• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HDB Denies Defects in New BTO Flats. Only "Imperfections". Like This Also Can?!

[h=1]This is as good as open declaration by the FAP minister - paid out-of-the-world salaries themselves -to SGs to accept substandard products and services from them, but paid for at out-of-the-world prices. But SGs have a choice and that is to vote out these traitors in the next GE. But will the 60% have the "seeds" to do it?

HDB: MANY 'DEFECTS' BTO OWNERS COMPLAIN ABOUT ARE NOT ACTUALLY DEFECTS[/h]

<!-- /.block -->
<style>.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style>
Post date:
19 Jul 2014 - 10:45pm

<ins style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_1_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_1" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_1" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

Related:
HDB delaying, trying to avoid rectifying New BTO that has hundreds of defects
Despite making $73million from Sengkang BTO project, HDB still not fixing defects

How does HDB rectify defects in newly completed flats?

HDB has a system in place to ensure that the quality of its new flats meet acceptable industry standards. We abide by a clear set of guidelines and impose quality checks at every stage of construction, including pre- and post-construction.

For example, contractors are required to inspect completed flats and carry out the necessary rectification works to the full satisfaction of HDB’s quality officers, before handing the flats over to HDB. Despite the stringent process, some minor imperfections may still remain due to the inherent features of natural materials or the nature of construction works that are dependent on manual labour.

As part of our commitment to quality, we provide all new HDB flat owners with HDB’s Assure 3 warranty coverage for ceiling and external wall seepage, and spalling concrete. This is in addition to the 1-year Defects Liability Period (DLP) for all new property owners to report defects for rectification, a timeframe similar to private sector developments.
HDB advises new flat owners to inspect their flat and report any defects to their development’s Building Services Centre (BSC) within the DLP. During this period, the BSCs are conveniently located near the new flats for owners to report the defects for prompt follow up by the contractors. Subsequently, flat owners can report any defects to their HDB Branch.

In general, defects reported are rectified within two weeks. In cases where the contractor requires more time, for reasons such as unavailability of materials, flat owners will be informed of the expected completion date.

The issue of defects rectification can be made more trying and complex when there are differences in understanding and expectations. An imperfection may be seen as a defect, and this usually happens with home owners who expect their new flat to be in pristine condition. While this is understandable, adopting zero tolerance towards defects and imperfections is not a reasonable expectation.

• A recent encounter with a flat owner over the level difference between the floor tiles in his new flat is a case in point. While the level difference between the floor tiles in his flat had met industry standards, he found it unacceptable despite several rounds of rectification, as he expected the laid tiles to be perfectly even.

• Some flat owners may also report ‘defects’ that are actually imperfections that arise from the nature of the product or manufacturing process. For example, for floors with timber finishes, some owners have given feedback on the colour inconsistencies. As timber is a natural, organic product, the shade and grain of each strip of the timber will vary. It is thus not possible to achieve a perfectly homogenous look.

• In the case of ceramic floor tiles, some owners have reported the gaps between the tiles as ‘defects’. These gaps are not defects as such. Ceramic tiles are produced at high temperatures and the tiles will shrink upon cooling. The extent to which each tile shrinks may vary slightly. To accommodate the slight variations in dimensions, the tiles are laid with gaps in between, and cement grout is used to fill these gaps.
We acknowledge that there are times when defects may still remain despite everyone’s best efforts. HDB will make good on the defects caused by manufacturing lapses, or when the work is not up to standard. There are prevailing industry standards and practices which serve as objective arbiters for both public and private developments in cases of doubt and dispute.

*Article first appeared on http://www.hdbspeaks.sg/fi10/fi10336p.nsf/cw/Defectsinnewflats?OpenDocum...

The pictures of the defects speak a thousand words. The word pristine is an attempt to mislead and avoid corporate responsibility. Laying ceramic tiles has been going on decades all over the world. Its not rocket science. The grout is there for an obvious reasons. The buyers also know why a grout is applied.

Just because the developer is the second man in a PAP CCC. A bloody disgrace.

I would suggest the owner of the flat with the uneven floor claim have an open house for members of the public to see and make a judgement. Alternatively an independent expert be engaged by the owner to make a finding.

std set n legacy left by ah loon ...

moni noe how 2 collect ... provide sub std product n servis in return ...

MRT no breakdowns, only disruptions.

HDB flats no defects, only imperfections.

No strike, only 'refusal to work'.

No riot, only a 'flash mob'.

No flood, only 'ponding'.

And from 2011...

Healthcare 'targeted help' = you die is your business.

Orwellian doublespeak spin jobs. Singaporeans deserve better than 'journalism' standards of China's Xinhua News Agency.

Are you sick of this? If you are, vote wisely next time.

shittypore

You try taking a Govt contract, say like laying of tiles or marbles (MRT).
Knn, they fucking got all kind of clauses to squeeze your balls dry if the
job is not 100% to their approval. Why HDB dont follow like like their
Master's contract to squeeze their contractors? Got any Fishy going On!

Bro, wake up. You are not a PAP cadre or sit on their CCC. When 2 staff of GIC was caught by the Japanese authorities for insider trading they were let off by the Singapore government. When the industry made noise. They were disciplined, fined an suspended. One of them is now sitting in a leadership position in GIC looking after your CPF investments.

You really need to wake up to what is happening in Singapore.

Soilbuild built those flats. SoilBuild is owned by a PAP cadre member. He is no ordinary Singapore. When ST wrote an article about him couple of years without revealing his political affiliation, even Mother Theresa in comparison appeared to be a slut.

You try taking a Govt contract, say like laying of tiles or marbles (MRT).
Knn, they fucking got all kind of clauses to squeeze your balls dry if the
job is not 100% to their approval. Why HDB dont follow like like their
Master's contract to squeeze their contractors? Got any Fishy going On!

Thick Face Black Heart

Bloody fucking bastards!

Playing with semantics again and pushing the blame back onto home owners by suggesting they are perfectionists who cannot be pleased!

How fucking low can you get?

Fact: let's call a spade a spade. Defects have increased sharply over the past few years. No point trying to play dictionary and calling them imperfections. That's a denial that almost borders on an outright lie.

Fact: Social media have put HDB in a spot and the attempt to cover their own asses rather than taking on the problem head on is absolutely disgusting.

Fact: These are people who waited fucking years to get their flats and the first thing they find is shoddy work. You are not building a holiday resort. You are building homes mind you. And you dare to show your fucking cheebye attitude.

Lu Bu

Bro, wake up. You are not a PAP cadre or sit on their CCC. When 2 staff of GIC was caught by the Japanese authorities for insider trading they were let off by the Singapore government. When the industry made noise. They were disciplined, fined an suspended. One of them is now sitting in a leadership position in GIC looking after your CPF investments.

You really need to wake up to what is happening in Singapore.

Soilbuild built those flats. SoilBuild is owned by a PAP cadre member. He is no ordinary Singapore. When ST wrote an article about him couple of years without revealing his political affiliation, even Mother Theresa in comparison appeared to be a slut.

eNavHMP.jpg

Unrepented

And "no service disruptions", only that "trains are moving at a slower speed":rolleyes:

No flood, only 'ponding'.

And from 2011...

Healthcare 'targeted help' = you die is your business.

Orwellian doublespeak spin jobs. Singaporeans deserve better than 'journalism' standards of China's Xinhua News Agency.

Are you sick of this? If you are, vote wisely next time.

"Industry standard"...& all their jargons for excuses, the moral of the story is...you pay through your blood sweat & tears money for the BTO flats....you get a "ai chi, ai pi, ai tua niap nee" CHINA contractors & a "member" Main Contractor....You get affordable, QUALITY flats...People's Republic Of China...all those checking base it on CHINA Standard...

HDB should tell tell the BTO home owners....like we are used be told in Computer Jargon WYSIWYG..."what you see, is what you get"...so, move on!!..

Unrepented

This happens everywhere, past, present and future.

Problem is lack of real and effective check and balances, up to a point they have the audacity to give you "verbal bullshit" and can getaway with it.:(

........you get a "ai chi, ai pi, ai tua niap nee" CHINA contractors & a "member" Main Contractor....You get affordable, QUALITY flats...People's Republic Of China...all those checking base it on CHINA Standard...

dr.wailing

.............. Alternatively an independent expert be engaged by the owner to make a finding.

Independent expert?

In Sinkieland where can one find a truly independent expert?

Even if the owner in question manages to obtain a report from a truly independent expert, HDB may refute it with their own truly independent experts' findings.

Summary: both parties will have to go to court. Then a question arises: are our state courts truly independent or run by kangaroos?

dr.wailing

No flood, only 'ponding'.....

laksaboy:

Have you read a piece of news recently stating that the Auditor-General's Office found NParks to be guility of forging and backdating important documents? Isn't that a criminal offence? How is it that no one has been charged for the crime?

Unrepented

So....actually what is ultimately responsible for the defects not being addressed in a professional and acceptable manner.:confused:

Independent expert?

In Sinkieland where can one find a truly independent expert?

Even if the owner in question manages to obtain a report from a truly independent expert, HDB may refute it with their own truly independent experts' findings.

Summary: both parties will have to go to court. Then a question arises: are our state courts truly independent or run by kangaroos?

palden

Defects are defects, flood is flood. Not call defects imperfections and floods pondings. Sex is sex regardless whether you do it with male female she male donkeys or camels.

Trying to twist and turn fancy words. These must be written by ah Nehs.

<style>.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style>

SgParent

i realize the current generation of scholar white scums, lawyer white scums even white scum minions all very world class, boombastic excuses.

but come to deliverables then it is the extreme opposite.

thank you whitr scums. thank you 60.1%.