• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Best Hawker Stall to run in a Hawker Centre

most fruit juice stalls are manned by lao uncle with face like Goh meng seng who looks like they cant even hold a job outside valet parking at mandarin oriental,i suspect business margin is not that good they wouldnt be able to afford additional manpower like PRC SYT from secondary schools to peddle their goods on that margin.....very cost intensive and only applicable to establishments who have other income revenues like restaurants or casinos.

The lady at Telok Ayer hawker centre quite chio. Stall is in-between Ah Ter noodles and a Costa Rican food stall.

Cutting fruits is the big challenge. And fruit prices keeps going up. i still think that jazzing it up and price it right might get the job done.

most fruit juice stalls are manned by lao uncle with face like Goh meng seng who looks like they cant even hold a job outside valet parking at mandarin oriental,i suspect business margin is not that good they wouldnt be able to afford additional manpower like PRC SYT from secondary schools to peddle their goods on that margin.....very cost intensive and only applicable to establishments who have other income revenues like restaurants or casinos.

ontheA1

I initially thought about Nasi Lemak as it is popular dish and you can start small and add on. Its the chill that stumped me. That is also another secret recipe. And you have do it yourself or else your asst will,open his own stall.

Yes for nasi lemak the ingredient that can make or break you is the chili. The other items such as the chix wings, fried egg , fried ikan bilis are important but not as much as the chili. So the best way is to try this is to do at home first and use family , neighbours and friends to try out your chili.

Otherwise mee siam and kway pai tee is also good to sell.

independentdirect

Actually you got a great idea. There is no law or restriction for stall asst to wear bikini top and mini skirt to sell food. The fruit juice is also easy and good money. With out hot climate, I reckon that we have not maximised its value yet. Can get school girls on part time basis and on shift. They will appreciate the pocket money. Housewives will only complain if its PRC who are after their husbands.

You put those kind of poly/ITE syt there, wear sports bra and FBT shorts, not thirsty I also become thirsty.

This reminds of Charlie's at Changi Hawkers Centre. Had a great run. Cross between pub and hawker stall.

Chap not interested to make big money from his shop....imagine not opening for weekends.
made his money working in offshore oil and gas....

I initially thought about Nasi Lemak as it is popular dish and you can start small and add on. Its the chill that stumped me. That is also another secret recipe. And you have do it yourself or else your asst will,open his own stall.

Nasi lemak is one of the high margin profitability....
Relatively easy to churn out an edible version and marked up is high.

Talking about chio hawkers....anyone knows where Rangoon road chiobu rojak aunty went?
Our makan places lost and found...btw hate that show because of puke inducing vomit singh

This reminds of Charlie's at Changi Hawkers Centre. Had a great run. Cross between pub and hawker stall.

Enjoyed the friendly atmosphere at Charlie's Corner back then.. TV showing live football games, reasonable cost of beer.. And the most important thing for me, the freedom to have a smoke while sitting at the table outside Charlie, enjoying your beer and watching the live EPL game.. And the cool sea breeze...Thats whats made the place different from the rest of the pubs at Changi Village..

knowwhatyouwantinlife

Nasi lemak is one of the high margin profitability....
Relatively easy to churn out an edible version and marked up is high.

Best is to own a stall, but nowadays very difficult and unaffordable...

The best markup is baking cakes...one slice nowadays is $5 average, one cake sells for about $40, cost price not more than $12, can even
bake and sell from home (allowed by HDB), everyday is someone's birthday, everyday you need a cake to celebrate something, also no need to see bf lunch or dinner crowd...

Next highest profit margin would be baking bread and fruit juice, but these 2 need to sell many quantity, profit margin low unless sell in school or you own the stall...

Fishypie

Enjoyed the friendly atmosphere at Charlie's Corner back then.. TV showing live football games, reasonable cost of beer.. And the most important thing for me, the freedom to have a smoke while sitting at the table outside Charlie, enjoying your beer and watching the live EPL game.. And the cool sea breeze...Thats whats made the place different from the rest of the pubs at Changi Village..

Plus the Beavies of Bapoks Loitering nearby the HDB bLocks; waiting for a sLurp your Ice-Creams..:biggrin::eek:

Best is to own a stall, but nowadays very difficult and unaffordable...

The best markup is baking cakes...one slice nowadays is $5 average, one cake sells for about $40, cost price not more than $12, can even
bake and sell from home (allowed by HDB), everyday is someone's birthday, everyday you need a cake to celebrate something, also no need to see bf lunch or dinner crowd...

Next highest profit margin would be baking bread and fruit juice, but these 2 need to sell many quantity, profit margin low unless sell in school or you own the stall...

the cake shops and bakeries in australia are mindblowing,their cakes are like works of art........singapore cakes?expensive,generic and crap.

most lucrative is still selling kopi n drinks. the reason is simple. you can only select 1 or at most 2 dishes per person but most likely you will grab a coke or something.

n if you r out passing time, beer is a must and food is not a necessity. some of cos went out of the way to collect 4D and horse bets legalized by your neighborhood amh pai. beer with free promotion by chio bu adds an extra pair of hands to help deliver drinks for you.

ciggie also another high value item.

in all, the most profitable biz.

Loved the alfresco style and the easy going style plus the wings. Sadly strike rate when it is open is poor so did not bother to make the drive.

not to mention see all those ah guas. I heard a few pinay pubs opened there.