• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The OTHER forum is HERE so please stop asking.

When an ex-convict needs`a court testimonial to make an honest living

Leepotism

Alfrescian (Inf)
Asset
Tough for ex-convict to keep cabby job

I AM a taxi driver and a former convict. A few months ago, the Land Transport Authority (LTA) sent me a letter informing me that as I was once found guilty in court,
I needed a conduct testimonial from my current employer to decide whether I can be allowed to continue in my job.

My current taxi company, SMRT, told me it did not have a policy of writing conduct testimonials for its drivers. LTA then told me to get one from the Singapore Prison Service (SPS) as an alternative.

The SPS officer who answered my call said the prison will be able to write a conduct testimonial and told me to go to the prison to collect it.

But all I received was a document stating the start and end dates of my imprisonment. There was no mention of my conduct in prison.

When I told the officer that the document did not fulfil my needs, I was referred to a second officer, who informed me that SPS did not write conduct testimonials for prisoners.

I told LTA of my difficulty in getting a testimonial, but it replied that SMRT and SPS did indeed write conduct testimonials.
This is my plea to employers: Give us ex-convicts a chance. We may have made mistakes in the past, but we have paid the price in prison.

da dick

Alfrescian
Loyal