• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Successful and Optimistic

lifeafter41

Went to catch a movie, The Four (Part 3), when I met up with another friend, with his wifey, and 2 children, already adult, if you ask me, aged, 23 and 21.

Coming to his mid 50s, asked him how is he and family. Very well, he told me, as we walk together to grab a cup of coffee, while the wife and children, went to do some shopping.

Earlier on in the years, already know he is doing insurance and did well too, told me he invested in a few properties, at least 5 to 8 years earlier and is doing well on that aspect. Stay in one condo and rented out the remaining 3.

Understand from him, the son did not do well to go into uni locally, but contemplated overseas studies instead, but after consideration, rather then spending the money for oversea studies, he decided to go into retail business, roping in both the sons and wife. Though they have not done retail before, I did ask him for the reason why. He told me rather then spending at least 300 thousand, to study in the USA, might as well use the money to set up a business for his children to run, while he does not interfere in the day to day running, if they encounter any problem, will always seek his advise on how to resolve.

Just started not too long ago, while all are very busy, they look very committed to make the business work.

My thought is, it is definitely better than throwing money for some US degree, and coming back into Singapore to compete with the FTs. Teaching them how to fish is definitely more valuable than giving them the 300k outright.

Anyway, after coffee, he offered a lift, and told me to try out his brand new X5, which I told him another day, as was rushing back home.

lifeafter41

You really got many friends and stories to share.

Hahahahaha. Thanks!!
Pretty extreme if you ask me.
There are some that are down and out, everyday kpkb.
Some just bite the bullet and carry on.
There are others that are pretty successful, like this guy here. There is another that is doing even better, couple of semi-d and terrace house.

Well as it goes, there are those that are arrogant, having made it. Some are just very humble, your regular hawker centre eating guy, even though got at least 5 property and there are those that are just downright snobbish, flaunting their wealth.

yes, you can sell donuts in sg and do very well any time of day, even in evenings and nights. in the u.s., donut shops typically close at noon. sinkies must thank the pap for 24 by 7 opportunities never existed out there in the world, even in the ultimate land of opportunities, the u.s. :p

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    108.5 KB · Views: 140

bro how about a large cup of shut the fuck up?the problem with ur stories is the first one is probably true,the 2nd one is about as fictional as weapons of mass destruction in iraq.

i've to earn my keep. i'm the chief of propaganja and poop. :o

shctaw

I have a few personal friends have net worth above US$50m.

I say; it is up to anyone to believe......if everyone shut up; who need forum?

i think your friend's son not going to states for study is a waste. who knows he may find his forte in US. my secondary school friend went for his MBA and has a wide network. later in life, he was given contracts by his friends who worked in apple and gap, and casinos in vegas, to do outsource manufacturing for them in china.
besides, it is important to grab as much knowledge as possible when you are young, is your friend expecting his son to do retail for life? there are so many online sites selling stuff, i see no future in setting up physical retail shop. even if he dun set up business, he may stay on in states to work and get more exposure.

Understand from him, the son did not do well to go into uni locally, but contemplated overseas studies instead, but after consideration, rather then spending the money for oversea studies, he decided to go into retail business, roping in both the sons and wife. Though they have not done retail before, I did ask him for the reason why. He told me rather then spending at least 300 thousand, to study in the USA, might as well use the money to set up a business for his children to run, while he does not interfere in the day to day running, if they encounter any problem, will always seek his advise on how to resolve.

Just started not too long ago, while all are very busy, they look very committed to make the business work.

My thought is, it is definitely better than throwing money for some US degree, and coming back into Singapore to compete with the FTs. Teaching them how to fish is definitely more valuable than giving them the 300k outright.

lifeafter41

i think your friend's son not going to states for study is a waste. who knows he may find his forte in US. my secondary school friend went for his MBA and has a wide network. later in life, he was given contracts by his friends who worked in apple and gap, and casinos in vegas, to do outsource manufacturing for them in china.
besides, it is important to grab as much knowledge as possible when you are young, is your friend expecting his son to do retail for life? there are so many online sites selling stuff, i see no future in setting up physical retail shop. even if he dun set up business, he may stay on in states to work and get more exposure.

Yes, I do understand where you are coming from. A father, I know of send his daughter to the US while only recently, sent the son, to Australia for their studies. Daughter doing BA, while son pharmaceutical. Easily s$600k, after all said and done. Did ask him if he expects them to return, guess what's the answer. It's no. I was quite shock initially, but understand he and his wife, both studied in the US earlier on and it's a norm to them, where this guy in the retail busines both did their u locally. My guess is that their life experience is different and it does reflect it in their choice and influence in their children too. There is no right or wrong and I believe both families wants the best for thier children.

but a father has to be prepared, once children is out there in states, unlikely return to s'pore. my army friend, a singh, cornell uni, worked for oracle, got his residency there, happily married with a jap with 2 children. never hear that he want to come back to s'pore. his case is not unique, my relative's daughters also do not want to come back.

Yes, I do understand where you are coming from. A father, I know of send his daughter to the US while only recently, sent the son, to Australia for their studies. Daughter doing BA, while son pharmaceutical. Easily s$600k, after all said and done. Did ask him if he expects them to return, guess what's the answer. It's no. I was quite shock initially, but understand he and his wife, both studied in the US earlier on and it's a norm to them, where this guy in the retail busines both did their u locally. My guess is that their life experience is different and it does reflect it in their choice and influence in their children too. There is no right or wrong and I believe both families wants the best for thier children.

lifeafter41

but a father has to be prepared, once children is out there in states, unlikely return to s'pore. my army friend, a singh, cornell uni, worked for oracle, got his residency there, happily married with a jap with 2 children. never hear that he want to come back to s'pore. his case is not unique, my relative's daughters also do not want to come back.

But come to think of it, what's going to happen to the old folks if the son and daughter don't come back.

Should he move over there to live with them?
What happened to 养儿防老。

Why everyone say study uni get degree and find good job?
Study purely for interests....no?
Whether kids want go uni or not....let them decide. Its their future. No point study few years some subject that does not interests them and waste their time.

no more such thing as expecting your children to look after you in sinkie land, thanks to pap and robert lee's policies...

But come to think of it, what's going to happen to the old folks if the son and daughter don't come back.

Should he move over there to live with them?
What happened to 养儿防老。