• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Sporns Always Kena Bullied Be it @ Home or Abroad?

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Feb 20, 2009
</TR><!-- headline one : start --><TR>'I was insulted in Taiwan' <!--10 min-->
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
celest.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

'It was inevitable that I was bullied. Everyone became territorial - they think that a foreigner is vying for a piece of their livelihood,' said Celest Chong. -- PHOTO: THE NEW PAPER
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"-->REMEMBER Celest Chong?
Modelling, acting, singing, radio DJ - the 36-year-old has done it all.
Leggy Singaporean Celest was a regular fixture on the local entertainment scene until she left Mediacorp in 2005.
After her departure, she dipped her feet into the Taiwanese entertainment industry - and got a real shock.
In an interview with The New Paper, the naturally-tanned actress recounted the venomous remarks she had to put up with when she moved to Taiwan.
'All sorts of verbal abuse were hurled at me. I've been told things like 'you're so dark!' and 'you can't even speak Mandarin well'. It was a real culture shock.
'But you learn how to deal with them. You have to retort with sarcastic remarks like 'I'm ugly but not as poor as you.' Then you suddenly find yourself a best friend in the person who yelled at you first.
'It was inevitable that I was bullied. Everyone became territorial - they think that a foreigner is vying for a piece of their livelihood.'
Despite the negativity, she managed some limited success.
There, she released her third album, Snowflakes (2005), and played a reporter in C'est La Vie (2006) which also starred Taiwanese actor Lin Youwei.
After 1 1/2 years, Celest packed her bags for China, where she spent two years involved in several projects.
She moved back to Singapore last January due to a family emergency.
Viewers can soon see her on television again as she stars in Channel 5's new English drama serial, Red Thread, which starts on April 7.
The single actress also revealed that she has been reading Hollywood scripts, but does not want to 'you know, say two lines and die', and fade into oblivion'.
She also said she has been offered a hosting gig on an online Canadian variety show, but wants to deliberate on it.
Celest is in no hurry to accept more projects, and she just wants to 'take it easy'. <!-- end of for each --><!-- vbbintegration : start --><!-- vbbintegration : end --><!-- dennis change request 20070424 : start --><!---Google ad - Start : Fri, 20 Feb 2009 17:39:00:156---><!-- AdSpace STI Google ad tag --><SCRIPT language=JavaScript1.1 src="http://ads.asia1.com.sg/js.ng/site=tsti&pagepos=20&size=10X10"> </SCRIPT>

char_jig_kar

cannot take it? please go back home. u think u lee kuan yew? everywhere u go got some 'three legged' creature welcoming u?

JohnTT

In overseas, I can understand, but in our homeland, it is sickening. I have personally encountered many Angmohs behaving like kings or superior beings in Singapore. :mad:

What to do, the govt always called foreigners as 'Foreign Talents'. :(

SamuelStalin

In overseas, I can understand, but in our homeland, it is sickening. I have personally encountered many Angmohs behaving like kings or superior beings in Singapore. :mad:

That's just because you people don't stand up for yourselves :rolleyes:

wah celeste hao lian she got lines in american movie but dun want to act in it cos it's a small small 2bit role. :rolleyes:

Why not she do it like the other spgs, assuming she is one, suck some ang moh's dick and act like a whore on the big screen, sure can make it to hollywood.

Quite surprised her tanned skin was looked down upon. Here in this country sinkeeland, we are the most superior chinese with our poor spoken chinese and even worse written chinese and of course our Superior Engrish. Of course the darker skin sets the sinkees apart from the more inferior chinese from wherever they hail from.

Celeste should have told them about the superior sinkees, the taiwanese would have bowed before her. :rolleyes:

DerekLeung

Singaporeans like to cry mother cry father and complain to authorities !

They don't like to take actions for themselves !

borom

I once ask my friend the same question and his immediate answer was
"Singaporeans have been emasculated by their own government ".

How true I thought-and its also help to explain why 66% voted for a party that give special treatment to foreigners.

kchunjeng

Caution !!

If any Ang MO of FT try to be funny with me, the blade will go in white and come out red.

I am constantly carried two 8" blades in my back pack where ever I go, be it in MRT, SBS or taxi, or roaming around the Shopping cneter.

So.. you FT and AngMo beware, I have 6 sense that you are a local or FT.

So..don't play pray with me OK>>

but in our homeland, it is sickening. I have personally encountered many Angmohs behaving like kings or superior beings in Singapore. :mad:

That's because Ang Mohs ARE superior beings compared to Sinkies. :rolleyes:

Never allow yourself to be bullied, especially on home ground.
Recently, a chinamen and his female companion asked me for directions. He spoke the place name in Mandarin and got louder and more aggressive as he repeated his question. I pretended to know where it was and led them on a wild goose chase.
This is the way to deal with arrogant foreigners.