• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

2 PAP MPs Defend SMRT’s Chartering Service

Hollywood brings in cash to fund the transit.

ACS sucks money from SMRT ...Desmond using SMRT assets to rub his ego. That's corruption.

acs didn't charter the service for free. they paid for it. on any day, there are spare trains idling in the depot. it's an excellent move to put those idle trains to good use. :biggrin:

He thought he calls the shots. He doesn't. It is LTA that calls the shots. Goes to show that ACSians think too highly of themselves. Glad that I went to Toa Payoh Secondary School instead of ACS after my kindergarten years there.

They think highly of themselves and make no apologies for the fact. ACS is the best. It is a known fact that if sinkie girls can't hook an Ang Moh, an ACS boy will do just as well.

warp logic... and it's coming from someone who came from a school better than ACS.:rolleyes:

There is no lack of demand for buses either but nobody kicks up a stink when SBS or SMRT makes bus charter arrangements.

I really don't understand what the fuss is about. As long as the chartered trains were not run at the expense of normal train services, the travelling public would not be affected whatsoever.

In fact the additional chartered trains would mean that ordinary passengers didn't have to fight tooth and nail with thousands of ACS rugby supporters to board the trains. They would have benefitted from the charter arrangement rather than being hindered by it.

I view the whole issue as a dose of jealousy instigated by those who can't get into ACS.

warp logic... and it's coming from someone who came from a school better than ACS.:rolleyes:

I'm from Boys' Town. I wish I'd been able to get into ACS but I was not good enough. However, that does not stop me from admiring the school and its status.

on page 4, you can also see that bart sponsors cheap $2 tickets for sporting events and partners with sports clubs in providing charter transport for riders going to a's games in oakland.

http://www.greendesignetc.net/Transportation_05_(pdf)/SyedAsma_BART(paper).pdf

and this is a direct quote from bart....."partnerships with recreational events promote transit use and benefit the public good with less traffic congestion and cleaner air."

sinkies need to wake up that the rest of the transit world is doing it. in fact, special events organized by charities and sports tournaments by major sports leagues with the nyc transit are sponsored partially or fully by the mta, so that fares can be discounted or waived for less fortunate attendees. it's not about making profits for some of these events. it's community spirit and collaborative cooperation with the public for special charitable and community-building events that don't happen too often.

on page 4, you can also see that bart sponsors cheap $2 tickets for sporting events and partners with sports clubs in providing charter transport for riders going to a's games in oakland.

http://www.greendesignetc.net/Transportation_05_(pdf)/SyedAsma_BART(paper).pdf

and this is a direct quote from bart....."partnerships with recreational events promote transit use and benefit the public good with less traffic congestion and cleaner air."

This is true as Yankees like to drive. So, this promotion is justifiable.

Most sinkees take public transit, not drive. There is NO need for promotion at all.

sinkies need to wake up that the rest of the transit world is doing it. in fact, special events organized by charities and sports tournaments by major sports leagues with the nyc transit are sponsored partially or fully by the mta, so that fares can be discounted or waived for less fortunate attendees. it's not about making profits for some of these events. it's community spirit and collaborative cooperation with the public for special charitable and community-building events that don't happen too often.

Sinkees need to wake up to see abject corruption ...CEO of SMRT behaves like he owns the subway, giving out favours as he pleases.
Most sinkees use public transit ...our demand overwhelms supply ...so the suggestion that giving discount is good for SMRT has no justification. This is corruption ...plain and simple.

it's community spirit and collaborative cooperation.....

Sinkies and "community spirit" don't mix. It's like oil and water.

In sinkieland, it's all about one-upmanship. Collaboration is the last thing on a sinkie's mind. That's why the PAP has been able to rule uninterrupted for half a century.

acs didn't charter the service for free. they paid for it. on any day, there are spare trains idling in the depot. it's an excellent move to put those idle trains to good use. :biggrin:

$2 per head when the fare should be higher.
We have so many delays due to equipment malfunction ...why would a competent CEO want to use a train for a loss-making service??????

This is true as Yankees like to drive. So, this promotion is justifiable.

Most sinkees take public transit, not drive. There is NO need for promotion at all.

didn't you ask if the ny transit had done similar things? well, i'm simply giving you the answers (with proof), not just from the mta in nyc but also bart in the bay area. what smrt did is nothing new nor reprehensible nor corruptible. in fact, it is highly commendable and following the world's best practice. most new yorkers, san franciscans and oaklanders rely on public transport, especially transit, to move around. only a small minority of the cities' residents own and drive cars in the urban core. those who drive as primary means of transportation live in towns and suburbs outside the urban core, and they are the ones who clog the city streets with their automobiles, very similar to sg.

I thought you have lost your sinkee mentality. You go figure out lah. What is the normal fare for this route? Definitely more than $2!

It's a group booking of one humongous group so of course the normal fares don't apply.

It's the same when the company buys a fleet of vehicles or an organisation books a whole restaurant. Group discounts will be incorporated into the pricing.

didn't you ask if the ny transit had done similar things? well, i'm simply giving you the answers (with proof), not just from the mta in nyc but also bart in the bay area. what smrt did is nothing new nor reprehensible nor corruptible. in fact, it is highly commendable and following the world's best practice.

The common factor amongst all these PAP detractors is that they'll NEVER admit they got it wrong despite overwhelming evidence to the contrary.

And there's a reason why they get it wrong so often too.... it's because they are driven by emotion rather than logic. They allow their dislike for the PAP to cloud their better judgement and distort their realities.

I googled "group discounts singapore" and found a whole host of organisations that offer group discounts for large numbers. SMRT is but one of many.

http://www.flightcentre.com.sg/experts/group-travel

Flight Centre Groups is a special team dedicated to catering to the travel needs of groups from 10 to 500 people.

We will go the extra mile to facilitate your group booking. Whether you have a sports team, school group, band, orchestra, large family group, social club, or a group of friends travelling to an event or wedding, we can source excellent group rates, for international travel and accommodation.

Flight Centre Groups will search the best deals from all major airlines to find you the best group discount airfares.*

Our Group specialists will offer you an unrivalled efficient service based on vast product knowledge and relationships with global suppliers who specialise in group travel and can offer great group rates.

Group travel is subject to special booking terms and conditions. With just a deposit, Group airfares can be block booked to give the benefit of securing seats early, without immediately having to pay in full or provide full names - unlike normal fares.

*Conditions apply. Groups are not eligible for discounted individual traveller specials.

its a private direct charter train,$2 a head is a huge operating loss.....they should be charged at least $5 or more per head.

knn if i can get a chartered train from kallang to boon lay everyday i wouldnt mind paying $5 to $8 per trip.

its a private direct charter train,$2 a head is a huge operating loss.....they should be charged at least $5 or more per head.

knn if i can get a chartered train from kallang to boon lay everyday i wouldnt mind paying $5 to $8 per trip.

Your forte certainly isn't cost accounting. :rolleyes:

Explain how you arrive at "huge operating loss" based on the $2 per head figure.

group discount wtf are u a bloody twit?u think this is some kind of zoo or mueseum?chartering a train means reserving it entirely for ur group only,making it exclusive.exclusivity has a price......just like flying first class or even better "residential" suite on abu dahbi airways.these are not available to mere mortals just like "chartered" trains are not available normal humans.

The common factor amongst all these PAP detractors is that they'll NEVER admit they got it wrong despite overwhelming evidence to the contrary.

And there's a reason why they get it wrong so often too.... it's because they are driven by emotion rather than logic. They allow their dislike for the PAP to cloud their better judgement and distort their realities.

I googled "group discounts singapore" and found a whole host of organisations that offer group discounts for large numbers. SMRT is but one of many.

Sinkies and "community spirit" don't mix. It's like oil and water.

In sinkieland, it's all about one-upmanship. Collaboration is the last thing on a sinkie's mind. That's why the PAP has been able to rule uninterrupted for half a century.

and that's why i admire the pap. they stand together as one in the face of adversity, thanks to lky. and that oneness under one man carried sg through her difficult times. without that unity and determination, sg would have been splintered into a dozen factions fighting among themselves to cut up the island nation.

these are not available to mere mortals just like "chartered" trains are not available normal humans.

Are you saying that if some other school wanted the same deal they wouldn't get it? If you have such evidence then present it. If you haven't, it's just pure speculation on your part. In fact, it could be slander.

Your forte certainly isn't cost accounting. :rolleyes:

Explain how you arrive at "huge operating loss" based on the $2 per head figure.

chartered means u get a train exclusive to urself,no one else can board.just like flying first class....u think u can access the first class lounge by paying for economy or budget seats?fooking hell obviously u are not a business savvy person.if u can offer a better privileged service to ur customers,would u offer it at the same cost as to any tom dick and harry taking the normal service?$2 a head?????thats outrageous!!!!!insolent!!!!!and impetous!!!!!