• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tharman to Ngerng – GIC “pays no regards” to source of funds

[h=2]Tharman to Ngerng – GIC “pays no regards” to source of funds[/h]July 23
13:09 2014

?Print This Article
??by Andrew Loh ? 5 Comments

“GIC knows it is managing government assets, that is the Government’s mandate for the GIC. The mandate is irrespective of the sources of funds it manages… and the GIC (hence) pays no regard to what the source of funds is.”
That was the response given by Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister, Tharman Shanmugaratnam, to a question by blogger Roy Ngerng at a forum organised by the Institute of Policy Studies (IPS) on Tuesday.
Mr Ngerng had asked about the role of the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation Pte Ltd – or GIC – in managing CPF funds.
Mr Ngerng said that the GIC had said on its website last month that the GIC “did not know if it was managing CPF monies.”
What the GIC website said specifically was that “how the funds from CPF monies flow into reserves which could then be managed by either MAS, GIC or Temasek, this is not made explicit to us.”
The explanation was the answer to the question, “Does GIC invest CPF monies?”, posted on the GIC’s Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) page on its website.

The explanation seems to say that the GIC is unaware of the details of how CPF funds flow into the reserves, except through information from “public sources”.
This is puzzling, given that the Board of Directors of the GIC consists of several Government ministers – including Mr Tharman himself; DPM Teo Chee Hean; Mr Lim Hng Kiang, Minister of Trade and Industry; and Mr Heng Swee Keat, Minister of Education.
The Board is headed by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong as chairman.
And the Senior Adviser to the Board is former prime minister Lee Kuan Yew.

The answer to whether the GIC invest CPF monies was however, later changed to the following, after the controversy over the CPF emerged.
The new answer in fact explains how the CPF funds flow into the reserves which are then given to the GIC to manage:

So, in short, it would seem that the original answer given by the GIC was misleading, disavowing knowledge of how CPF funds flow into the reserves which are then given to the GIC to manage, even as Mr Tharman said on Tuesday that “the GIC pays no regards to what the source of funds is.”
But “paying no regard” is quite different from saying, essentially, that it did not know or was unaware of the source of funds.
Singaporeans would be concerned if the GIC, which Board consists of some of the most senior Government ministers, did not know how the CPF funds flowed into the reserves.
Surely, with the PM, and its two DPMs – one of whom is also the Finance Minister – on the Board, one would in fact expect that the GIC would know exactly how the funds flow into the reserves which are then given to the GIC to manage.
For if they did not know, then who would?
Another issue which the GIC and the Government might want to take another look at is how the GIC is accountable to the public.
Under its “Ensuring sound governance” page on its website, the GIC says [emphasis added]:
“The Government, which is represented by the Ministry of Finance in its dealings with GIC, neither directs nor interferes in the company’s investment decisions. It holds the GIC Board accountable for the overall portfolio performance.”

The obvious question one would ask is: The Prime Minister, who heads the Government, is also the one who heads the GIC Board as chairman, and his two deputies are also Board members of the GIC, along with two other ministers, and it has a former prime minister as Senior Adviser to the Board.
While the GIC accounts are audited every year by the Auditor General whose findings or report are submitted to the President, the question still remains – how does the Government take the Board of the GIC to account for its “overall portfolio performance” when the Board itself is also headed by senior leaders in Government?
Clarity on this will go some way in assuaging concerns about who are accountable to the public in how public funds are invested.

Leckmichamarsch

iin other words they do not know that their kopi C has coffee poweder in it............. how strange... how blatant
quit conning us, we are a lot smarter than you think now that we hv access to cybernews

rusty

I think this mama is capable of swallowing sperms and insists they are potato starch.

How could one goes to a casino to play big time in Baccarat doesn't know or give a fuck where the money in your pocket came from?

xingguy

[h=2]Tharman to Ngerng – GIC “pays no regards” to source of funds[/h]July 23
13:09 2014

?Print This Article
??by Andrew Loh ? 5 Comments

“GIC knows it is managing government assets, that is the Government’s mandate for the GIC. The mandate is irrespective of the sources of funds it manages… and the GIC (hence) pays no regard to what the source of funds is.”
That was the response given by Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister, Tharman Shanmugaratnam, to a question by blogger Roy Ngerng at a forum organised by the Institute of Policy Studies (IPS) on Tuesday.
Mr Ngerng had asked about the role of the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation Pte Ltd – or GIC – in managing CPF funds.
Mr Ngerng said that the GIC had said on its website last month that the GIC “did not know if it was managing CPF monies.”
What the GIC website said specifically was that “how the funds from CPF monies flow into reserves which could then be managed by either MAS, GIC or Temasek, this is not made explicit to us.”
The explanation was the answer to the question, “Does GIC invest CPF monies?”, posted on the GIC’s Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) page on its website.

The explanation seems to say that the GIC is unaware of the details of how CPF funds flow into the reserves, except through information from “public sources”.
This is puzzling, given that the Board of Directors of the GIC consists of several Government ministers – including Mr Tharman himself; DPM Teo Chee Hean; Mr Lim Hng Kiang, Minister of Trade and Industry; and Mr Heng Swee Keat, Minister of Education.
The Board is headed by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong as chairman.
And the Senior Adviser to the Board is former prime minister Lee Kuan Yew.

The answer to whether the GIC invest CPF monies was however, later changed to the following, after the controversy over the CPF emerged.
The new answer in fact explains how the CPF funds flow into the reserves which are then given to the GIC to manage:

So, in short, it would seem that the original answer given by the GIC was misleading, disavowing knowledge of how CPF funds flow into the reserves which are then given to the GIC to manage, even as Mr Tharman said on Tuesday that “the GIC pays no regards to what the source of funds is.”
But “paying no regard” is quite different from saying, essentially, that it did not know or was unaware of the source of funds.
Singaporeans would be concerned if the GIC, which Board consists of some of the most senior Government ministers, did not know how the CPF funds flowed into the reserves.
Surely, with the PM, and its two DPMs – one of whom is also the Finance Minister – on the Board, one would in fact expect that the GIC would know exactly how the funds flow into the reserves which are then given to the GIC to manage.
For if they did not know, then who would?
Another issue which the GIC and the Government might want to take another look at is how the GIC is accountable to the public.
Under its “Ensuring sound governance” page on its website, the GIC says [emphasis added]:
“The Government, which is represented by the Ministry of Finance in its dealings with GIC, neither directs nor interferes in the company’s investment decisions. It holds the GIC Board accountable for the overall portfolio performance.”

The obvious question one would ask is: The Prime Minister, who heads the Government, is also the one who heads the GIC Board as chairman, and his two deputies are also Board members of the GIC, along with two other ministers, and it has a former prime minister as Senior Adviser to the Board.
While the GIC accounts are audited every year by the Auditor General whose findings or report are submitted to the President, the question still remains – how does the Government take the Board of the GIC to account for its “overall portfolio performance” when the Board itself is also headed by senior leaders in Government?

Clarity on this will go some way in assuaging concerns about who are accountable to the public in how public funds are invested.

Accountability, PAP-style

The CPIB is under the charge of the Prime Minister's Office.
The same applies to the Elections Department which reports to Lee Hsien Loong.

10407072_598878110226604_6389140625965953989_n.jpg

10374888_671254016261250_8687565637852647984_n.jpg

rusty

PAP = Govt

Govt = Singapore

Therefore PAP = Singapore

Do you love Singapore?

xingguy

PAP = Govt

Govt = Singapore

Do you love Singapore?

Government = Ruling political party that garners the majority votes in an election

Therefore PAP ≠ Singapore

Thus, I love Singapore but hate the government :biggrin:

escher

PAP = Govt

Govt = Singapore

Do you love Singapore?

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

rusty

Government = Ruling political party that garners the majority votes in an election

Therefore PAP ≠ Singapore

Thus, I love Singapore but hate the government :biggrin:

and you don't believe election in Singapore is 'arranged' by the govt.

GRC, upgrading, deposits, injecting new voters disguised as population policy...etc.

xingguy

and you don't believe election in Singapore is 'arranged' by the govt.

GRC, upgrading, deposits, injecting new voters disguised as population policy...etc.

Yes, all those you have mentioned is the "dirty" tactics used by PAP and happens in Singapore.

The lost of Aljunied GRC has break the myth that GRC is a formidable obstacle that the opposition can never overcome.

Short of a revolution to overthrow the PAP, we can only use our vote wisely and hope that more of the 60% wakes up.

Afterthought: I was about to write that we have not seen blatant import of foreigners with newly issued ICs by busloads to vote like in Malaysia election. Then I realised that these foreigners are already in Singapore by the plane load :eek:.
Really WTF :mad:

DuYunQi

Tharma is hoping that idiots will buy his story.
How can a fund manager not know where the funds for investment come from? Remember that those in financial industry has to report any suspicions of money laundering.. GIC should be no different. If you don't know where the money comes from, how can you be sure it is legal? Just because the ministers tell you so?
Furthermore, I would think that if a person did not know where the moneies that she/he is investing with, will that not make that person feel less responsible and accountable and hence invest recklessly?
If one realizes that they are using hard-earned CPF money, and not just tax-payers money to invest, they would be more prudent and not go for risky investments, yes?

i hv previously assumed 7/8 of ministers r not worth paying 50cts.

he has to prove me wrong.

and validate that 8/8 of them r not worth paying 50cts.

Tharma is hoping that idiots will buy his story.
How can a fund manager not know where the funds for investment come from? Remember that those in financial industry has to report any suspicions of money laundering.. GIC should be no different. If you don't know where the money comes from, how can you be sure it is legal? Just because the ministers tell you so?
Furthermore, I would think that if a person did not know where the moneies that she/he is investing with, will that not make that person feel less responsible and accountable and hence invest recklessly?
If one realizes that they are using hard-earned CPF money, and not just tax-payers money to invest, they would be more prudent and not go for risky investments, yes?

This shiny crown/clown of a DPM thinks we are really daft.
Remember what he said about inflation?
Ordinary Sinkies should not worry about inflation? - it only affects those who buy cars.

And according to Dr Koh, it is necessary for a busy couple to have two cars. LOL ......................... :biggrin:

This shiny crown/clown of a DPM thinks we are really daft.
Remember what he said about inflation?
Ordinary Sinkies should not worry about inflation? - it only affects those who buy cars.

Asterix

Ah Neh Tharman and the entire PAP cabinet are horse tiger (Chinese for mediocre)!

[video=youtube;onlhbVasE94]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=onlhbVasE94[/video]