• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore should plan for population of 10m

What's the point of growing the economy if little or none of it trickles down to the masses?

Anyone can 'grow' the economy by importing a horde of foreigners and spending on frivolous construction and vanity projects. But what good is it?

borom

IF Liu Thai Ker and his whole family stays in a HDB flat, commutes to work by public transport and eat in hawker centres like most Singaporeans, his words will have more credibility.

Pogba

IF Liu Thai Ker and his whole family stays in a HDB flat, commutes to work by public transport and eat in hawker centres like most Singaporeans, his words will have more credibility.

You mean No Porn Lui right?

Rolfes

What's the point of growing the economy if little or none of it trickles down to the masses?

Anyone can 'grow' the economy by importing a horde of foreigners and spending on frivolous construction and vanity projects. But what good is it?

Pointless.

dr.wailing

This government has no idea on what it's doing and only can operate with GDP growth in mind. They are incompetent, has not shown any ability to move the economy in the right direction and explore new areas unlike the early generation of leaders.

Exactly and do you know why they are SO incompetent?

The people who are running Sinkieland are President Scholars, SAF scholars, Colombo Plan scholars, Rhodes Scholars and what have you. They are only textbook and exam smart. These people can provide correct answers to exam questions.

What's one of the underlying assumptions here? One variable is being examined while all other variables are kept constant, ceteris paribus.

But we know that things don't work like that in the REAL world. Variables are changing ALL the time. That's why our exam-smart scholars who are running the present gabrament fumble.

But our leaders look at the experiences of other countries, especially the United Stasi of A. The USA has a long and rich history of immigration and its economy is the largest in the world.

So our leaders copy everything --what they learned from the American experience-- and tried to replicate it in Sinkieland.

*Negative* results of that "American experience" are slowly unravelling in Sinkieland.

p.s.: I avoided the word "disastrous" and chose *negative* instead.

dr.wailing

What's the point of growing the economy if little or none of it trickles down to the masses?....

Your above statement is based on the assumption that the PAP bothers to care for the masses.

If Pinky had really cared for Sinkies, would the Gini coefficient have inched closer to 1?

really.....i didnt know america is trying to grow their economy thru mass and low quality immigration.....also i didnt know america is following singapore style democracy and crony capitalism.....also i heard america has extremely strict anti trusts laws.....their corporations are not allowed to grow beyond a certain size.....here monopolies are beebadabadabom.......

[video=youtube;y6oXW_YiV6g]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y6oXW_YiV6g[/video]

Exactly and do you know why they are SO incompetent?

The people who are running Sinkieland are President Scholars, SAF scholars, Colombo Plan scholars, Rhodes Scholars and what have you. They are only textbook and exam smart. These people can provide correct answers to exam questions.

What's one of the underlying assumptions here? One variable is being examined while all other variables are kept constant, ceteris paribus.

But we know that things don't work like that in the REAL world. Variables are changing ALL the time. That's why our exam-smart scholars who are running the present gabrament fumble.

But our leaders look at the experiences of other countries, especially the United Stasi of A. The USA has a long and rich history of immigration and its economy is the largest in the world.

So our leaders copy everything --what they learned from the American experience-- and tried to replicate it in Sinkieland.

*Negative* results of that "American experience" are slowly unravelling in Sinkieland.

p.s.: I avoided the word "disastrous" and chose *negative* instead.

Oh but those elaborately done Pioneer Package videos seem to suggest that it does care.:wink: :rolleyes:

why they make all the advertisements in dialect but keep the name in english?

simi lanjiao is PG card and pioneer generation?say in cantonese and hokkien lah.wait the auntie think pioneer generation is some kind of magic word and PAP is giving money to everyone like santa claus and god of fortune.