns up miraculously and becomes 'worthy' of our vote.

Ahh.. Mister uppercase alphabets. :rolleyes: Straight forward posts are appreciated unlike many lowercase alphabets that are PAP moles. You can be a PAP supporter or a civil servant. Some clowns from the YPAP / PAP IB gives themselves away easily. :biggrin:

They are lousy at being moles. Carrying anti PAP siggies and complaining about the PAP is what everyone does including their supporters and civil servants that are unhappy with PAP policies but they failed to rise to the occasion when certain events takes place. :biggrin:

In many ways WP will be much worst than PAP only not revealed yet. We need badly to replace PAP, but sadly the available oppositions are just as bad or worse.

I quote what Leongsam told u sometime in 2010. "Get a life :rolleyes:" but... your are PAP IB hahahaha