• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Swiss standard of living - $108 for a fish

$108 for a fish? Meal prices the result of high rents, say Boat Quay restaurants

SINGAPORE - A riverside dinner left a bad taste in the mouth of one British tourist, who was shocked to find that two live sea bass set him back $108 each at a Boat Quay restaurant.

In April, a Filipino family had to foot a thousand-dollar bill for their meal.

However, restaurants there say they are not out to make a quick buck, and defended their pricing yesterday.

They say that the prices are a result of the area's high rents, which have almost doubled in the last five years.

In a letter to The Straits Times yesterday, 71-year-old British retiree George Vickers said he had not read the menu prices before sitting down with his wife for a recent dinner, which included rice and vegetables. The bill came up to $314, including tax.

"It was fairly dark in that restaurant around night time, so we didn't note the price," he said.

Live seafood is offered by five eateries along the riverside stretch, all of which have similar menu prices.

At Harvest Seafood Restaurant, live sea bass goes for $7 per 100g.

At Fuqing Marina Bay Seafood Restaurant and Haven Lobster & Seafood Restaurant, it costs $9, while two outlets run by Forum Seafood Village charge $9.80 per 100g of sea bass, after a discount.

These prices are double that of live seafood restaurants in other locations, which price the same fish at between $2.80 and $5 per 100g.

Mr Vickers did not lodge a complaint with the restaurant, as he was in Singapore for only a brief visit.

Had he done so, the restaurant might have given him a discount, its owner told The Straits Times.

"It's not fair to us," said the owner, who did not want to be identified.

"We are 30 to 40 per cent more expensive than a coffee shop, but everything is the same as what other restaurants here are doing."

He said that his restaurant must pay more than $30,000 a month in rent, and that it is "just getting by".

According to real estate agent Richard Tan of PropNex, rents for shophouses in the Boat Quay area start at a minimum of $10 per sq ft and go as high as $14.

"It has doubled over the past five years," he said.

"During the financial crisis in 2009, rental was less than $20,000.

"From 2009, it went up. This year, it went up the most."

Mr Seah Seng Choon, executive director of the Consumers Association of Singapore, said there is no real regulation of food prices in Singapore.

He added: "The prices of food items are usually set by the restaurants but are subjected to competition and market forces."

[email protected]

ilovestinkapore

A papaya at wet market costs 5 bucks.
A lemon at Cold Storage cost more than a dollar.
A pineapple small size costs 1.50.
Branded S&W Pineapples cost 2.80 each.

You somehow wonder with the super strong Singapore currency, why are we still having cost inflation?

I thot someone in chenghu say strong sing currency help to fight off cost inflation?

Or is it the RENT SEEKING BEHAVIOR of the PAP run commercial enterprises like Capitalland, Mapletree, etc...and ramming up rental costs to pay for their PAP related CEOs and management teams?

Lizzert

You somehow wonder with the super strong Singapore currency, why are we still having cost inflation?
Because we got many Lemon ministers that cost a million Dollars

$7/100gm quite fair. If cannot afford dont dine out.
Whole sale market price $1.5/100gm.
Breakdown cost for that fish dish
Labour cost clean and cook the fish $10
Ingredient $6
Gas/Utilities bill $5
Rental $5
Untensil/clean up $5
Waitress $3.
Profit per 100gm is $2~$3 only.
Not happy go supermarket buy and cook yourself at home.

escher

A papaya at wet market costs 5 bucks.
A lemon at Cold Storage cost more than a dollar.
A pineapple small size costs 1.50.
Branded S&W Pineapples cost 2.80 each.

Much of those money go to the PAPs laughing all the way to their banks and back from the banks

Killing and dangling PAPs will bring down cost of living and make us all much happier and we can get back whatever still not stolen from CPF

They continue to laugh all the way to their banks
And all the way back from their banks

HA HA HA HA
HEE HEE HEE HE HEEEE
HOO HO HOOO HO HO

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

$108 for fish is not expensive.
This type of tourists vile pappies dun want in sinkieland....
We only want the billionaires type who can afford expensive Sg

Monkey Always Buy His fishes from this store at Tekka Market.
Super fresh and good quality...
Gotta wait hor...cos he has many many customers..

8780233655_1e44a8f219_z.jpg