• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Returning tray equates to good manners?

This has come up before and has come up again. Let me blunt and extremely blunt. Only a moron thinks that returning a tray in a commercially run business is good manners. And only this govt can condition morons to this extent.

Initially I too thought it was the decent thing to do but realised that we are just lining the pockets of businessmen who exploit old folks.

What is bad manners is eating like a pig at a hawker centre and throwing bits of food and tissues indiscriminately on the table.

The govt should impose standards on hawker centres to ensure that tables are cleared quickly and to an acceptable standards or else fine these operators. You walk to any private or public hawker centre and you can see utensils piled high in public view and in public pathways, tables not cleared promptly and people standing by tables for it to be cleared. The situation is getting worse by the day.

Once you start fining these arseholes that manage to convince gullible morons to do their work, the faster and better service we will get. The hawkers who actually work hard can also have happy customers patronising them and have an good environment to work in.

And it's about time that we ask the American fast food joints who make enormous profits to clean up their mess with paid help.

We are not talking about some not for profit organisation here.

kingrant

Being transparent and accountable to citizens is also not only common decency but good manners and civilised behaviour.

enterprise2

This has come up before and has come up again. Let me blunt and extremely blunt. Only a moron thinks that returning a tray in a commercially run business is good manners. And only this govt can condition morons to this extent.

Initially I too thought it was the decent thing to do but realised that we are just lining the pockets of businessmen who exploit old folks.

What is bad manners is eating like a pig at a hawker centre and throwing bits of food and tissues indiscriminately on the table.

The govt should impose standards on hawker centres to ensure that tables are cleared quickly and to an acceptable standards or else fine these operators. You walk to any private or public hawker centre and you can see utensils piled high in public view and in public pathways, tables not cleared promptly and people standing by tables for it to be cleared. The situation is getting worse by the day.

Once you start fining these arseholes that manage to convince gullible morons to do their work, the faster and better service we will get. The hawkers who actually work hard can also have happy customers patronising them and have an good environment to work in.

And it's about time that we ask the American fast food joints who make enormous profits to clean up their mess with paid help.

We are not talking about some not for profit organisation here.

Really!! I suppose u think it's ok to mess up the toilets too!!

escher

That is ok
Because a turdhead like you will stick your cheebye face into there to lick up every bit of shit
the way you licking shit from smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY anus.

Shiok to taste for you hor!

FUCK OFF AND STICK YOUR HEAD BELOW WATERLINE OF PUBLIC TOILET BOWL
AFTER YOU CLEAN THE TABLES AND RETURN THE TRAYS OF THE NEARBY HAWKER CENTER

it's 2nd nature and habitual for long time residents to return trays where i am. only sinkie, viet, pinoy, hongkie, tiong, neh visitors and african americans leave dirty trays and tables as they are. it's all about upbringing and consideration for others in which sinkie, viet, pinoy, hongkie, tiong, neh visitors and african americans sorely lack. i don't see the same trashy behavior with taiwanese, japanese, korean, and european visitors in sf. :rolleyes:

THE_CHANSTER

Clearing and returning food trays is the right and proper thing to do. Go and visit any European or North American city and you will always see customers clearing their trays after their meals at food malls or fast food restaurants.

The sad fact that Sinkies are either too lazy or too indifferent to do so says more about their poor social and cultural upbringing rather than their table etiquette.

Thick Face Black Heart

it's 2nd nature and habitual for long time residents to return trays where i am. only sinkie, viet, pinoy, hongkie, tiong, neh visitors and african americans leave dirty trays and tables as they are. it's all about upbringing and consideration for others in which sinkie, viet, pinoy, hongkie, tiong, neh visitors and african americans sorely lack. i don't see the same trashy behavior with taiwanese, japanese, korean, and european visitors in sf. :rolleyes:

I will return my tray if i feel like it. When everyone else is doing so because they want to and not because they are TOLD to do so.

Take for example my fav Nasi lemak joint is Kukus at upper thomson. Free flow of rice plus you help yourself to whatever dish you want and pay at the counter. Stall keeper is middle aged minah whom I would gladly go to 3rd base if I had the chance. She's courteous, helpful, has pleasant disposition, nice personality, and too many superlatives to type here.

Everyone returns tray here not because they are told to do so, but simply because its part and parcel of the pleasant, cozy, relaxed environment Kukus has created. The place is spacious, airy, and the food is simply fantastic. The freshest ingredients, all well fried and yummy to the max. Plus that minah gives a shout 'thank you' when i return my tray and my heart skips a beat.

Not when you have plates, bowls and cutlery involved. Those are associated with disposal containers and the food is packaged to aid that.

The hawker centre is a whole different ballgame. The condition is getting worse. I have seen the tray returning HCs and the tables are not even ready to use with the trays returned,

Clearing and returning food trays is the right and proper thing to do. Go and visit any European or North American city and you will always see customers clearing their trays after their meals at food malls or fast food restaurants.

The sad fact that Sinkies are either too lazy or too indifferent to do so says more about their poor social and cultural upbringing rather than their table etiquette.

the hygiene awareness among sinkies is also appalling. i understand sinkie families have been dipping their personal chopsticks, forks and spoons in the same (common) dish of food and bowl of soup for generations, but for a sick relative to sit on the same table coughing and sneezing away openly at the food and dipping directly into the dishes and slurping straight from the large soup bowl is just too much. and to top it off, the sick relative is a pharmaceutical science graduate of nus! i had to be blunt and told the entire family off, to keep the sick separate, not to dine with others, wear a mask, and have separate utensils and cutlery to serve or dip from common plates and bowls. sinkies are in the 21st century but still living and dining in the 18th century. no wonder hospitals in sg are running out of beds. :rolleyes:

Thick Face Black Heart

the hygiene awareness among sinkies is also appalling.

Sadly gotta agree. I have seen people sneezing into buffet spread before.

Should have gone up and beaten the crap out of that guy. I told the waiter what just happened and he just acted blur. Think Sinkies also need a new set of balls in addition to hygiene education.

Timerty

The thing is that in Asia, there are people who are are paid to clear trays for customers. Why steal their rice bowl?

Why only demand to clear trays and not also clear the plates and bowls?

Suck ang moh cock mentality! Same as the no-plastic bag wednesday failed goon campaign!

S’poreans worried cleaners will lose job, refuse to clear their own tray
http://newnation.sg/2013/05/sporeans-worried-cleaners-will-lose-job-refuse-to-clear-their-own-tray/
Singapore will soon see more tray-return systems implemented in major eating places all over the island, according to the National Environment Agency.
However, there are concerns such an initiative will create undesirable results.
Zho Ho Lang, said she is not going to return any trays: “If I clear my own tray, I will deprive jobs to cleaners. If not, what would old people do? Retire?”
“And as a Singaporean, I believe providing employment is part of nation-building efforts. That’s what PAP does.”
Another regular foodcourt patron, Su Kah Chiak, said he is worried that if he clears his own trays, he will be helping politicians do their job and make decisions on their behalf.
“Our ministers already don’t know what to do with old people. So if we clear our own trays, we are only helping them to push more old people into the karang guni sector.”
But not all are against it.
One supporter of the tray-return scheme said: “The mass unemployment of old people will become an election issue.”

Not when you have plates, bowls and cutlery involved. Those are associated with disposal containers and the food is packaged to aid that.

it's deep-seated sub-culture and upbringing. when everyone else in ikea is returning their trays, loose plates, bowls and cutlery in east palo alto, only ghetto blacks, tiong's and neh's leave their atrocities behind. why would ghetto blacks, who have been long time residents of east palo alto, behave like fresh off the boat tiong's and neh's, and vice versa? it's not about reading signs and following directions or obeying etiquette rules. it's shameless disregard for others, even when they see poor immigrant latinos returning their trays. there's just zero shame. the shamelessness is like some who trash this site with thread after repeat thread when previous threads are already available for discussion. :rolleyes: :p

Physiocrat

Of course Returning tray equates to good manners.

Just llike returning CPF to old people .

Citizens have no manners because they learn it from their masters.

rusty

In the past I used to be very concerned but no more.
Why should I help to make this place comfortable for the FTs to enjoy?
We should be doing the opposite to chase them out!

eg. Fts and tourists are allowed to enter casinos without gambling but not for Singaporeans.
What kind of fucking logic is that?

We are born and bred here, played a part in building up this nation but at the end of the day the enjoyment part is taken away from us.

Fuck the PAP!

This has been going for years. Usually regular and older customers will return tray to certain stalls. Very common in the days where the hawker or his assistant has to clear their own dishes. Usually reserved for good or elderly hawkers. Voluntary and from the heart. Not to make money for some cleaning company that got links to some town councils.

I will return my tray if i feel like it. When everyone else is doing so because they want to and not because they are TOLD to do so.

Take for example my fav Nasi lemak joint is Kukus at upper thomson. Free flow of rice plus you help yourself to whatever dish you want and pay at the counter. Stall keeper is middle aged minah whom I would gladly go to 3rd base if I had the chance. She's courteous, helpful, has pleasant disposition, nice personality, and too many superlatives to type here.

Everyone returns tray here not because they are told to do so, but simply because its part and parcel of the pleasant, cozy, relaxed environment Kukus has created. The place is spacious, airy, and the food is simply fantastic. The freshest ingredients, all well fried and yummy to the max. Plus that minah gives a shout 'thank you' when i return my tray and my heart skips a beat.

In the past the hawkers had to clear and clean their utensils. They had no issues. Some of them engage assistants and split the costs among few of their hawker neighbours. Also no issue. We continue to have decent hawker centres and the local govt body will arrange for spring cleaning for the conservancy feed paid. Again no issues.

Then the government intervened and engaged cleaning companies that hired locals that did the clearing and cleaning for everyone. Again no issues.

These cleaning companies are not your one man show anymore. These are companies were the ones that first got rid of locals who used to draw about $1k in 1998.The salaries dropped to $600. Nearly 50% drop. No company will operate without a decent margins.

Just as all HDB Kopi Tiams are owned and operated by PAP cadres and associates, these companies are now in the same orbit and some are owned by them.

So the hawkers are not the only ones that are running a business in a HC. The cleaning company is also in business. So who do you think you are helping - the cleaning company or the hawker.

If the HC cleaning company says please help them by returning their trays you will not help. But they get the Government to say that it is good manners you suddenly think of Europe and North America. I have not seen a single food outlet in North America and Europe where customers return the tray with bowls, plates and cutlery.

I have not seen a single food outlet in North America and Europe where customers return the tray with bowls, plates and cutlery.

example ikea. they serve food and beverage with plates, bowls and cutlery on trays. of course there are countless other eatery examples where customers return china plates, bowls, and stainless steel cutlery on trays lock, stock and barrel. too many pics to post. please, it's time to get out of the frog well. :wink:

enterprise2

If the HC cleaning company says please help them by returning their trays you will not help. But they get the Government to say that it is good manners you suddenly think of Europe and North America. I have not seen a single food outlet in North America and Europe where customers return the tray with bowls, plates and cutlery.

Go to any foodcourt in Seoul or Tokyo or even HK and learn from them.

Thick Face Black Heart

Go to any foodcourt in Seoul or Tokyo or even HK and learn from them.

For SG foodcourts and hawker centres, I will forget about clearing my own tray.

Why should I? It is so hypocritical. They make it into some kind of courtesy programme, which by itself may not be a bad thing. But why should I work for free, at the behest of a government I detest, for a group of cleaning companies who are disposing of our local workers like waste and hiring foreigners on the cheap?

I will clear my stuff at fast food joints and my favourite eateries and that's all.