• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

So is housing Investment or Consumption?

phouse3

If housing is an investment, then you should unwind your investment (CPF) in order to spend during your retirement years. If you want to bequeath your investment (CPF), it means there is someone to take care of you. Then you should not ask for handouts in the name that CPF is not enough. Moreover, your children are not allowed to keep 2 flats. It is definitely a bequeath of financial asset and not a home of sentimental value, unless your children are staying in the flat.

If housing is a consumption like some bloggers preach that our flats are not freehold and we are in fact paying 99-year advanced rents. Then you should terminate the portion of the long lease that is expected to outlive you. You can't bring unconsumed rents to heaven/hell nor can you assign them to relatives.

Please do not claim CPF money is not enough if for some strange reason you insist on keeping a rental-agreement that is longer than your remaining life. It is even stranger to reject short-lease alternatives like studio apartments, retirement villages and lease buy back that allow you unwind from long rental-agreement all in the name of sentimental value.

Short-lease alternatives are not popular now because the finance stinks. It is like kena robbed by the nanny. Changes will have to be made. Also, the full course of 10-year CPF withdrawal deferrment was completed just last year. Some aunties/uncles will start howling at the CPF Board when they realised they can't get back their money. Monetisation of HDB flats is a necessity.

If income is either consumed, saved or taxed, then our problem is we are saving too much. It includes the government as excess taxes = government savings. That's how reserves have been building up. We should give funny look to those people who tell us to invest (S=I as textbooks tell us) more or longer in higher risk products that promise higher returns.

The same people are also against Minimum Wage whilst claiming $1,200 annuity payout is inadequate:
- Imagine you are a toilet cleaner earning $700 (gross). How many months of work are required before you can see a payout of $1,200 (tax/expense free)?
- Imagine you have no income. Even a $600 payout is a luxury. Your smile would be all teeth and no eyes.
- Imagine you are on social welfare. With $1,200, your smile would be bigger than a banana. You need not have all 3 meals at the hawker centre. Vivian will say you can afford to go to a restaurant once in a while.

It is not mathematically possible for CPF to pay out more than our monthly salary unless our working period is very much longer than our retirement period. No wonder, we have to work till we drop dead. No wonder some people resort to selling promises of higher returns from riskier assets. No wonder GIC bought toxic assets hoping to make a few folds return.

What has changed so much that our CPF exploded from $52 billion in 1993 to $260 billion in 2014 and still deem not enough? Are inflation and longevity the reasons? Do the excuses make sense at all?

Let's do some reverse thinking. So what happened in 1993 when CPF was just $52 billion? Did Singaporeans drop dead at 55 due to shorter life-span? Did they have to sell their flats and live on the streets? Did retirees die of hunger?

soIsee

Reverse thinking?

Sorry hor Sinkie.

Someone had said and kept saying they will DO the thinking FOR YOU!

So shut the fuck up and follow what you are told or...

GROW SOME BALLS and then we will talk! LoL

What leasing? Sinkieland is a home-owning country okay! Highest percentage of home ownership in the world. :wink:

[video=youtube;zY2hGdl_ArI]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zY2hGdl_ArI[/video]

Dark Knight

So long as you are a Sinkie and choose to live in Sillypore, you won't get to own any HDB house or a car even if you have "fully paid up".
You are only renting a house to stay and renting a car to drive from the Sillypore gahbrament.

i have a question about CPF.....we have grown CPF assets from $50 billion in 1980s to $300 billion today,but the number of old people in singapore has not grown that significantly.....assuming 25% of the population is of old age.....in 1980s we have about 520k old people while in 2014 we have about 800k old people(excluding PRs and temporary pass workers).......

however cpf assets have risen by nearly 500%......assuming our cpf is able to generate about 4% returns if invested privately and properly......in 1980s we would have a passive income flow of $2 billion a year to feed 520k old folks,while in 2014 we would have about $12 billion a year to feed 800k old folks......are u telling us $12 billion a year is not sufficient to feed and clothe all the old people in singapore?

since cpf is already a "forced" retirement tax on every citizen.....why dont we just pool all the taxes together into one big pension fund and use the capital to take care of the elderly?why the fuck do we have individual accounts?so the government can fuck with you and channel more of ur cpf funds into the HDB ponzi?so government can fuck with u and restrict ur CPF monies until ur 65 and hope u die before that so they can claim every penny for themselves?

The best thing about property investments is that you can make it whatever you want it to be.

While you live in it it's consumption. When you rent it out it becomes an asset. It's always a hedge against inflation either way and if you buy in an established locality where land will always be scarce, it's a fantastic long term investment.

The best thing about property investments is that you can make it whatever you want it to be.

While you live in it it's consumption. When you rent it out it becomes an asset. It's always a hedge against inflation either way and if you buy in an established locality where land will always be scarce, it's a fantastic long term investment.

im sorry but u can only choose it to be consumption or an investment at one time,u cannot have both,if u choose to live in it and raise a family,then ur forgoing the income or u can choose to rent ur flat out and go live in JB in which case u need another abode.....unless u are that crazy sinkie that tries to cram 4 PRCs and 2 pinoys into his HDB flat and sleeps on the couch.

greenies

So long as you are a Sinkie and choose to live in Sillypore, you won't get to own any HDB house or a car even if you have "fully paid up".
You are only renting a house to stay and renting a car to drive from the Sillypore gahbrament.

Exactly, they are leased for 99 years and 10 years lifespan.
Some industrial properties are merely 30 years leasehold because they are made to be affordable.

greenies

Exactly, they are leased for 99 years and 10 years lifespan.
Some industrial properties are merely 30 years leasehold because they are made to be affordable.

In future, very near future, HDB flats could be made with 60 years leasehold as they will be very much unaffordable for young generation to buy a 99 yrs lifespan.

im sorry but u can only choose it to be consumption or an investment at one time,u cannot have both,

Of course you can. I bought my first house to live in which made it consumption. When the CPF scheme was liberalised in 1981 to allow the funds to be used to purchase private property, I bought two small condo units which were investments.

When I left the country, all became investments plus all them provided a great hedge against the inflation which was rampant in the mid 80s.

sochi2014

My Econs Professors always tell us!

Depending on which Timeline you bought, Housing is a Hedge against Inflation, which is very true until the Bubble Burst.

Meanwhile go ahead and enjoy it lah! Hehe!

My Econs Professors always tell us!

Depending on which Timeline you bought, Housing is a Hedge against Inflation, which is very true until the Bubble Burst.

Meanwhile go ahead and enjoy it lah! Hehe!

Yes but new bubbles always come along which are invariably bigger than the last one so as long as you're not overstretched, nothing beats property.