• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

the inability to tolerate failures...

enterprise2

It's not failure that riles people up. It's the overall goals and targets that great sections of the pop do not agree in the first place. When people's lives r affected negatively, they r bound to whack the architects of the policies irregardless whether they succeed or fail in implementing those policies.

Spock

Everywhere people talking about tolerating failure - commencement speech, motivation speech, political speech

WE HAVE GONE SOFT! Just like our IPPT for softies!

FUCK FAILURE!

It is not failure that is the problem, it is the fear of failure. That is why you see the lack of accountability and the multitude of excuses. The lower the risk, the lousier the returns. If you always want to play it safe, you end up as an also-ran. Without having failed or always denying you have failed means that you will never recognise what is failure and by extension, you will never know what is true success. SG, as a society, have been taught to be afraid of failure because it has been drummed into our heads that failure is not an option. That means that when faced with options, we will pick the one that is least likely to fail, not the one that is most likely to succeed. Least likely to fail certainly does not mean that it is a success. It simply means that it is very unlikely to turn out to be the worst option but it also means that it is unlikely to be the best option. If the stakes are too high, then you put in place mitigation strategies in case of failure but taking the safest option every time is not going to lead to success. By being afraid of failure, we have lost the knowledge of how to handle failure.

LKY is someone who will not wimped out and choose the safest option but I cannot say the same for the current generation of leaders. That is the failure of LKY for not having built a proper system due to his ego and staying in power for too long.

numero uno

It is not failure that is the problem, it is the fear of failure. That is why you see the lack of accountability and the multitude of excuses. The lower the risk, the lousier the returns. If you always want to play it safe, you end up as an also-ran. Without having failed or always denying you have failed means that you will never recognise what is failure and by extension, you will never know what is true success. SG, as a society, have been taught to be afraid of failure because it has been drummed into our heads that failure is not an option. That means that when faced with options, we will pick the one that is least likely to fail, not the one that is most likely to succeed. Least likely to fail certainly does not mean that it is a success. It simply means that it is very unlikely to turn out to be the worst option but it also means that it is unlikely to be the best option. If the stakes are too high, then you put in place mitigation strategies in case of failure but taking the safest option every time is not going to lead to success. By being afraid of failure, we have lost the knowledge of how to handle failure.

LKY is someone who will not wimped out and choose the safest option but I cannot say the same for the current generation of leaders. That is the failure of LKY for not having built a proper system due to his ego and staying in power for too long.
well said. it can all be summed up in 1 word.... kiasu.

It is not failure that is the problem, it is the fear of failure. That is why you see the lack of accountability and the multitude of excuses.

the magical formula of holding the ministers accountable by rotating them around the cabinet used to work in the past. then what happened?

gingerlyn

our society at large had pride itself in being fast and efficient for such a long time that we have been incapable of tolerating the failures...

everything is supposed to be functioning perfectly at the push of a button and we left out any room to nurture those whom are slower and/or have erred...

much as the younger generation have higher IQ and better with gadgets, etc. they seemed like a bunch of socially disconnected lot. see? even i'm guilty of being intolerant of failures.

where does it end?

karma too lee hsien loong and lee kuan yew,
the most intelligent couple in singapore who gave births to retard albino

on the contrary, the pap elites have extremely high tolerance for failures.......no doubt about it, 100%, of their own kind. they are not called failures. they are called honest mistakes. ok, let's move on. :p

escher

on the contrary, the pap elites have extremely high tolerance for failures.......no doubt about it, 100%, of their own kind. they are not called failures. they are called honest mistakes. ok, let's move on. :p

Mistake not to dangle them to see if they can dance with elegance under the lamp posts

Plotzensee_nooses.jpg

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Michael Palmer's horny failings were not tolerated........................ :o:eek::biggrin:

soIsee

our society at large had pride itself in being fast and efficient for such a long time that we have been incapable of tolerating the failures...

everything is supposed to be functioning perfectly at the push of a button and we left out any room to nurture those whom are slower and/or have erred...

much as the younger generation have higher IQ and better with gadgets, etc. they seemed like a bunch of socially disconnected lot. see? even i'm guilty of being intolerant of failures.

where does it end?

It is not only an inability to tolerate failure. The ruling Sinkie put up so many rules of various kinds, that it simply stifles the ability of Sinkie to be creative, be more capable in doing rather than just OPEN THEIR BIG MOUTH and wayang and simply became BALLESS.

And now this same species are complaining about their own Master introducing Foreign species into their living environment.

This Sinkie specie need to be MADE EXTINCT, simply for becoming this way.

Pathetic.

why u say LKY not built a proper system?he built a system of total control,where every niche every crook and cranny of this country has been infested by LKY's footsteps.he has built the perfect system of exploitation,where singaporeans are taken advantage of systematically and methodically,and a flock of dumb and balless sheep that neither protests nor knows its being sheared and slaughtered!!!!!!

why u say LKY is a strong and brave man?he is nothing but a dictator,a coward.a man plagued by niggling worries,a man whose paranoid and surrounded by infinite enemies both real and fictional,look at all his imaginary communist friends from the 1950s to the 1980s!!!!!!......a coward who has to beg and grovel to the tunku and the british for help to save his political campaign,to throw his political opponents into jail under supposed alledged communist activisties!!!!people who used to work under him and in his political parties!!!!!men that were well regarded as members of society!!!!his greatest fear was being exposed by them and the truth!!!!!

what kind of great leader would say this upon their death beds,that they do not care what the young people of the country think of him,that he would be villified and justified for everythings hes done by "phds" and "researchers"?????thats a sign of a man whose afraid!!!!!!do u think bill clinton has to say that?do u think george washington and thomas jefferson the founding fathers of america has to say that?compare the system they built to the system LKY built!!!!!LKY is nothing but a crackpot and a nutjob!!!!!

what sinkies do is die die want face value, there is a hokkien saying: "ai see mai do, pai tao ai ho":rolleyes:

applies to boss sam also...hahah...lol...:biggrin:

hofmann

ISG, as a society, have been taught to be afraid of failure because it has been drummed into our heads that failure is not an option. That means that when faced with options, we will pick the one that is least likely to fail, not the one that is most likely to succeed.

excellent observation. just to add on, the opportunity cost of failure is too high in society. we are truly the victims of our own success.