• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Hongkees have balls. What do 60% SGs Have?

[h=2]Hong Kong nears tipping point with Beijing[/h]

dmca_protected_sml_120n.png
PostDateIcon.png
July 3rd, 2014 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Online Press

HK02_2960359c-300x187.jpg

Protest in HK

(HONG KONG, Jul 2) – This isn’t the way it was supposed to be.

It’s been 17 years since the clock struck midnight on a stormy July 1 and
Hong Kong was officially handed back to China after more than 150 years of
British colonial rule. Yet the same fears and protestations that accompanied
that historic handover remain and, in some instances, have even intensified.

That was evident by the hundreds of thousands of protesters who, braving
periodic thunderstorms and summer temperatures as high as 32 Celsius, took to
the streets to mark this year’s anniversary of the handover.

While it is true that every July 1 since 1997 has been punctuated by a mass
anti-Beijing rally, this year’s demonstration stood out not just for the number
of people who took part but also for their anger and fervor – among them not
just the usual pro-democracy groups but also villagers from the northeastern New
Territories whose homes would be destroyed by a government plan to build two new
towns near the border with the mainland and whose cause has become caught up in
the anti-government sentiment pervading the city.

In the annual numbers battle over turnout, the Civil Human Rights Front,
organizer of the march, claimed 510,000 people took part – no doubt too high –
while the Hong Kong police said 92,000 joined in – no doubt too low. A headcount
by the University of Hong Kong public opinion program estimated turnout at
between 154,000 and 172,000 – probably more like it.

Whatever the case, it was the largest July 1 protest in a decade, even if
organizers did not achieve their stated goal of topping 500,000, the number of
protesters who turned out in 2003 to oppose a national security bill, proposed
by the administration of Hong Kong’s first post-handover chief executive, Tung
Chee-hwa, that many feared would endanger freedom of speech and assembly in the
city. The bill was withdrawn, and Tung would later resign from office.

This latest mass protest, on top of the 180,000 people who gathered on June 4
for the annual candlelight memorial honoring those who died in the government
crackdown on pro-democracy demonstrators in Beijing’s Tiananmen Square in 1989,
has put this city’s population of 7.1 million on edge as Hong Kong continues its
struggle of nearly two decades to claim its identity as a special administrative
region of China.

The hapless Tung’s two successors, derided by critics as mere lackeys who
receive their orders from Beijing, have not fared much better than he did;
Donald Tsang Yam-kuen left office in 2012 with a cloud of corruption allegations
hanging over his head, and Hong Kong’s current chief executive, Leung Chun-ying,
is so unpopular that he cannot appear in public without suffering verbal abuse
and having fruit and other objects thrown his way.

More in: http://www.atimes.com/atimes/China/CHIN-01-020714.html

Yingge

Nothing to do with the 60%...

If those 40% have balls... We have more than 500,000 peoples on the road...:rolleyes:

of course the world is pissed off with these PRCs and indian nationals,if these dumbfucking people would get that in their skull that nobody,not australia not hong kong not singapore welcomes them,and fuck off back to wherever they came from.

sochi2014

HK dun have ISA.

And people dun get sued millions for speaking up.

If you want to speak up you better make sure you have billions.

Asterix

It's a wonderful party and an annual event, too bad Sinkies cannot enjoy ... ... ...

[video=youtube;Q7_biAiwrH0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q7_biAiwrH0[/video]

We have money. Look at how high our GDP is! All our old folks have jobs while the elderly in hk wait aimlessly for their makers. For that, we have to thank the PAP.

smoke and lies!!!!!!!!the devil has pulled the wool over ur eyes!!!!!wake up!!!!!our gross national income is not much better than hong kong.....singaporeans only take home 30% of the national gdp as wages!!!!!!while hong kies take home nearly 66%!!!!!!singapore is a nation of underclass lowly paid slaves!!!

Including all Chinese of fathers and mothers born in China should fuck off to China?

One mat here would be delighted if Sinkieland belong to Mat only.

of course the world is pissed off with these PRCs and indian nationals,if these dumbfucking people would get that in their skull that nobody,not australia not hong kong not singapore welcomes them,and fuck off back to wherever they came from.

Makapaa you chump, you should go suck Tonychat's puny dick.

Firstly walk the talk and show us you have balls to protest outside Istana.

Secondly, the political framework of HK is decided in Beijing. Logically the HKees should protest in Beijing and not in HK. Tell the protestors to protest in Beijing lah!! That is real balls!!!