• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Wanted: Companies with an eye for doers, not degrees

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/wanted-companies-with-an/1319264.html

SINGAPORE: Armed with a diploma, Mr Muhd Munir Ahmad could have gone on to pursue a degree at the new Singapore Institute of Technology university. But the Temasek Polytechnic graduate decided instead to join Rolls-Royce as a technician in 2011.

"I was given the opportunity to be a trainee technician in Rolls-Royce. At the time, Rolls-Royce just started this facility in Singapore so I felt that it was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to be part of the pioneer batch to help set up this facility and learn more from it," he explains. "I always figured that I could study for a degree later, after gaining some work experience."

Three years on, he is now a test engineer, working on engines that are used in aeroplanes like the A380.

Opening up more opportunities and pathways for ITE and polytechnic graduates like him was one of the key themes of Sunday's National Day Rally. The ASPIRE committee was set up last year to look how to help polytechnic and ITE students get into the right jobs and move up the career ladder. It will announce its recommendations in the next few weeks. A new tripartite committee will also be set up, involving the Government, employers and unions. One of its roles is to promote industry support for individuals to advance based on their skills.

Meanwhile, companies like Rolls-Royce have been diversifying their talent pool as a means of staying competitive. Said Dr Bicky Bhangu, Senior Country Manager of Rolls-Royce Singapore: "When you look at the broader spectrum, we would need all sorts of skills for our organisations. We have worked with academic institutes like the ITE because they offer the foundation of the skills from which we can develop qualified technicians. That's important for us because we need practical skills as well as the analytical skills."

Rolls-Royce employs over 2,000 workers in Singapore and the majority are non-graduates. It also opens up 30 internship positions for ITE students annually and provides scholarships under an agreement with ITE.

In 2010, the company signed an agreement with the ITE for the provision of core skills in aerospace manufacturing. It also signed a Memorandum of Understanding to develop specialist Precision Engineering Workforce Skills Qualifications (WSQ) in collaboration with the Singapore Workforce Development Agency (WDA). Under this agreement, Rolls-Royce offers scholarships to five students each year. These students would also take up internships and, upon graduation, have the chance to take on technical roles within the company.

In his Rally speech, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong cited examples of those who have climbed their way to the top using unconventional routes. One of the people he mentioned was Mr Abu Bakar, an assistant safety officer who rose through the ranks.

He joined Keppel Shipyard as a diploma-holder and now manages the company's joint venture in Qatar. He is Chief Executive Officer of its Nakilat-Keppel Offshore and Marine, a joint venture in Qatar specialising in solutions for gas carriers and offshore structure.

For him, paper qualification is not a means to an end. "Education has its own merits," he said. Using just a university degree as a benchmark for performance can actually deprive one of an opportunity to see a person's potential, he believes. "And I'm very glad Keppel looks at it that way, whereby all of us are equal. At the end of the day, what matters is your performance."

- CNA/xy

How come govt did not take the lead? As usual ask private sector to do things they don't want to do themselves.

propaganda 2 brainwash sinkies 2 settle 4 2nd best ...

2 wok their tok, ah loonz gahmen shud stop ze skolarship skim ...

actually, on a serious note, it's not a bad thing that they focus more on diploma and ITE holders. i have friends who graduated from ITE, then poly and university. these bunch of pple are more hardworking than those air-level. however, i noticed the graduates from this 1st route has poorer command of english.

i see this move to rid out the jiak liao bees graduate cronies who know nothing about their work, everyday politicking and por lumpar, and to reward those who are real craftmen in their trade. overall, it's a good move.

I suspect that this direction to discourage people from going for uni education is because most of the top notch jobs are taken by foreigners.

Therefore, there will be a lot of discontent if there are many overqualified undergraduates, but shit jobs available.

this is another reason, whenever leeder spoken about it in rally, it's all a move that have been calculated by them for a long time.

I suspect that this direction to discourage people from going for uni education is because most of the top notch jobs are taken by foreigners.

Therefore, there will be a lot of discontent if there are many overqualified undergraduates, but shit jobs available.

singaporeans should start looking into other avenues of obtaining wealth,like marching and protesting for $16/hr minimum wage.

GramStroker

Sinkies deserve what they get. When pinky rehashes his feel good speech once a year, sinkies swallow it hook, line and sinker.
Remember tiptop curry puff man?

Wake the fuck up. If hawker can drive merc, study ITE for what?

last time, i also ponder about this before, if a hawker can wear gold chains and drive merz, what for study? but the more you study, the more you understand about the how pple make "gao lan(dog penis in hokkien)" is going around this world.:rolleyes:

Sinkies deserve what they get. When pinky rehashes his feel good speech once a year, sinkies swallow it hook, line and sinker.
Remember tiptop curry puff man?

Wake the fuck up. If hawker can drive merc, study ITE for what?

last time, i also ponder about this before, if a hawker can wear gold chains and drive merz, what for study? but the more you study, the more you understand about the how pple make "gao lan(dog penis in hokkien)" is going around this world.:rolleyes:

what is gao lan?

looneytan

actually, i have friends who graduated from ITE, then poly and university. however, i noticed the graduates from this 1st route has poorer command of english.
You should ask your this group of friends to join this forum, over here we have Singlish Exterminator who can help to guide them to the correct path

when a person say you "pee gao lan", means that you "chut pattern", just like in this corporate jungle. you can see a lot of investment scams, sinkies are easily taken in cos' they cannot see thru their tricks, mostly because they lack the knowledge. so i was saying, the more you study, the more that you will see thru these kind of tricks being pulled off infront of you.

what is gao lan?

when a person say you "pee gao lan", means that you "chut pattern", just like in this corporate jungle. you can see a lot of investment scams, sinkies are easily taken in cos' they cannot see thru their tricks, mostly because they lack the knowledge. so i was saying, the more you study, the more that you will see thru these kind of tricks being pulled off infront of you.

U need to study to a certain level not to be easily conned. But if u study too much, u get too gullible.

this will depend on the kind of knowledge you are absorbing, just like i am exchanging pointers with everybody here. it's enhancing my knowledge. this is a info rich knowledge based forum and i am enjoying myself, quenching my thirst for knowledge...be it sex or some health and investment advice.:o

U need to study to a certain level not to be easily conned. But if u study too much, u get too gullible.

U think so?let me ask u who come up with these elaborate scams?who come up with these laws and policies that screw daft and stupid sinkies over and over?its the smart and intelligent people who study a lot.who created City harvest church?these people go to RI and Cambridge and MIT and graduate and come up with ways how to fuck the masses over.

let me tell u when i saw my marine parade candidate for the PAP for the 2011 general elections doing his rounds,the minute i saw his face,that smug,big forehead,highly intelligent,scholarly,im a superior human being,medical school graduate face.....straight away i knew im gonna get fucked so deep and hard till i squeal like a pig being sodomised by Dr mahatir.Its like guys bring out the ball gags and the band and trumpets and lets get some ass raping music started!!!!bring out the gimp!!!

[video=youtube;9IPzwiKk0BE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9IPzwiKk0BE[/video]

U think so?let me ask u who come up with these elaborate scams?who come up with these laws and policies that screw daft and stupid sinkies over and over?its the smart and intelligent people who study a lot.who created City harvest church?these people go to RI and Cambridge and MIT and graduate and come up with ways how to fuck the masses over.

U are referring to general population not a small subsection