• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Great! SG Airline LOST $$$Hundreds of Millions HUAT!

What SQ success? In the years when they were profitable, they made most of their money from selling planes. Because they keep ordering new ones to take advantage of cheap rates due to govt. guaranteed loans. Their profits from operations is good some years and not there in others. If you want them to compete one on one, they cannot. They have killed a lot of routes all over the world due to competition from chinese airlines.

Agree order big amount of plane when lunch be 1st few customer to commit to buy new plane and get big discount up to 30% off.
That what Emirate doing now.

Runifyouhaveto

Soon SQ stewardess will have to sell SIA mooncakes at Orchard Road and Geylang.

SIA suffers slow start to FY15 as passenger carriage declines in June
http://sbr.com.sg/aviation/news/sia-suffers-slow-start-fy15-passenger-carriage-declines-in-june

Tiger Airways’ operations improved on the back of peak travel period and active capacity management - passenger load factor (PLF) gradually increased 7 percentage points from 79.2% in March to 86.3% in June.According to report by OCBC, improved PLF year-on-year can be sustained for TigerAir Singapore in the coming fiscal year.

http://sbr.com.sg/aviation/news/gaining-wind-tigerair-seats-more-passengers-quarter

Trading Pair: Long Tiger Short SIA

That is not the main reason. The previous Tiger CEO, Tony Davis made so many enemies and forced deals with various supposed partners that the chickens began to come home to roost. He staff will tell the minister of an Australian state when to turn up for meeting and he would scold and mistreat them. He did it all the time.

The argument about home markets being too small was also used by our Civil Aviation authority to push Tony. Fernandez and his fledgling business aside. Looks where Air Asia is.

Harsh reality is home market's very small, and misadventures (collaboration) elsewhere more than dented the p/loss.

Runifyouhaveto

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Enlightening, no different from capital gain on disposal of assets. "Seasonal" trade boost to p/loss, differentiated to core business of flying pax.

Back to present. No secret that the moneyed Mid-East airlines are giving SQ a hard time.

What floats on water, will not necessarily fly. Neither NOL's results are any glowing

NOL has been losing money after they gotnrid of the fleming guy and populated the whole damn place with their scholars and military 2nd careers. Do you guys know that even the alexandra road NOL building has been sold?

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
hahahahaha, nice try. But maritime shipping industry now is mostly cargo, not pax. while air industry is mostly pax. totally different. unless merchant ships fly, I fail to see the relationship.

After looking at our ministers, nothing surprises me anymore. What does a teacher got to do with home affairs? Or an engineer on investments?

Do not worry. Singapore is internationally known for its resilience. We survived Suzhou, SARS, Citigroup, UBS, ABC, GFC, Olam and yet we are still standing strong. For that you have to thank the PAP.

Spore is in big trouble because we have a bunch of clowns running the place. All the symptoms are out there for all to see: ponding, MRT breakdowns, lack of hospital space, dengue,...

Doubt that things will change for the better because the problem is at the top.

lee6100

That is not the main reason. The previous Tiger CEO, Tony Davis made so many enemies and forced deals with various supposed partners that the chickens began to come home to roost. He staff will tell the minister of an Australian state when to turn up for meeting and he would scold and mistreat them. He did it all the time.

The argument about home markets being too small was also used by our Civil Aviation authority to push Tony. Fernandez and his fledgling business aside. Looks where Air Asia is.

SQ was never the same again after Pillay. It's a microcosm of how the PAP runs the country. Mistakes after mistakes were allowed to perpetuate and the people responsible were allowed to carry on or shuffled elsewhere into the scholar system where they continue to do damage.

SQ should never have gone into the budget business - Tiger and then Scoot, run by clueless ang mo. Just drop the economy ticket price and passengers will come back. Instead of focusing on winning back customers, they look at cost cutting. Choon Phong cut allowances of air crew. Bad move. These are frontline and the face of SQ. Despite little niggles here and there the SQ girls and guys are generally very good.

SQ was never the same again after Pillay. It's a microcosm of how the PAP runs the country. Mistakes after mistakes were allowed to perpetuate and the people responsible were allowed to carry on or shuffled elsewhere into the scholar system where they continue to do damage.

SQ should never have gone into the budget business - Tiger and then Scoot, run by clueless ang mo. Just drop the economy ticket price and passengers will come back. Instead of focusing on winning back customers, they look at cost cutting. Choon Phong cut allowances of air crew. Bad move. These are frontline and the face of SQ. Despite little niggles here and there the SQ girls and guys are generally very good.

All the GLCs are there to support the PAP cronies & not to make profits. What do Spore tax payers get out of supporting all these monopolies:confused:

When the last leaf ups the lorry I expect his son to be kicked out ehh or rather he will retire for health reasons or to spend more time with wifey & kids:biggrin: There will have to be a downsizing & right sizing of Lee & Sons. I expect plenty of scandals to surface & many will have to run road:wink:

LKY & family may be remembered as the Madoffs of the East:confused: I hope not because I still have some $$ locked in there but I am prepare for the worse:(

congo9

Do not worry. Singapore is internationally known for its resilience. We survived Suzhou, SARS, Citigroup, UBS, ABC, GFC, Olam and yet we are still standing strong. For that you have to thank the PAP.

Of course it is resilient, that why they up the minimum sum all the time. They are the dealers, we Singapore citizens are the bankers. The difference is that we as bankers are always on the losing side. They the ( dealers ) make huge commission despite with all the losses all over.

Runifyouhaveto

Safety questions hit Tigerair
http://www.smh.com.au/business/aviation/safety-questions-hit-tigerair-20140801-zzjij.html

Tigerair Australia has been hit by potentially serious safety incidents that include pilots being issued a drastically wrong flight plan, a collision between a tug and an Airbus A320 and "heated" disputes between flight crews and other staff, leaked documents reveal.

"Tigerair advises it is satisfied that at all times the aircraft had more than adequate fuel for the journey and landed in Perth without incident with more than legal fuel reserves," Tigerair's statement said. "As the incident is currently under review by the ATSB, it's not appropriate for the airline to comment further at this time."

In 2011, the airline was grounded for a short period by the Civil Aviation Safety Authority after a series of adverse safety incidents

Australians wanna disturb Tiger Air like 2011 is it?

Runifyouhaveto

Scoot Not Interested in Singapore’s Terminal 4 ‘Folly’, CEO Says
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-...in-singapore-s-terminal-4-folly-ceo-says.html

Changi airport’s Terminal Four, which is being designed to handle 16 million passengers a year when it opens in 2017, doesn’t have good enough connections to the rest of the airport, Scoot Airways Pte CEO Campbell Wilson said at a conference in Sydney today. T4 is short of slots for wide-body aircraft such as Scoot’s Boeing Co. 787s, he said. “This terminal is a big folly, frankly,” Wilson said at the event. “It really detracts from the whole purpose of building a hub airport in the first place and I think it would be a very severe retrograde step for Changi.”

Scoot Not Interested in Singapore’s Terminal 4 ‘Folly’, CEO Says
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-...in-singapore-s-terminal-4-folly-ceo-says.html

Changi airport’s Terminal Four, which is being designed to handle 16 million passengers a year when it opens in 2017, doesn’t have good enough connections to the rest of the airport, Scoot Airways Pte CEO Campbell Wilson said at a conference in Sydney today. T4 is short of slots for wide-body aircraft such as Scoot’s Boeing Co. 787s, he said. “This terminal is a big folly, frankly,” Wilson said at the event. “It really detracts from the whole purpose of building a hub airport in the first place and I think it would be a very severe retrograde step for Changi.”

Isn't Scoot a Singapore airline? My goodness FT is so daring to criticize?