• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Great! SG Airline LOST $$$Hundreds of Millions HUAT!

greedy and cunning

The airline business demonstrates the uselessness of the PAP and their GLCs without the protection of monopoly and oligopoly. Because the Airline industry is not protected by and monopolized by the PAP, its is exposed to the real market factors which dictate good business acumen to surv ice. how does a company like Tigerair populated by directors like por lumpar Temasek ex president Hsieh Fu Hua, civil servants like LTA's Arthur Lang, former Singpost director Lee Chong Kwee, etc. expect to out play the other budget airlines in the business? Imagine if real competition was introduced to all other sectors of business, like radio/tv stations, phone businesses, etc. These fuckers would be losing money hand over fist.

if scholars know how to do business
see pee F* would be paying you much better interest. :confused::confused::confused::confused:

aurvandil

The sale of old planes is a key profit center for SIA. This is why the decision by Bey Soo Khiang (former RSAF chief) to invest in the Airbus A380 is such a disaster. The Airbus A380 has been described as the world's fattest most expensive turkey. It is not cost effective to operate and will probably have very low resale value.

http://business.time.com/2013/10/23/airbus-may-be-making-the-worlds-fattest-most-expensive-turkey/

Add in the emergence of key rivals (Gulf airlines for business travelers, budget carriers for holiday makers) and we are looking at SIA bleeding $$$. It looks likely that SIA will be needing significant cash infusions (e.g from CPF after the $$$ has been magically "transformed") to stay viable.

In the old days, LKY and the rest of the PAP old guard used to gloat at the problems of US/Europe national carriers. Wonder what they will have to say now. :biggrin:

What SQ success? In the years when they were profitable, they made most of their money from selling planes. Because they keep ordering new ones to take advantage of cheap rates due to govt. guaranteed loans. Their profits from operations is good some years and not there in others. If you want them to compete one on one, they cannot. They have killed a lot of routes all over the world due to competition from chinese airlines.

Hans168

result of over paying pirates ... oops, pilots n bloody sucking useless VP & above incl CEO n board members

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
result of over paying pirates ... oops, pilots n bloody sucking useless VP & above incl CEO n board members

The pilot fly the damn aircraft. A 1st officer takes years of flying before he can do a conversion. I rather pay him than those useless VPs and CEO that are not suppose to be there

The sale of old planes is a key profit center for SIA. This is why the decision by Bey Soo Khiang (former RSAF chief) to invest in the Airbus A380 is such a disaster. The Airbus A380 has been described as the world's fattest most expensive turkey. It is not cost effective to operate and will probably have very low resale value.

That is why SingPAPpore's SAF scholarship system must be scrapped. We do not want these military morons getting employed in any commercial entities. If you want to be a general, you stay in uniform until you retire.

Hire from within your organization, preferably someone who worked from the bottom up, has a wealth of experience and understands the business.

aurvandil

The following Wiki link shows just how bad things are for the Airbus A380.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Airbus_a380

The break-even for the A380 was initially supposed to be reached by selling 270 units, but due to the delays and the falling exchange rate of the US dollar, it increased to 420 units. In 2010, EADS CFO Hans Peter Ring said that break-even (on the aircraft that are delivered) could be achieved by 2015, despite the delays; there should be around 200 deliveries by that time, on current projections.In 2012, Airbus clarified that in 2015, production costs to build the aircraft would be less than the sales price. As of March 2010 the average list price of an A380 was US$375.3 million (about €261 million or £229 million), depending on equipment installed. As of July 2012 this list price was US$390 million, but negotiated discounts made the actual prices much lower, and industry experts questioned whether the A380 project would ever pay for itself.

As of 2014, they have orders of 318 and delivery of 138. The Airbus A380 is therefore bleeding Airbus. It is not a a matter of if but when will Airbus cancel the A380 and announce phasing out of maintenance.

a380-takeoff.jpg

With regard to SIA, they have 19 of these turkeys in the air with another 4 on order.

http://www.singaporeair.com/en_UK/flying-with-us/ouraircraft/

That is why SingPAPpore's SAF scholarship system must be scrapped. We do not want these military morons getting employed in any commercial entities. If you want to be a general, you stay in uniform until you retire.

Hire from within your organization, preferably someone who worked from the bottom up, has a wealth of experience and understands the business.

Tuayapeh

SIA did well in the past,,but due to it being controlled by PAP yes men,,,they can even read the market changes,,,like u say,,the business is growing,,,if its growing how come SIA is having so much problems,,,for the AUst singapore route,,SIA is still the best, more comfortable, better food etc cos the other airlines are crap,,,,but going to USA etc,,,the middle eastern airlines have done welll

The SG_AU route is best serviced by Etihad (Brisbane/sydney) and Emirates (Melbourne)..................

Tuayapeh

lifeafter41

kong smlj.....

as if such conditions are novel in this industry or any other passenger carrying business.......

Find it very amusing that Scoot bring in the ang mo CEO to tell you the conditions are very tough, having said that, don't mind to do that, as the pay would still be solid.

I do understand the Tiger air CEO pay is more than S$2million, though it has been loss making for the last 5 quarters.
As for Scoot, maybe forummers can tell what is the remuneration of the CEO?.

maxxi

They never ask a Pilot but leave to Scholar to decide.

Cx never bgt the A380 as 2 engines enough to fly to all dest and cheaper to maintain,fuel costs etc.Plus the Airbus airplanes are flimsy and rickety compared to Boeing -so alot of repair needed.

Further more when recession strikes how to fill up 450 seats ?