• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SingTel & StarHub to ban Android Internet TV box.

kryonlight

SINGTEL AND STARHUB: WE DONT WANT PEOPLE TO USE FREE INTERNET TV SET TOP BOXES

SingTel and StarHub are complaining about the use of internet TV set top boxes, questioning whether they are actually legal.

The Pay TV providers are angry that the cheap set top boxes allow consumers to stream High Quality Internet TV for as little as $6 a month.

The low price of such programs and the wider variety of channels available is quickly threatening SingTel and StarHub's hold of the PayTV market.

The Android devices allow users to connect the set top box to the TV and the internet to directly stream many programs cheaply on their TV.

There are several shops in Sim Lim Square which sell the boxes quite cheaply and shop owners are reporting that they are selling as many as 10 boxes a day.

It is not only local PayTV providers that are complaining. International content owners such as Fox and TVB are also complaining about the android set top boxes.

Currently, it is unclear if these set top boxes are illegal.

They are entirely different from the illegal set top boxes that unscramble PayTV content, as they get all their content from the internet.

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
SINGTEL AND STARHUB: WE DONT WANT PEOPLE TO USE FREE INTERNET TV SET TOP BOXES

SingTel and StarHub are complaining about the use of internet TV set top boxes, questioning whether they are actually legal.

The Pay TV providers are angry that the cheap set top boxes allow consumers to stream High Quality Internet TV for as little as $6 a month.

The low price of such programs and the wider variety of channels available is quickly threatening SingTel and StarHub's hold of the PayTV market.

The Android devices allow users to connect the set top box to the TV and the internet to directly stream many programs cheaply on their TV.

There are several shops in Sim Lim Square which sell the boxes quite cheaply and shop owners are reporting that they are selling as many as 10 boxes a day.

It is not only local PayTV providers that are complaining. International content owners such as Fox and TVB are also complaining about the android set top boxes.

They are entirely different from the illegal set top boxes that unscramble PayTV content, as they get all their content from the internet.

Instead of innovating, they are taking legal actions....sigh

xebay11

Might as well ban the internet as well and fibre broad band, what is the use of faster broadband speeds if streaming and downloading is prohibited, sad to see a country revert back to the stone age just because some GLCs can't make money.

Once upon a time, when Napster first came out, the recording industries raged and raved against piracy and used legal action to shut it down.

After that, came forth plenty of P2P file sharing software, all of which became the precursor to digital content downloads (e.g. Steam, iTunes, Netflix).

The middlemen are always made redundant as technology evolves. Legal action is the last refuge of the helpless. It achieves nothing and merely delays the inevitable. :wink:

palden

Might as well ban the internet as well and fibre broad band, what is the use of faster broadband speeds if streaming and downloading is prohibited, sad to see a country revert back to the stone age just because some GLCs can't make money.

Well we have our own Great leader and Dear leader.

hofmann

the boxes should not be illegal. think of it as parallel importing of content.

kingrant

Ho ho ho....Now people come in and steal the lunch of our Family's businesses, they kpkb..Knnn..what about our lunches and dinners stolen by hordes of Indian locusts?

the boxes should not be illegal. think of it as parallel importing of content.

Parallel importing without the telcos getting their pound of flesh is always a crime.

Don't you already know the modus operandi of the PAP govt by now? If it isn't licensed, it's illegal because the govt doesn't get a cut of the cash. :wink:

Dark Knight

It's not the box maker but those content provider that could be spoiling the market.
If those content provider did pay their share of $$$ to get from the original source, it should not be illegal for any box to be sold.

Of course in Sillypore, the Red and Green provider always charge us high price for their crap service.
We got no choice but to look for other alternatives including free source.

It's not illegal. Don't spread nonsense here.

There is no thieving or desrambling of signals from payTV. It's all over the internet.

In fact, there is no fucking need for the android box. As long as one can get on the internet, these internet channels
are there.

Unless they ban the internet, but then if they do that, their internet business might as well close shop. Singtel and Starhub might as well file for bankruptcy then.

It's not illegal. Don't spread nonsense here.

There is no thieving or desrambling of signals from payTV. It's all over the internet.

In fact, there is no fucking need for the android box. As long as one can get on the internet, these internet channels
are there.

Unless they ban the internet, but then if they do that, their internet business might as well close shop. Singtel and Starhub might as well file for bankruptcy then.

Sure it's not illegal. But they'll do things like throttling bandwidth just to annoy you.

Then file a complain and refuse to pay the subscribed price. If they persists, then a letter to IDA will seal their fate.

If you think IDA will do nothing, you're wrong. There're still laws in this country and the telcos must follow, or they'll be fined.

They don't even throttle bandwidth for torrent users. They just threaten based on copyright infringement when there is a complain. Other than that, they can't do shit about how a subscriber's bandwidth is used.

If I don't get the bandwidth I subscribed to, I call the hotline everyday and threaten not to pay. If go to a court of law, when I've the evidence collected, they're fried.

Even if they declare it illegal I wonder how they going to enforce and police this....good to see this goons getting headaches

Fuck you lah, moron. Oredi told you it's not illegal. How do they declare it illegal if it is not? Use your fucked up blain, can or not, if you've one........useless piece of stupid shit!

Fuck you back la gong cheebye....
You say got any use?
If pappies kangaroos want to declare illegal to help the telcos you also lan lan la.
They can suka suka do things as this is lee's kingdom

Then file a complain and refuse to pay the subscribed price. If they persists, then a letter to IDA will seal their fate.

If you think IDA will do nothing, you're wrong. There're still laws in this country and the telcos must follow, or they'll be fined.

They don't even throttle bandwidth for torrent users. They just threaten based on copyright infringement when there is a complain. Other than that, they can't do shit about how a subscriber's bandwidth is used.

If I don't get the bandwidth I subscribed to, I call the hotline everyday and threaten not to pay. If go to a court of law, when I've the evidence collected, they're fried.

You talk cock la. You threaten got cock use?
IDA, telcos, kangaroo courts all one big happy family in sinkieland la
If you dunno this then you are the gongest gong cheebye

Fuck you back la gong cheebye....
You say got any use?
If pappies kangaroos want to declare illegal to help the telcos you also lan lan la.
They can suka suka do things as this is lee's kingdom

Your type of gong cheebye is really beyond redemption.......you're inviting ass-fucking
because you think the laws can suka suka change without proper judicial review.

It's fucked up gong cheebyes like you that sow fear all around, when clearly and plainly it's not illegal, yet
you cum here talk fucked shit nonsense to frighten people. Go fuck spiders lah, moron.

You talk cock la. You threaten got cock use?
IDA, telcos, kangaroo courts all one big happy family in sinkieland la
If you dunno this then you are the gongest gong cheebye

Fuck you ok, gong cheebye. That is what I did and I'm speaking from experience, not unwarranted fear mongering
like you gong cheebye always do here. Go fuck spiders lah, moron.

:oIo:

dr.wailing

It's not illegal. Don't spread nonsense here........

Yes it's illegal if the copyright owners file lawsuits here in Sinkieland.

Take for example Hongkong's TVB.

Some of its most recent TVB drama series haven't been licensed to authorized Sinkie distributors.

If someone streams the most recent TVB drama series to their home through their Android set top boxes, they are in breach of both copyright and broadcasting rights.

Parliament recently passed the amended Copyright Act. When it becomes effective in October this year and foreign copyright owners file lawsuits here, the time is up for Android set top boxes.

Your type of gong cheebye is really beyond redemption.......you're inviting ass-fucking
because you think the laws can suka suka change without proper judicial review.

It's fucked up gong cheebyes like you that sow fear all around, when clearly and plainly it's not illegal, yet
you cum here talk fucked shit nonsense to frighten people. Go fuck spiders lah, moron.

Laws maybe cannot suka suka change everytime la....that will be too unsophisticated.
Pappies can interprete the law anyhow they like to their benefit....
When they have pet kangaroos to control everything this is what happens to the law.
Judicial review indeed....you have more blind faith than CHC zombies haha
You forgot about the teleportation into the voting center?