• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Bonds

SNTCK

Re: Interesting Bond issues

OCBC today UP 7 cent so far in 30 min after market open.
seem very bullish, wondering i should take more risk and hope it cheong to 11 then sell?

krafty. help me look ocbc chart. thanks

why you want to sell??? HOLD>>>

OCBC today UP 7 cent so far in 30 min after market open.
seem very bullish, wondering i should take more risk and hope it cheong to 11 then sell?

krafty. help me look ocbc chart. thanks

Runifyouhaveto

Pacific Andes’ SGD 200 million ($160m) bonds “sold like hot cakes”, a source told the Singaporean business newspaper Business Times. The frozen fish supplier has received orders exceeding SGD 2 billion for its three-year issue, the source told the newspaper............The bonds are due on July 30, 2017 and will bear interest at the rate of 8.5% per annum, payable semi-annually.
http://www.undercurrentnews.com/2014/07/24/pacific-andes-bonds-sold-like-hot-cakes

Oversubscribed by >$1.8bn but such phenomenon can be misleading. The grey market prices didn't surge despite such mad book-building; it is struggling to stay above 100.

China Fishery Faces Second Deadline in Debt Restructure Bid
China Fishery Group Ltd. (CFG) faces a second deadline today as it seeks approval from bondholders to let its unit in Peru guarantee as much as $1.2 billion of debt.

The Singapore-listed group is pushing for Corporacion Pesquera Inca SAC, its Lima-based unit known as Copeinca, to guarantee obligations including $650 million of credit lines from five lenders, $300 million of its July 2019 bonds and future borrowings, company filings show. That would require a majority of holders of Copeinca’s $250 million notes due February 2017 agreeing to relax the bonds’ covenants, according to a July 17 consent solicitation document.

“It’s very negative for bondholders to consent to this because Copeinca is now going to represent basically the vast majority of China Fishery’s earnings and it has the least amount of debt,” Mariela Anguiano, an analyst at BCP Securities LLC in Greenwich, Connecticut said by phone Aug. 20. “If you make a simple calculation, it doesn’t make sense from a bondholder perspective.”

“The worst-case scenario, if they can’t get the consent from Copeinca bondholders, is a technical default on the loans and the banks will probably give them a temporary waiver,” Annisa Lee, a credit analyst in Hong Kong at Nomura Holdings Inc., said by phone on Aug. 20. “The other alternative is for them to call the Copeinca bonds”
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-...ond-deadline-in-debt-restructure-attempt.html

On July 18, Pacific Andes’ fishing arm China Fishery asked holders of Copeinca’s $250m bond to approve a change to their terms that would see Copeinca guarantee up to $1.2 billion of debt belonging to China Fishery.
http://www.undercurrentnews.com/2014/07/22/pacific-andes-taps-singapore-bond-market-for-160m/

how come is issued under a S$5 billion Euro Medium Term Note Programme? euro is going down very badly leh...:*:

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/bre...easury-offers-s500m-fixed-rate-notes-20140822

CapitaLand Treasury offers S$500m fixed-rate notes

CAPITALAND Treasury Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of CapitaLand, has priced the offering of S$500 million, 3.80 per cent fixed-rate notes due 2024.
The notes will be issued under a S$5 billion Euro Medium Term Note Programme established in August 2012 and updated in September last year.
The net proceeds will be used for refinancing existing borrowings and for financing the investments and general corporate purposes of CapitaLand and CapitaLand Treasury Limited.

Runifyouhaveto

how come is issued under a S$5 billion Euro Medium Term Note Programme? euro is going down very badly leh...:*:

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/bre...easury-offers-s500m-fixed-rate-notes-20140822

CapitaLand Treasury offers S$500m fixed-rate notes

CAPITALAND Treasury Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of CapitaLand, has priced the offering of S$500 million, 3.80 per cent fixed-rate notes due 2024.
The notes will be issued under a S$5 billion Euro Medium Term Note Programme established in August 2012 and updated in September last year.
The net proceeds will be used for refinancing existing borrowings and for financing the investments and general corporate purposes of CapitaLand and CapitaLand Treasury Limited.

hi bro,

- If you are talking about issuing currency, the bonds mentioned, were offered yesterday in SGD denomination, not Euro

- "Euro" MTN (mid-term note), refers issuing to non-US investors. US MTN = issuing for US-investors. It could be due to different regulatory framework. I guess some CFA bros can explain better.

- This bond is not very attractively priced. 4%pa for 10 years.....now swaps for SGD 10 years is about 2.9%, they price it as if they are our local banks. hahahaa

so des neh...:biggrin:

hi bro,

- If you are talking about issuing currency, the bonds mentioned, were offered yesterday in SGD denomination, not Euro

- "Euro" MTN (mid-term note), refers issuing to non-US investors. US MTN = issuing for US-investors. It could be due to different regulatory framework. I guess some CFA bros can explain better.

- This bond is not very attractively priced. 4%pa for 10 years.....now swaps for SGD 10 years is about 2.9%, they price it as if they are our local banks. hahahaa

lifeafter41

hi bro,

OCBC NCPS at least give better returns at 5.1%, same goes for DBS at 4.7
They really think they are better than local banks. :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Runifyouhaveto

OCBC NCPS at least give better returns at 5.1%, same goes for DBS at 4.7
They really think they are better than local banks. :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

They priced too low above interest rates swap for long-term bonds = extremely high risk of trading below par before maturity. We can see this happening to APPLE's bonds in the first few pages of this thread.

In secondary market, Keppel has another 4% long-term bond trading at appx 5% below par. So might as well choose Keppel.

Runifyouhaveto

imagine singapore's safe upcoming covered bonds (secured + guaranteed by issuing bank) evolves into such small-denomination liquid financial products, it will encourage more people to put money into fixed income instruments.

I suspect upcoming temasek bonds or bank covered bonds will be between 2.5% (CPF-OA) to 4% (CPF-SA) yield. You might wish to wait for new issues. D

It is coming brothers

Covered bonds on the cards at last in Singapore
http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/08/22/singapore-bonds-idUSL4N0QS20120140822
The first covered bond issue from a Singapore bank could finally be on its way as regulators near an agreement to open a market estimated to be worth S$25bn (US$20bn).

Runifyouhaveto

there are bonds, etf, etc... why do pple choose to invest in bond?

three main kinds of people
1. Bears - Short-term bonds from premium issuers are good hiding place if you think asset prices are dropping
2. Asset Diversification - Most people would want to a more diversified portfolio
3. Speculators - They invest in high yield bonds using borrowed $$$.

thks for the info...

three main kinds of people
1. Bears - Short-term bonds from premium issuers are good hiding place if you think asset prices are dropping
2. Asset Diversification - Most people would want to a more diversified portfolio
3. Speculators - They invest in high yield bonds using borrowed $$$.

lifeafter41

why you want to sell??? HOLD>>>

Was talking to an old uncle, in his early sixties, in the market. Shared with me he holds 100lot of ocbc, 45 lots of uob and another 45 lots of kep corp. accumulated over the years, when ocbc shares split. Based on Fridays closing, easily 2.5kk in shares. This is excluding others, such as nol, sia and penny stocks. Best part, still stay in hdb.

Ask him if he not worried I would borrow money from him and we had a good laugh.
Strange though why he showed me.:smile::smile:

Ask him about the rights issue on ocbc, told me he will subscribe to it.