• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Graciousness and tray return - the issues in a nutshell

Thick Face Black Heart

Here's a summary of the issues, after reading the views of many here.

(a) Singaporeans are often blamed for lack of graciousness and in this case, the govt has cleverly exploited this to guilt-trip the gullible.

(b) Tray return is a considerate and hygienic act in itself. No one questions that.

(c) However, note that in Singapore, the NEA charges stall operators anywhere from $200 to a whooping $600 for cleaning services. In other words, the cleaning service has been paid for by the stall operators themselves.

(d) That being the case, don't you think it is disingenuous for the govt to turn tray return into a courtesy campaign when money is already changing hands?

(e) Let's not forget that the cleaning companies are also profiteering and they are not hiring locals but hiring foreigners on the cheap. Why help these bunch of cronies make money under the guise of courtesy? Singaporeans are not even benefiting from the arrangement.

(f) The govt uses its grassroots organizations to rope in school children - for crying out loud - to pass stickers to patrons and help the government guilt-shame them. This is abhorrent on the part of the G and its crony grassroots.

Must teach children to be considerate. Otherwise they become spoilt brats, especially the rich ones with lousy parents. :wink:

enterprise2

(a) Singaporeans are often blamed for lack of graciousness and in this case, the govt has cleverly exploited this to guilt-trip the gullible.

(b) Tray return is a considerate and hygienic act in itself. No one questions that.

(c) However, note that in Singapore, the NEA charges stall operators anywhere from $200 to a whooping $600 for cleaning services. In other words, the cleaning service has been paid for by the stall operators themselves.

(d) That being the case, don't you think it is disingenuous for the govt to turn tray return into a courtesy campaign when money is already changing hands?

(e) Let's not forget that the cleaning companies are also profiteering and they are not hiring locals but hiring foreigners on the cheap. Why help these bunch of cronies make money under the guise of courtesy? Singaporeans are not even benefiting from the arrangement.

(f) The govt uses its grassroots organizations to rope in school children - for crying out loud - to pass stickers to patrons and help the government guilt-shame them. This is abhorrent on the part of the G and its crony grassroots.

Good points. I agree that the connection between cleaning services charges and tray return campaign should be made clearer so that people don't feel shortchangec or manipulated. Or a drastic solution is do away with cleaners and force people to really clean up!!

Thick Face Black Heart

One last point:

(g) Many comparisons are made to Europe and North America. Good to know that over there, tray return is done without question - and kudos to them. Now, can anyone enlighten us whether stall operators there are charged a fee by the government for cleaning, and the Govt then parcels out the cleaning chores to its crony companies, which in turn then displaces locals and hires foreigners on the cheap? Perhaps someone can tell us whether the same arrangement happens there as well.

wMulew

Dumbfuck opposition supporting retard. The whole tray return campaign was an initiative to relay less on Foreign labor. Local cleaners are almost impossible to hire meaning just about all cleaners are Foreigners. NEA came up with this campaign so that we need depend on them less. U bumbling retards complain about Foreigners all day every day yet when initiatives to counter the need for foreigners are roll out, U go out of your way to condemn them

Thick Face Black Heart

Good points. I agree that the connection between cleaning services charges and tray return campaign should be made clearer so that people don't feel shortchangec or manipulated. Or a drastic solution is do away with cleaners and force people to really clean up!!

Perhaps you are right.

I'm trying to see the issues in a nutshell, and not to downplay the fact that tray return by itself is a good act. The problem with our G is they want to make money everywhere, and its not locals who end up benefiting!

Clear your table as best as you can, so that the next ordinary chap looking for a seat in a crowded food establishment, can have his meal too. :wink:

Be considerate to others who may not be your family members, cronies or party members! :wink:

Thick Face Black Heart

Dumbfuck opposition supporting retard. The whole tray return campaign was an initiative to relay less on Foreign labor. Local cleaners are almost impossible to hire meaning just about all cleaners are Foreigners. NEA came up with this campaign so that we need depend on them less. U bumbling retards complain about Foreigners all day every day yet when initiatives to counter the need for foreigners are roll out, U go out of your way to condemn them

Oooo, welcum! It's an honour.

If you want an initiative to reduce dependency on foreign labour, please tell YOUR Govt to reverse its policies regarding immigration & naturalisation, and also please tell YOUR Govt to order its own crony GLC to hire locals, and also please tell YOUR Govt that its Fair Consideration Framework is a load of bull that nobody buys.

Cum Siah, Cum Siah.

imagery

It is not going to be easy to force certain groups of people to clear their tables if they insist on being stubborn viz the elderly, the young, the quarrelsome ah sohs and of course the ever priveliged Mats.

Thick Face Black Heart

It is not going to be easy to force certain groups of people to clear their tables if they insist on being stubborn viz the elderly, the young, the quarrelsome ah sohs and of course the ever priveliged Mats.

Nothing to do with "forcing" Singaporeans to be gracious. The problem lies with the patronizing attitude of the government. Note that money is already changing hands (see my first post) and we are not told this, but instead told that this is about courtesy and grace.

The government can go fly a kite!

Be considerate so that you can help make the lives of your fellow ordinary sinkies easier. Don't just think about making money and winning friends and influencing people. :wink:

imagery

Nothing to do with "forcing" Singaporeans to be gracious. The problem lies with the patronizing attitude of the government. Note that money is already changing hands (see my first post) and we are not told this, but instead told that this is about courtesy and grace.

I agree with your take and summary of this issue, I was merely replying to the last sentence of his post about the drastic action of forcing people to clean up. That just wont work out.

Forcing won't work but you can teach your children to be considerate to others who are not your family members.

It will be much more pleasant for the world when the world needs to deal with your children. :wink:

I agree with your take and summary of this issue, I was merely replying to the last sentence of his post about the drastic action of forcing people to clean up. That just wont work out.

Thick Face Black Heart

Yeah. Forcing does not work. It has to be part of the culture and has to be bred over time. Singapore as a country is still in its adolescent stage and much growing up left to do

Civil disobedience sinkie style....
Lets start with NOT clearing the trays.....better still if can dump leftovers on the floor.....
Hope to see this pap campaign fail big time.....then vile pappies to enact law and impose fine or corrective work order....this will piss even more people off.....
No need to be considerate and gracious to FTs and gong cheebyes 60.1%....

soIsee

In short.

That fucking bastard had already collected the money and not only did not take responsibility for doing what had been paid but now use the guilty trip, to push that responsibility onto those who PAID HIM!

Sounds like these are also occurring in the health and every other sectors too!

That said.

Welcome and get screwed , Sinkie! LoL

Thick Face Black Heart

Please lah!! "....Singapore as a country is still in its adolescent..." bullshit!! In that case, we may never grow up!!

Why the pessimism? All adolescents grow up. Unless you believe SG has reached adulthood in terms of national identity and cultural belonging which I don't think so.

rusty

Civil disobedience sinkie style....
Lets start with NOT clearing the trays.....better still if can dump leftovers on the floor.....
Hope to see this pap campaign fail big time.....then vile pappies to enact law and impose fine or corrective work order....this will piss even more people off.....
No need to be considerate and gracious to FTs and gong cheebyes 60.1%....

Hey! I found someone with the same virus and from same kampong some more. (chup si lau)
That's the way man. No need to protest..do it within your mean and slow down everything those m'fuckers promote.

escher

You should have posted the original article a day later and see how many people here cry for venom and blood. The comparison is apt.

The use of primary school kids to do their bidding is shameful and disgusting. If you are a parent, would you consider this child abuse?

FUCKING PAP BASTARDS USING PRIMARY SCHOOL KIDS AS HUMAN SHIELDS LIKE THE FUCKING JEWS

dail-mail-idf-used-boy-as-a-human-shield.jpg

NEVER EVER FORGET IT IS THE FUCKING PAP WHO MAKE YOU INTO HAWKER ASSISTANT TO WAIT FOR YOUR FOOD TO BE PREPARED AND WAIT TO BRING YOUR OWN FOOD TO YOU.
IN HAWKER CENTERS IN MALAYSIA AND THAILAND, YOU ORDER YOUR FOOD AND THAT WILL BE DELIVERED TO YOU.

PART OF PAP PLAN TO GET YOU USED TO THEIR MIND CONTROLS
AND IN THE PROCESS, THEY STOLE OUR COUNTRY FROM UNDER OUR FEET AND RAPED HUNDREDS OF BILLIONS FROM US

AS IF THAT IS NOT ENOUGH, THEY WANT YOU TO RETURN THE PLATES AND TRAYS
NEXT THEY WANT YOU TO CLEAN UP AS WELL

A NEW FORM OF KEEPING STINKIES HEAD DOWN DOWN AND ARSEHOLES UP HIGH HIGH FOR PAP AND HAWKER CENTERS OPERATORS (ALL TIED TO CRASS LOOT PEOPLE) TO FUCK TO TIEW AND TO KAN

I RETURN MY TRAYS IN HONGKONG AND JAPAN AS THEY DO NOT HAVE THE FUCKING PAP THERE
IN STINKAPORE I ABSOLUTELY REFUSE TO DO THAT
ALL SINGAPOREANS MUST REFUSE TO DO WHAT THE FUCK PAP AND THEIR HAWKER CENTER OPERATORS WANT YOU TO DO

They continue to laugh all the way to their banks
And all the way back from their banks

HA HA HA HA
HEE HEE HEE HE HEEEE
HOO HO HOOO HO HO

Plotzensee_nooses.jpg

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Those who return are those that stay head down down and arseholes up high high to be tiew to be kan by PAP
those who ask people to return are those who want to see stinkes remain head down down and arseholes up high high to be tiew and kan by PAP