• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Did Malaysia recognise the rebel's Donetsk People’s Republic??

MH17 CRASH: Risk Malaysia PM took paid off, says WSJ

Malaysia Prime Minister Najib Razak has taken a risk that no European leaders would but this has earned him the international community’s admiration for his handling of the MH17 tragedy, says The Wall Street Journal.

In an article, it wrote that Najib took the risk, which was to send officials into a war zone to meet armed rebels whose government almost no one recognised.

“While European governments wrestled with how to get to the site without legitimising the rebels or risking security, Najib put aside diplomatic protocol and safety fears and sent his team,” it said.

The article quoted a source close to the Prime Minister’s Office as saying that what was key to Najib was the outcome of the move.

This resulted in the retrieval of bodies and black boxes from the separatist leaders at Donetsk.

“He was looking at people who controlled an area of land. And on that land was our plane, our bodies, our black boxes,” the source said.

The article said the success delivered a political victory for Najib’s government that was still reeling from missteps after the disappearance of a Malaysia Airlines plane in March with 239 passengers on board.

“But it also handed a gift to the rebels in the form of an accord, signed by the top Malaysian official present in Donetsk, calling the crash site ‘the territory of the Donetsk People’s Republic’,” it added.

The recognition, said the newspaper, could antagonise Kiev and Washington, which strove to not give any credibility to the rebels whose main leaders were Russians.

However, people close to Najib’s office said the dealings did not amount to recognition.

The article also said that Najib steered clear of joining many Western leaders in blaming the rebels for downing the airliner and preserved Malaysia’s traditional stance of not taking sides among the United States, Russia and China.

“Instead, he quietly began looking for a back channel to speak with the insurgents,” it said.

Najib, known as a calm and pragmatic mediator, managed to reach out to rebel leader Alexander Borodai, through an unidentified intermediary.

“Najib’s intervention resolved a diplomatically awkward situation, enabling the bodies to be retrieved and an investigation to be initiated,” it said.

http://www.asianewsnet.net/MH17-CRASH-Risk-Malaysia-PM-took-paid-off-says-WSJ-62743.html

this i think he learnt after decades handling moros, abu sayyafs, thai separatist, aceh rebels, many of whom now resides in malaysia.

what is this risk exactly?did NAJIB declare war on stalin and USSR and began operation Barbarossa?this is seperatists we talking about,a bunch of disorganized ragtag fucktard russkies skinheads wearing shitstained trackpants and pajamas and waving AK47s and shouting long live stalin!!!!long live the motherland!!!.what exactly are they going to do with a bunch of corpses and 2 black boxes?its not like they even have the technology to do anything with it.......

then comes along a mudland clown waving 10 million ringgit for pieces of garbage that fell out of a torpedoed plane.

steffychun

what is this risk exactly?did NAJIB declare war on stalin and USSR and began operation Barbarossa?this is seperatists we talking about,a bunch of disorganized ragtag fucktard russkies skinheads wearing shitstained trackpants and pajamas and waving AK47s and shouting long live stalin!!!!long live the motherland!!!.what exactly are they going to do with a bunch of corpses and 2 black boxes?its not like they even have the technology to do anything with it.......

then comes along a mudland clown waving 10 million ringgit for pieces of garbage that fell out of a torpedoed plane.

It's better than what PAP would have done.

not really,knowing PAP..... throwing money at problems and hoping it works is what PAP is good at.

poor terrorists got shortchanged big time,if they shot down SIA plane,god knows how many billions they could have got.....pinky lee would be down there begging pls!!!!!!!take all our cpf!!!!!take what u want!!!!!!PLEASE MR TERRORIST!!!!ILL SUCK YOUR DICK!!!!!!

Diplomacy is the word. You make friends with your enemies sometimes.

I agree with the Diplomacy.

But I am afraid Najib's citizen Tonychat will say that his own Government is ball-less for negotiating and recognising criminals who killed his fellow countrymen!!