• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Finally, gay Loong says something that makes sense

not only this make sense lah. During NDR he used sinkie need $2k per mth to retire make sense too LOL . If use 1k then no make sense liao.

the pm is correct in saying that sinkie students can fully rely on the excellent public school system for both basic and additional learning if and when the requirement arises. no where did he say private tuition should be avoided, but he expressed that excessive private tuition is unnecessary as the public system should be capable of addressing the extra learning needs. as a beneficiary of special private tuition since childhood, it's not his fault for being subjected to excessive tuition as it was not his choosing, including the decade of mentorship by senior ministers imposed upon him. nonetheless, private tuition is necessary for some sinkie nincompoops as they couldn't grasp the simple message being communicated. :rolleyes: :p :biggrin:

[SUB][/SUB]

This dialogue tells all about how we have reached such a pathetic state. When the ground is so rotten, our leader is still dreaming that everything is fine.

They push all the blame to parents being kiasu. They claimed teachers do teach. Unfortunately, it is common knowledge among parents that without tuition, many of the kids may not even pass their PSLE. We have teachers telling students that fertilization takes place in the uterus. Teachers who insisted that drawing boxes is a must to solve problem sum. The poor kids only get the rude shock when their sec teachers tell them that those boxes are no longer allowed in sec sch. So many fundamental approaches are wrong which is why we are producing people who are good only in regurgitating and copying - nothing original will ever be produced from such a system.

The fault with the education system lies on many levels. On one level, you have the teachers whose bonuses and kpi are tied to the performance of their classes. hence they push and push more homework to be done by the students to ensure their classes pass and pass well and hence they can collect their bonuses.

On another level, the govt. for many years only allowed one university, NUS, and treated the bachelor degree as an elitist degree. This made many parents push their kids to try and get into uni, not knowing that only 5% of any cohort can get entrance to NUS. In other Asian Tiger economies, the rate is more like 30%.

What the teachers should really do is be honest with their students. Tell them the truth. Which is:

Even though you study and sacrifice like crazy during your primary, secondary, and pre-U, u have no guarantee of a uni sport. Simply because 25% of uni seats are reserved for FT students on scholarships. And if you manage to get to a uni, odds are that u will not get the faculty u want simply due to the allotment in that faculty given to FT students. And after you graduate from uni, your chances of getting a good paying job is not as high as your parents because the PAP lets in cheap FT to compete with u for salary, and many MNCs and local companies are biased against hiring singaporeans.

If you explain all this to the students, than u can leave it up to them as to whether they want to study so hard or not.

waiting for Lee Hsien Loong to write his "hard truths to keep singapore going" so we can learn the secret sauce behind the success of Singapore from first world to swiss:the singapore story.

I am waiting for his book. "The Idiot's Guide to Running a Country".

Page 1, line one, "First, you must find a father who is already a Prime Minister and a lover of nepotism".

kingrant

One of the KPIs that killed learning and the teacher's enthusiasm to teach must surely be the KPI to finish yr syllabus, come hell or high water. If as a teacher, you adjust to the slower ones, then you cant finish. But for learning outcome, by being slower and more painstaking, you are actually a better teacher. To yr bosses and MOE, that's a no-no. Thats why despite all the talking cock, nothing is improved. Teachers become disillusioned, students suffered.

The fault with the education system lies on many levels. On one level, you have the teachers whose bonuses and kpi are tied to the performance of their classes. hence they push and push more homework to be done by the students to ensure their classes pass and pass well and hence they can collect their bonuses.

On another level, the govt. for many years only allowed one university, NUS, and treated the bachelor degree as an elitist degree. This made many parents push their kids to try and get into uni, not knowing that only 5% of any cohort can get entrance to NUS. In other Asian Tiger economies, the rate is more like 30%.

What the teachers should really do is be honest with their students. Tell them the truth. Which is:

Even though you study and sacrifice like crazy during your primary, secondary, and pre-U, u have no guarantee of a uni sport. Simply because 25% of uni seats are reserved for FT students on scholarships. And if you manage to get to a uni, odds are that u will not get the faculty u want simply due to the allotment in that faculty given to FT students. And after you graduate from uni, your chances of getting a good paying job is not as high as your parents because the PAP lets in cheap FT to compete with u for salary, and many MNCs and local companies are biased against hiring singaporeans.

If you explain all this to the students, than u can leave it up to them as to whether they want to study so hard or not.

kingrant

Wasnt the late "Uncle" (as the Lees called him) Francis Thomas one of them?

He and his siblings had tuition for all their core subjects and they were specially selected teachers either from NUS or MOE. And they were no ordinary teachers. They were usually the best teachers who set the curriculums. One was a relative - Philip from ACS.

The kid that asked the question probably did not know his background.

kingrant

C'mon that cant be true. Why is it not reported in the ST?

He and his siblings had tuition for all their core subjects and they were specially selected teachers either from NUS or MOE. And they were no ordinary teachers. They were usually the best teachers who set the curriculums. One was a relative - Philip from ACS.

The kid that asked the question probably did not know his background.

congo9

I have read one blog from a ex teacher, she says that if you want promotion. You better concentrate more on CCA activity and do school projects. If you do well in both, your star shines brightly even if you don't do your most basic duty of all, that is to teach your kids. Poor students, they just have to depend on tuition teachers to teach them to pass the exam as you have no time to cover your syllabus in detail.

The most damaging part is that when teachers does not import core values as they are in the rush to finish their syllabus. Knowledge is one part of holistic education. But they just ignore the value part. The value of hardwork , thriftyness, honesty and importance to be upright.

In the end, the teacher was told. If she wants only to teach only, she can jolly well and become a tuition teacher.

Any problems that society has, u say PAP has no part in it. But on the other hand, any positives in society, u will happily say its the PAP that did it. U have to take the good with the bad. Get it asshole?

There are no positives in Singapore society. All Singapore's positives come from the country's astute leadership. The PAP has made Singapore a success despite the poor quality of Singapore society dragging the country down on numerous occasions.

You contradict yourself lah. Since you say PAP so very good ah ...then sinkee must be smart lah to vote for PAP. Isn't that a positive trait of sinkees?

Teach these students to rebel against the establishment!