• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SingTel & StarHub to ban Android Internet TV box.

god_zeus

if lee sian long dare to pass the law which make it illegal
immediately, havey norman, gain city and those big electronics retailer will employ a lawyer to sue loong

who is going to buy their smart TVs?

Clear cut case - Android box not illegal.

Recent Strait Times report quoted lawyers saying no law covering it.

If they want to make it illegal, they have to pass a new law.

For now, not illegal.

Clear cut case - Android box not illegal.

Recent Strait Times report quoted lawyers saying no law covering it.

If they want to make it illegal, they have to pass a new law.

For now, not illegal.

Passing law is easy peasy for vile pappies.....
They have changed and pass laws countless times to suit themselves

got any picture of android internet tv box ? how they look like ?

If you go to Sim Lim you will see plenty of vendors selling these "media players". They can cost from $50 to $300 depending on features e.g. Some units have a HDD to record the movies.

The android boxes are popular but you also have the Apple TV box & the Roku boxes. The choice of boxes really depends on what you want to watch. If you are interested in movies by Netflix, all the boxes will do that.

The important thing is you need a good internet connection e.g. Fiber connection.

The PAP has been squeezing us for years. Just look at the poor TV shows we have in Spore compared to our neighbours. A good example is that you had to pay $$$ if you wanted to watch the world cup:rolleyes:

If you live in the HDB ghettos ask the PAP why the TV aerials were removed?

With the internet we now have the technology to by-pass some of these PAP monopolies. I it's really up to the consumer to decide if they want to do it. Since I am upgrading to fiber the decision for me is obvious:smile:

hofmann

Parallel importing without the telcos getting their pound of flesh is always a crime.

Don't you already know the modus operandi of the PAP govt by now? If it isn't licensed, it's illegal because the govt doesn't get a cut of the cash. :wink:

such cynicism. i believe the gov will be more enlightened in this instance. parallel imports are not illegal.

If you're not cynical, you're not paying attention.

'Enlightened' is not an adjective to describe the PAP govt.

congo9

Instead of innovating, they are taking legal actions....sigh

They can't innovate. They have the rent seeking mentality. Apart from making money from innovative scheme, they are sitting ducks. Now you wonder our GLC is a sitting duck when dealing with businessman outside Singapore. They are being stripped off money.

In Singapore, they can use the law and change the constitution as they like in the name of legality. Just like the CEO of Singtel , she complained and moan that whatapp and Face book messenger is eating into her business to the whole business world. When things are into their advantage, they will call it market forces. When things are not in their favor, they will label it other wise. Such is the mentality of our CEO now. Mentality of a gate keeper.

Poomer

Won't be surprised there will be a new law concerning Internet TV box. After all, anything that eats into ST and Starhub's profit margin will piss off the big shots in GIC/TH. You see the fines that MDA hands out all these while, like slap on the wrist. Giving a million dollar fine to a company earning billions per annum is farcical. No wonder things don't change for the better.

If you go to Sim Lim you will see plenty of vendors selling these "media players". They can cost from $50 to $300 depending on features e.g. Some units have a HDD to record the movies.

The android boxes are popular but you also have the Apple TV box & the Roku boxes. The choice of boxes really depends on what you want to watch. If you are interested in movies by Netflix, all the boxes will do that.

The important thing is you need a good internet connection e.g. Fiber connection.

Got porn dedicated box?

JHolmesJr

If ban one internet box you have to ban all....even apple....think they will take it quietly?...i would support cable companies if they were reasonably priced...but streaming technologies allow things to be done at a far lower cost and at $10 a month for netflix it is a fuckin no brainer choice.

I watched the entire world cup...nearly every match on uk tv and cast it to my widescreen tv.....even the ads were better.....no fuckin andy and his whining about germany.

no need to buy from sim lim, just order online from tao bao, less than $50 a piece.

got one set at home but seldom use as always hang like PC streaming. only cctv channels work ok but those sports, especially BPL channels not really smooth.

also need to keep updating the Apps. but ok lah, many old movies, ang mo and Chinese, available inside. Even have doraemon cartoons.

xebay11

No need to ban or make illegal, they just put cap at 1GB for your internet plans and you are finished.

Fucktard you are losing the plot.
Please re read my post before you jump around like a mad dog.
My point is vile pappies can declare anything illegal if they want to....to benefit themselves.....it's always been like that.
You insist its not ILLEEGAL....and announce your blind faith in pappy going by the book with the law....and thinking you have a say in this.... that's plain gong cheebye because reality check your case however strong dun worth shit because pappies own the telcos and the kangaroos.
Pappies does what is best for themselves.

Bottomline....Me not bother to argue with you legal or illegal got more merits....me am sure pappies can declare illegal anytime to safeguard their interests. Me lost whatever faith with kangaroos in charge. Me just waiting to see show how they enforce when/if declared illeegal. You can carry on suck thumb harping on your faith in going against the pappy law and judiciary review

Not illegal means not illegal. You can imagine all the worst case scenarios for all you like, but only gong cheebye like you think PAP is GOD and can do everything and anything. That is fucked dumb thinking and fear mongering in my book.