• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore central bank made $15 billion profit from weak currency, $15 BILLION hor!

Romagnum

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/...ingapore-central-bank-records-S158bil-profit/

SINGAPORE: Singapore’s central bank posted a S$15.84bil net profit in its last financial year, helped by a drop in the local currency that led to valuation gains on its foreign currency holdings.

The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS), in its annual report issued yesterday, also reiterated that the economy was projected to grow 24% this year and kept its core inflation forecast unchanged at 23% for 2014.

But MAS managing director Ravi Menon told a news conference that it had lowered its forecast range for headline consumer inflation to 1.5%-2.0% from the previous 1.5%-2.5%.

The central bank’s net profit for the last financial year ended in March marked a turn around from a S$10.61bil net loss incurred the previous year, when the Singapore dollar’s rise diminished the value of its foreign currency holdings.

The net profit in 2013/14 came as the MAS made investment gains and foreign exchange valuation gains on its official foreign reserves (OFR), which totalled S$343bil at the end of March and make up more than 90% of the assets on the central bank’s balance sheet.

The MAS said its official foreign reserves (OFR) made total gains of S$16.5bil in 2013/14, reflecting investment gains of S$10.6bil and foreign exchange valuation gains of S$5.9bil.

In 2012/13, the OFR made investment gains of S$9.4bil, but had incurred foreign exchange valuation losses of S$19.5bil. — Reuters

Re: Singapore central bank made $15 billion profit from weak currency, $15 BILLION ho

i can only believe this typee of propaganda to be true if they release every ct of my cpf today.

Romagnum

Re: Singapore central bank made $15 billion profit from weak currency, $15 BILLION ho

I self employed, don't care about CPF, just pay the bare minimum into Medisave.

huh ?

Singdollar been gaining against major currencies mah.............

maybe the chow ah neh invested in monopoly money lah...........

Sam, I thought you said sinkapore currency very strong. What happened??????

No matter how much it earns, not a dime will trickle down to you.

Otherwise you would be well taken care of till the day you die, no need for minimum sum, CPF Life, Medishield Life.

The PAP govt only knows how to extract. Sinkies are its cattle, its batteries.

Equalisation

No matter how much it earns, not a dime will trickle down to you.

Otherwise you would be well taken care of till the day you die, no need for minimum sum, CPF Life, Medishield Life.

The PAP govt only knows how to extract. Sinkies are its cattle, its batteries.

Yes. To add insult to injury, the large in-flow of migrants are depressing the wages here. To us ordinary citizens, it is a continual struggle just to survive !:mad:

sinkie currency has to remain strong, it's just a knee jerk reaction, in no time, it will be up again.

Sam, I thought you said sinkapore currency very strong. What happened??????

sinkie currency has to remain strong, it's just a knee jerk reaction, in no time, it will be up again.

The currency has to be strong until the PAP elites have completed transfer of the wealth overseas. After that, the SGD can be as good as pun sai chua.

you got a point...my reason is simply we are not manufacturing but a financial hub.

The currency has to be strong until the PAP elites have completed transfer of the wealth overseas. After that, the SGD can be as good as pun sai chua.

Devil Within

MAS steal purchasing power from common Singaporeans by depressing the value of the dollar to make themselves rich!

Dragonhead

Yes. To add insult to injury, the large in-flow of migrants are depressing the wages here. To us ordinary citizens, it is a continual struggle just to survive !:mad:

For every foreigner imported to displace the sinkies, it will cause the affected sinkies, and possibly his family members as well, to vote against the papees in GE 2016. The papees are like using their own pricks to knock their own heads.

Dragonhead

SGD unlikely to become pan sai Chuah. MAS has got a certain forex band width to play and since internationalisation of the SGD is not permitted, MAS is still in control of this band width.

amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!MAS should teach every singaporean son how to make millions off forex trading!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

imagine u can make millions and billions of profit just by hedging against SGD the currency of ur own country and betting that it falls!!!!!!!

basically MAS CAN MAKE SGD turn to pang sai chua with a snap of a finger,MAS will make hundreds of billions even trillions....then MAS will use their USD to buy every single one of ur HDB flats because SGD is now worthless,UR bank accounts are worthless,UR CPF are worthless and MAS WILL EVERYDAY IM SHUFFLING SHUFFLING!!!!!!

PARTY RROCK IS IN THE HOUSE TONIGHT!!!!!!!!!!EVERYBODY JUST HAVE A GOOD TIME!!!!!!!!

[video=youtube;KQ6zr6kCPj8]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KQ6zr6kCPj8[/video]