• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Kee Chiu wants to be PM

Chan Chun Sing: What if population falls below four million?

WHEN discussions here turn to Singapore's potential population size, numbers such as six million and 10 million have been bandied around.

But yesterday, Social and Family Development Minister Chan Chun Sing offered another possible figure: a population size of below four million.

"Strangely, when we talk about any number, there is another scenario - a number below four million... It is not inconceivable that we have a scenario where the transient workers or others may not find us so attractive," he said at the annual dinner of the Economic Society of Singapore (ESS).

He noted that Singapore's current resident population is just about three million, while the rest who make up the total population of 5.3 million are foreigners who come and go.

Immigration and integration remain key challenges going forward and Singapore's ability to attract the right kind of immigrants is not a given, he pointed out.

Mr Chan, recalling the Asian Financial Crisis in 1997, said that before it hit, there had been about 100,000 people in the queue for Housing Board flats.

But when the crisis hit, there was then a surplus of flats, in places such as Sengkang town.

"My sister got a unit in Sengkang. She had no neighbours for five years."

His point was that the Government had to not only plan for when there is an increase in the population size, but also for the possibility of a decline.

"I don't think people will say there is a number and we will go towards it. A lot depends on how attractive people find us as a place to work and live," he said.

He was asked by moderator Yeoh Lam Keong, vice-president of the ESS, at the dinner at the Mandarin Orchard Hotel, about what population size he thought would suit Singapore.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said last year at the end of the debate on the Population White Paper that he expected the population in 2030 to be "significantly below 6.9 million", while former chief planner Liu Thai Ker said Singapore should plan for a population of 10 million possibly by the year 2100, Mr Yeoh noted.

Mr Chan said "nobody knows" what Singapore's future population size would be.

With technological changes, the type and quality of housing would also change and the living environment we can build is open to possibilities, he said.

"Will it be 10 million? Will it be less or more? Nobody knows."

Asked by Nanyang Technological University economics professor Ng Yew-Kwang whether the Government could resist anti-immigration pressures, because immigration had "enormous advantages for Singaporeans", Mr Chan said there were economic, social and political considerations, and much depended on how well immigrants could be integrated.

"What we hope to do is, first and foremost, not focus on numbers, but ask ourselves what are the opportunities we need to create for our younger generation to fulfil their dreams and aspirations."

He added that even as Singapore was slowing down the inflow of foreign labour, "we are clear in our mind, we can never compete on numbers".

Mr Chan said "nobody knows" what Singapore's future population size would be.

He still displays his stupidity. He is a $68-million man and he is clueless on what will be sinkapore's population in the future?

whhy the fuck do we need another fucktard millionaire ministar to spew more garbage around?

cmon man u can hire 10 idiots from SBF to do the same for less than $10 a day.

Satyr

Kee Chiu is making a good point though. If you build a city for 5, 6, 7 million and nobody comes or people leave you will have a disaster on your hands. The important thing is to decide where to go and get people behind it.
The PAP has done the first ( mostly ) but has problems with the second.

Kee Chiu is making a good point though. If you build a city for 5, 6, 7 million and nobody comes or people leave you will have a disaster on your hands. The important thing is to decide where to go and get people behind it.

in the first place why do we want a city of 5,6,7 million people?we want a city of 4 million people.no retarded ministers to make retarded problems and there will be no retarded problems to solve.

Satyr

in the first place why do we want a city of 5,6,7 million people?we want a city of 4 million people.no retarded ministers to make retarded problems and there will be no retarded problems to solve.

Singaporeans have lost the battle to make this a city of 4 million. You have to fight the next battle not the past war. Transitioning to 4 million from the current population size is so fraught with risks nobody will undertake it. Not even if the government changes.

I wholeheartedly support Mr Chan. He comes from a poor family and is the product of a single parent environment. However, this did not prevent him from achieving greatness.

It also proves that meritocracy is alive and well in Singapore and that anybody can be a success in life if they put their minds to it.

escher

whhy the fuck do we need another fucktard millionaire ministar to spew more garbage around?

cmon man u can hire 10 idiots from SBF to do the same for less than $10 a day.

PAP is finished.
The stinking glue and terror that hold PAP together is that old fart smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY. LKY is about to die in days or weeks.
LKY will never allow good decent people into the PAP and good decent people will not want to get into the PAP. Those in PAP are the most corrupt and moral degenerates and moral bankrupts and moral filths that are being presented to stinkaporeans as moral compasses.
None of those in PAP work for anyone but that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY, to help him hold down Singaporeans to screw and fuck hundreds of BILLIONs from us all into smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds.
Maggots and cockroaches are appointed as ministers in parliament
Kangaroos are frolicking in High Court instead of being allowed to wander and roam about in the Zoo
They are there in PAP because LKY know that they are a bunch of self serving greedy bastards and scrapings of scums of society. To call them maggots cockroaches will be to insult real maggots and real cockroaches.

WE ALL ARE NOW WAITING FOR THE DEATH OF LKY IN COMING DAYS OR WEEKS.
WE ALL WILL YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AGAIN AND AGAIN DANCING SINGING ON TABLE TOPS AND STREETS
WE THEN WILL SEE THOSE IN PAP WITH SHARPENED KNIVES HOOTING ARSEHLOON A DOZEN NEW ARSEHOLES AND THE DEATH OF THE ENTIRE LEE KWA CLAN
WE THEN WILL PICK UP PIANO WIRES AND HANG ALL THOSE REMAINING PAP AND THEIR COLLABORATORS FROM LAMP POSTS AND SEE THOSE BASTARDS AND BITCHES DANCE.
AND HAPPINESS WILL RETURN TO OUR LAND.
AND STINKAPORE WILL BECOME SINGAPORE ONCE MORE.
https://www.torproject.org/about/overview.html.en

da dick

"My sister got a unit in Sengkang. She had no neighbours for five years."

His point was that the Government had to not only plan for when there is an increase in the population size, but also for the possibility of a decline.

how about "your shitty cardboard HDB flats are too fucking expensive for 3rd world bangladads and even most sinkies to buy"??? and then when you sell or rent them to bilionaire chinamen who don't even live in them, all you do is creat e an even bigger property bubble like in canada. captain obvious reporting!

enterprise2

Chan Chun Seng, it will be perfect if the population is below 4 million. Let this be your KPI ok? you achieve that i may consider voting you in! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

4m would be perfect!! We need to 'reverse engineer the landscape' though. Tear down buildings and put back the forests. Less crowds, less stress!!

hofmann

our aging population is a ticking time bomb. we are left with no choice but to boost our population through immigration if not we will eventually sink back into the kampong days.

PAP's plan A failed to get the support of the people.

i hope they have a good plan B.

escher

our aging population is a ticking time bomb. we are left with no choice but to boost our population through immigration if not we will eventually sink back into the kampong days.

PAP's plan A failed to get the support of the people.

i hope they have a good plan B.

There is already a very good plan B

HANG THE PAP BASTARDS AND SEE THEM DANCE UNDER LAMP POSTS
NECKLACE THOSE NOT FIT TO DANCE UNDER THE LAMP POSTS

They continue to laugh all the way to their banks
And all the way back from their banks

HA HA HA HA
HEE HEE HEE HE HEEEE
HOO HO HOOO HO HO

Plotzensee_nooses.jpg

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

PAP is finished.
The stinking glue and terror that hold PAP together is that old fart smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY. LKY is about to die in days or weeks.