• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore is officially a failed state! Yay!

Boss Sam will say Papzi r the best. Even when it comes to failed state scoring, they also hit top marks. Unbeatable magic.

Leepotism

Even since Ass Loon became PM, Singapore is getting from bad to worse. Failed in so many things.

spotter542

Singapore where got fail ?

We have got 2 casinos that rake in billions every year ( maybe 1 more coming soon :eek: )
We have got lots of Pinoys , Jiu hoo kias , Tiongs , Nehs , Burmese , Viet and hordes of white trash competing for jobs , space in this island country
We have got forum owner , druglords and corrupt officials parking their ill-gotten gains here
We got loads of overpriced shiny toys under the disposal of Colonels , BGs and Generals ( who have never seen war )
We have loads of patients without a ward
We have loads of expensive pigeon holes that you lan lan have to buy
We have loads of million dollar salaried "servants" who "promised" to look after our needs once every 5 years

Capano2121

Die liao lah! Babi run country next door also never appear on top ten! PAP le nang sibeh eh sai leh! Singapore in top ten again, hooray!

Even since Ass Loon became PM, Singapore is getting from bad to worse. Failed in so many things.

Spore has always been a screwed up place with plenty of rules & laws:rolleyes:

It is only when one has the opportunity to stay overseas that one realises how constrictive life in Spore is :(

These non-for profit organisation collect grant and funds for various purposes and some of it are scams or have deluded agendas. Singapore is probably one of the most successful countries in recent times. It just that the spoils are going to a select few who are enriching their families, their friends and themselves. Its state that does not play fair nor at times in an ethical manner with their own citizens but it is far from a failed state.

Failed states are few. Pakistan is a classic case. Its is one and only country that was conceived as a result of one factor - religion. It has repeatedly failed and pure exist on the backs of its people who pretty much do their own trade and grow their own crops. The state plays a small part in their survival.

steffychun

These non-for profit organisation collect grant and funds for various purposes and some of it are scams or have deluded agendas. Singapore is probably one of the most successful countries in recent times. It just that the spoils are going to a select few who are enriching their families, their friends and themselves. Its state that does not play fair nor at times in an ethical manner with their own citizens but it is far from a failed state.

Failed states are few. Pakistan is a classic case. Its is one and only country that was conceived as a result of one factor - religion. It has repeatedly failed and pure exist on the backs of its people who pretty much do their own trade and grow their own crops. The state plays a small part in their survival.

Pakistan isnt a failed state; Afghanistan is. Both Sudans are. If Singapore is not careful, it will be.

Thick Face Black Heart

Pakistan isnt a failed state; Afghanistan is. Both Sudans are. If Singapore is not careful, it will be.

Singapore cannot become a failed state with one trillion in total reserves. Divide that by the total population and on a per capita basis, SG is filthy rich, and you can see easily that we will not become a failed state like the examples you mention.

The problem we have is declining ministerial competency, entrenched dogma in the way the governing regime approaches politics and social issues, disenfranchisement on the part of locals who are displaced by foreigners, and inequity between the elite segment and the working class. Note that I use the word "inequity" - because it is not inequality that is harmful to society, but inequity (crucial distinction needed).

Failed govt policies we have plenty. That does not make us a failed state yet.

Thick Face Black Heart

Politically and socially, Singapore is no longer in its infancy, but we are still children. There is still a lot of room and chance for growing up. What we need is for the people to stand up and take the current administration to task for its multitude of failures and demand change.

All this is part and parcel of the growing up process. We are now experiencing growing pains as a nation. Hopefully the PAP loses its stranglehold on political power in the same way kids lose their milk teeth - as something so natural and inevitable that historians cannot but record it otherwise.

steffychun

Singapore cannot become a failed state with one trillion in total reserves. Divide that by the total population and on a per capita basis, SG is filthy rich, and you can see easily that we will not become a failed state like the examples you mention.

The problem we have is declining ministerial competency, entrenched dogma in the way the governing regime approaches politics and social issues, disenfranchisement on the part of locals who are displaced by foreigners, and inequity between the elite segment and the working class. Note that I use the word "inequity" - because it is not inequality that is harmful to society, but inequity (crucial distinction needed).

It can still go into large debt and social troubles as in the case of many developing countries.

Singapore most successful?lol please,just because we had a decade of artificially inflated growth which had no other reason other than related to the rapid increase in population growth?

not to mention singapore's growth is totally unsustainable,as u can tell from the history of the stock market,all periods of boom and bubble is usually followed by a cycle of bust......Singapore's growth has ponzi characteristics.....first the increase in population leads to an increase in consumer demands,housing demands and transport demands,these leads to an increase in business to fulfill that demand which leads to an increase in jobs,which leads to an increase in demand for manpower....which leads to more immigration and increase in population....like a endless cycle.....however how long can this carry on?we have already experience an population density which is unbearable,a significant rise in cost of consumer goods,significantly inflated property prices and coe prices.....this is suicidal growth at the expense of inflation....

also i object against economic success as being the sole indicator for "failed state"......singapore is a failed state in every other sense other than monetary.
accumulating wealth is not that hard to do,especially in a small country.....understanding the philosophy and ideology and sociology and psychology behind good governance and building a society that is the hardest of all.

Inequity and inequality are closely related in origin and in some of their secondary definitions, so mixing them up is never a serious error, grammarist.com/usage/inequality-inequity/

http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/06/29/failed-states-index-spore-on-list-of-worsening-nations/

A Washington-based non-profit organization, Fund For Peace (FFP), has ranked Singapore as one of the top 10 most worsened countries by score in its Failed States Index between 2013 and 2014

Thank you PAP! (Sarcasm of course)

bullshit! sg is among one of the most stable states in 158th position. the higher the number, the more stable the state. the ranking for 2014 is listed by ffp as follows. tremeritus must be smoking weed or getting it's perineum dissected when quoting the source. "most worsened by score" is a useless, ridiculous statistic. by the way, ffp, which itself is a left-wing fuckshit organization, has changed failed states to fragile states. :rolleyes:

http://ffp.statesindex.org/rankings-2014