• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ex-S'poreans returning to Singapore to work

I just had a query from someone about the above.

There is no law, prohibition or regulation that will stop an ex-Singaporean to be gainfully employed in Singapore. The NS defaulters holding new citizenship are still Singaporeans and are wanted by law and not party to this even though some claim that they are no longer Singaporeans.

You will be treated no different to any other foreigner expect with one exception. Ex-Singaporean have to fill up a very detailed and comprehensive form as part of their application and it covers their parents and siblings. Getting the answer to siblings questions may require a fair bit of chasing. The only thing that did not ask is the size of your dad's penis and I suspect that they could not squeeze it in. The application will take over 5 weeks to process. Interestingly some Indian from Chennai probably will get his answer within a week.

Those who are joining an MNC here should not have any problems as the HR will get a specialist firm to handle the processing and they know what to do.

As to CPF, you do not have return a penny. If you are on Employment pass there is no CPF to contribute until you chose to be a PR. Not sure why you want to be PR in the first place as the employment pass does the job.

Don't forget to get your company to pay for your relocation as well as your accommodation or any other expat perks.

There is no law, prohibition or regulation that will stop an ex-Singaporean to be gainfully employed in Singapore. The NS defaulters holding new citizenship are still Singaporeans and are wanted by law and not party to this even though some claim that they are no longer Singaporeans.

You will be treated no different to any other foreigner expect with one exception. Ex-Singaporean have to fill up a very detailed and comprehensive form as part of their application and it covers their parents and siblings. Getting the answer to siblings questions may require a fair bit of chasing. The only thing that did not ask is the size of your dad's penis and I suspect that they could not squeeze it in. The application will take over 5 weeks to process. Interestingly some Indian from Chennai probably will get his answer within a week.

Those who are joining an MNC here should not have any problems as the HR will get a specialist firm to handle the processing and they know what to do.

As to CPF, you do not have return a penny. If you are on Employment pass there is no CPF to contribute until you chose to be a PR. Not sure why you want to be PR in the first place as the employment pass does the job.

Don't forget to get your company to pay for your relocation as well as your accommodation or any other expat perks.

Tell these ex-sinkie to go and get a lobotomy. So many people on this shithole island will give their left testicle to fuck off from here, and these fuckers want to come back to singapore? Sheer stupidity.

This shows what a fantastic job the PAP is doing. People assume that the grass is greener elsewhere until they get a taste of what life is like outside of the Utopia that the PAP has created.

This proves what I have been saying all along... PAP IS THE BEST! :cool:

Agoraphobic

I am an ex-Singaporean. Employed by my ex-boss, on E-pass. No cpf. No health benefits like polyclinic. Not eligible for HDB housing. Child pays foreigner's school fees. Buy car, must have COE. Speak like Sinkie, able to cuss smoothly KNNBCCB and so on. Not allowed to vote. After E pass expires, will fuck off.

Agoraphobic

Somewhat agree with you here. It isn't because of Singapore that I am back here, it was because of China and the region that I wanted to experience and Singapore offered me an opportunity. Many family and friends are here in Singapore where I grew up and am familiar with the workings of the society. Singapore is a safe place with a secure currency and relative individual freedoms. English is an official language, medical standards are high, law and law enforcement is good, and the community is civilized. However, it is bloody crowded, and to me, expensive. Anyways, once my E-pass expires, I don't intend to renew it.

yinyang

..because of China and the region that I wanted to experience and Singapore offered me an opportunity...bloody crowded, and to me, expensive. Anyways, once my E-pass expires, I don't intend to renew it.
Employed by my ex-boss, on E-pass. No cpf. No health benefits like polyclinic. Not eligible for HDB housing. Child pays foreigner's school fees. Buy car, must have COE. Speak like Sinkie, able to cuss smoothly KNNBCCB and so on. Not allowed to vote. After E pass expires, will fuck off
On regional (business) perspective, Sg's the favoured platform. Like say over Shanghai, seen some relocation of regional buz HQs here. Crowded? Population density and air quality in Shanghai were "push factors" aka excuses.

On your losing out local "perks", doesn't your expat package over basics ie some medical insurance, pension fund? On housing and wheels, no permutations like allowance? Asides from your retention of sinkie traits including swearing :p

cheekenpie

Gaping loophole....thks to million buck ministers

First of all, you must be worth something for Ang Mo to employ you. Second of all, you must be very tua kee for Ang Mo to send you back to Sinkieland as Expat. Third of all, most here wont meet first criteria so talk for what?

kukubird58

hahaha....scroobye eat full nothing to do....got say like no say...
literally talking thru the arse.....
as if ex-Singaporean can choose to be PR anytime as he/she likes......truly retarded.

Runifyouhaveto

HR Scouts do get additional five-digits reimbursements if they can recruit an ex-singaporean back to work in a good high-paying white-collar job in Singapore.

soIsee

This shows what a fantastic job the PAP is doing. People assume that the grass is greener elsewhere until they get a taste of what life is like outside of the Utopia that the PAP has created.

This proves what I have been saying all along... PAP IS THE BEST! :cool:

No, this does not show the PAP is doing a fantastic job.

It shows ex-Sinkie making a U-turn are able to exploit the loophole created by ...who else..the Pappy.

And why?

The Pappy were too concerned about wanting FTs to come in, than to know who can exploit the rules.

The Sinkie stuck here can go..... suck thumb! LoL

Agoraphobic

I work in regional sales (South-East Asia) and go to China to attend trade shows and attend regional distributor seminars. I wouldn't wish to work in China, can't speak Mandarin, and they have their own agents and distributors there. Yes, Singapore is an ideal base for working the region.

Unfortunately I am employed here on a local's package, not an expat one, so things cost more for me. In any case, it was a decision I accepted knowingly and just have to live within the means that I can afford. When I meet up with old buddies, many times our conversation revolves around my situation like not having the local perks despite having served NS, but I am not grudging the situation, just the reality of life I got myself into. I however take the opportunity to go for trips in Malaysia and Indonesia whenever the chance arises because once my "contract" is over, there will not be anymore such breaks for me or my family.

On regional (business) perspective, Sg's the favoured platform. Like say over Shanghai, seen some relocation of regional buz HQs here. Crowded? Population density and air quality in Shanghai were "push factors" aka excuses.

On your losing out local "perks", doesn't your expat package over basics ie some medical insurance, pension fund? On housing and wheels, no permutations like allowance? Asides from your retention of sinkie traits including swearing :p

Firstly I am not sure if these are indeed perks. If they are indeed perks I am sure you would not have left in the first place. Foreigners come to Singapore because it is the regional hub and has its own benefits career wise.

Local terms for a foreigner working for an MNC - relocation package - 40 ft container plus flight tickets for whole family. Then there is 1 month paid accommodation at hotel or serviced apartment to allow you to rent a property. Your package has allowances to cover CPF / pension element, partial cover for rentals and car. It's usually about $3k or $4k a month at a minimum over and above your base pay. Includes Full health coverage. These are considered local package.

Expat terms are - full paid accommodation, car allowance, school package, relocation and yearly flight tickets for the family back home.

Those are general practices in Singapore. You do not have to be an existing employee of the MNC when you apply for the job in Singapore. As expected the majority are on locals terms with the conditions and allowance that I mentioned and the rest are expat terms.

Local terms for foreigner working is not the same as a Singaporean working in an MNC.

As an example, if an Indian National or a PRC national comes to Singapore on a social visit pass and then applies for a job with IBM or a German firm, they will get the local terms that I mentioned even if you are ex-Singaporean. It does not however apply to Singaporeans or PRs who have schooled here and joining the job market for the first time and not on an existing foreigners local term package.

In essence thee is a difference between local terms for a foreigner and local terms for a Singaporean.

I am an ex-Singaporean. Employed by my ex-boss, on E-pass. No cpf. No health benefits like polyclinic. Not eligible for HDB housing. Child pays foreigner's school fees. Buy car, must have COE. Speak like Sinkie, able to cuss smoothly KNNBCCB and so on. Not allowed to vote. After E pass expires, will fuck off.

yinyang

HR Scouts do get additional five-digits reimbursements if they can recruit an ex-singaporean back to work in a good high-paying white-collar job in Singapore.
You mean added incentive for head hunters, to hire ex sinkie to PMET job here? Or you meant this "5-digits reimbursements" for successful ex-sinkie hired?

If the latter, think ex-sinkie is on same footing with rest -either local or expat terms

Agoraphobic

For me - nope, there are no perks. Just on a local manager's salary, 13-month pay, and company's bonus if the year's results are good. I take the chance to spend time with old friends and relatives as the perks. My case isn't similar to most other "expats" who relocate to Singapore as a career jump. I was interested to see China a little more after an initial holiday tour there in 2002. For my wife, it was a good chance to catch up with and spend time with her sisters. Well, I've already visited some parts of China, visited other ASEAN countries for business, I suppose I've already done what I could do here, now am planning to return to Canada and start all over again. Am already deciding where in Canada I wish to settle down this time, last time as Toronto, which was getting quite crowded too, and I'm not exactly too thrilled by what the city has to offer either.

Firstly I am not sure if these are indeed perks. If they are indeed perks I am sure you would not have left in the first place. Foreigners come to Singapore because it is the regional hub and has its own benefits career wise.

No worries bro. Good luck on the second stage of the return. At least you are going back to a country with one of the best safety net in the world and it's a first world country will lots of opportunities for the family. And you are not 2nd class citizen in your own country.

For me - nope, there are no perks. Just on a local manager's salary, 13-month pay, and company's bonus if the year's results are good. I take the chance to spend time with old friends and relatives as the perks. My case isn't similar to most other "expats" who relocate to Singapore as a career jump. I was interested to see China a little more after an initial holiday tour there in 2002. For my wife, it was a good chance to catch up with and spend time with her sisters. Well, I've already visited some parts of China, visited other ASEAN countries for business, I suppose I've already done what I could do here, now am planning to return to Canada and start all over again. Am already deciding where in Canada I wish to settle down this time, last time as Toronto, which was getting quite crowded too, and I'm not exactly too thrilled by what the city has to offer either.

It's quite well known that ex-Singaporeans who have made it in 1st world countries carry a premium for an MNC to show that they are "localised". Ang Mo is Region head and ex-Singaporan or Singaporan with foreign degree becomes country head or country ex-co.

You mean added incentive for head hunters, to hire ex sinkie to PMET job here? Or you meant this "5-digits reimbursements" for successful ex-sinkie hired?

If the latter, think ex-sinkie is on same footing with rest -either local or expat terms

I mentioned this story years ago in this forum. NUS Associate Prof migrated to Sydney, joined St Vincent's hospital and after 2 years became a citizen. At that time it was only 2 years. He returned to NUS as full expat and was given all the perks including accommodation and return flights. NUS is one of the biggest landlord in Singapore to cater to Expat staff. They own penthouses in Pandan Valley and even bungalows in Kent. Ridge. Not sure if they are still there.

The irony is that Singapore is home, he did not move lock, stock and barrel to. Sydney. He just took advantage of the system. His only complaint is the annual return ticket is to Sydney and he has no home there.

I know many who have moved to Canada & none have returned to Spore except on holidays. Actually there was a girl who reluctantly returned to help set up the Spore office but she only did it to help her boss.

Time passes there so quickly when there is no stress or PAP. Remember getting towed for illegal parking & had to visit city hall. They were polite & courteous & when they heard my excuse they let me off with a cheerfil g'day:smile: