• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP and the Art of Name Calling

xingguy

Below are excerpts from the article PAP and the Art of Name Calling
Click on link to view the full article.

Source: The Bullshit Politician smelling for bullshit

PAP and the Art of Name Calling
APRIL 21, 2014

bigot.jpg

Ever wonder why Singaporeans are called many names? From time to time, we see Singaporeans being labelled ‘Xenophobic’ or ‘Bigot’ or ‘Infantile’ and many more names. It seems very convenient for the media to employ name calling all the time, but are we really what they called us to be?

Just recently we have been called a ‘Bigot‘ and ‘Disgrace’ when there is conflict over the Philippine Independence Day event where Filipinos being targeted online for planning to celebrate their Independence Day in Singapore. Well, I’m not going into a lengthy discourse over that phenomenon. Let’s explore the underlying interest of the PAP controlled mainstream media and the Art of Name Calling (or Labeling).

Name Calling is a form of psychological abuse which can cause devastating effects that affects your inner thoughts and even exerts control over your life indirectly. It destroys healthy relationships even relationships with yourself.

Verbal bully is one of the forms of bullying. The objective is to intimidate others into complying (changing someone’s behavior due to the request, orders, or commands. Victim give in but not necessarily agree to their rules), or to make fun of others whilst drawing attention or encourage criticisms in the process of doing so. Media like Stomp! and the Saturday Straits Times are a few channels which likes to employ name calling to satisfy and increase their readership.

This is a good example:

pmet.jpg

Singapore PMET – Pampered, Mediocre, Expensive, Timid – when foreigners see such news do you think they will respect local PMETs?

As you can see the mainstream media employ such sweeping generalization with the use of Name Calling to achieve their underlying agendas (increase readership and profit making). They inadvertently created a perpetuating social stigma among different groups of people, the employers and employee group in this context. The media capable of influencing readers, they created the “Us vs Them” mentality and encourages criticism openly and erodes social cohesion. It creates group disharmony among the population through instigating faulty beliefs. The mainstream media acting like an outlaw that abuses media use in a socially irresponsible way, this is inconspicuous during election campaigns.

Name calling again; Xenophobia (see below)

xenophobia.jpg

Xenophobia – Published on Straits Times newspaper

Instead of addressing the social behavioral problem, the media resorts to Name Calling – calling Singaporeans Xenophobic. When in fact the hostile social behavior stems from their heedless immigration policies which impacted the social fabric and national resources. This underlying social dynamics is identified as Realistic Conflict Theory (When a new group of immigrants from a specific ethnic background arrive in great numbers, members of the group often met with profound prejudice because they were viewed as competitors for resources like jobs, public infrastructure, public spaces, social services, healthcare, education, etc)

From 2007 onwards, locals began to raise socioeconomic issues such as depressed wages, discrimination in favor of foreigners, soaring housing prices, high cost of living, overcrowding, etc

If Economic Sociology is thoroughly researched, decisions have been made more meticulously, it would have potentially forestalled many social problems. Is it due to Groupthink within their ranks, and the absence of opposing robust views that led to the mediocre decisions?

Now that they have failed (PM Lee has admitted the government did not have 20/20 foresight), trains are breaking down and overcrowding in public spaces is like everyday affairs. Shortage of hospital beds and now tents is the new IN thing. Qualified Singaporeans pushed out of their jobs to make way for foreigner’s old chums from back home. Wages never catching up with the cost of living, and many locals precipitated in myriads of social and economic problems.

The PAP, adroit at using the same insidious ruse now projects blames onto Singaporeans by calling them names, disguising it as criticism so as to gloss over their mistakes. At the same time, it distracts us from the very issues that plagues us, guiding us into our self-criticism.

ILovePAP

"For a person who runs a million-dollar charitable organisation, $600,000 is peanuts as it has a few hundred millions in reserves." - Mrs Goh Chok Tong

ILovePAP

"If you don't include your women graduates in your breeding pool and leave them on the shelf, you would end up a more stupid society...So what happens? There will be less bright people to support dumb people in the next generation. That's a problem." - MM Lee in 1983

ILovePAP

"We must encourage those who earn less than $200 per month and cannot afford to nurture and educate many children never to have more than two... We will regret the time lost if we do not now take the first tentative steps towards correcting a trend which can leave our society with a large number of the physically, intellecually and culturally anaemic." - MM Lee in 1967

ILovePAP

“People support CPF cuts because there are no protest outside parliament.” - PM Lee

WongMengMeng

“People support CPF cuts because there are no protest outside parliament.” - PM Lee

... ... one cannot simply tell half truths, as for instance in Dimmock v Hallett, where a land vendor said two farms were fully let but did not say the tenants had given notice to quit. This was misrepresentation.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Misrepresentation_in_English_law

In similar vein, by failing to mention that assemblies of four or more and now even one are illegal in Sinkieland, this Old FART has been proven to be a liar and con man.

The God of Equity has sent an angel to inform me to be wary of the different types of PAP IBs here.

kingrant

Some gems in name calling from the past (courtesy Old Fart):

1. Ultras and Albas
2. chauvinist
3. Irridentists
4. scruffy
5. Marxist Catholics
6. wooden

And from Woody:
1. quitters and stayers

The article is right, it is a form of abuse and should be stopped. Time to ask the politicians making such comments to shut up. And we should ignore all these comments ourselves as they are all biased and untruth.

Some gems in name calling from the past (courtesy Old Fart):

1. Ultras and Albas
2. chauvinist
3. Irridentists
4. scruffy
5. Marxist Catholics
6. wooden

And from Woody:
1. quitters and stayers

Yeah I remember that Old Bastard had screwed Tang Liang Hong quite badly with the 'Chinese chauvinist' label, bombarded all day and all night through the pro-PAP mainstream media.

And who could forget pak see buay zhao from Woody? What is your daughter then, asshole? :rolleyes:

oli9

Im pretty uncouth.
Normally my derogatory languages aimed at someone of high position runs along the Cantonese line.
Eg, tiu lei lou moh & ham kah chan are meaningful, pointy & usually gets the message across.
And fark those new England words.

Asterix

Lightning haters can also play the game and label PAP and their porlumpars as 有才無德 !

「有才無德」的人,對社會有很大破壞力.

In Engrish:

"Competent people who lack morals are the most dangerous, I would rather prefer incompetent people who have a [sense of] morality,"
- Former HK financial chief Antony Leung Kam-Chung

Capano2121

Lightning haters can also play the game and label PAP and their porlumpars as 有才無德 !

「有才無德」的人,對社會有很大破壞力.

In Engrish:

"Competent people who lack morals are the most dangerous, I would rather prefer incompetent people who have a [sense of] morality,"
- Former HK financial chief Antony Leung Kam-Chung

Are they even competent to start with?

extramarital

Name calling is usually a sign that they are at a loss on what to do

You are correct. Most of the anti-PAP forumers also resort to name calling like the ones stated below:

1. PAP is called ‘Pay And Pay’, ‘Papayas’, ‘PAPSMEAR’, ‘FAP’
2. LKY is called ‘Old Fart’, ‘Lee Con You’
3. LHL is called ‘Ass Loong’, ‘Gay Loong’
4. Lee Family is called ‘Lee Mafia’
5. Ho Ching is called ‘Ho Jinx’
6. Temasek is called ‘Temasick’
7. SIA is called ‘Sex In Air’
8. FTs are called ‘Foreign Trash’
9. NS is called ‘National Slavery’
10. Indians are called ‘Kelings’, ‘Ah Nehs’, ‘Shit Skin’
11. Caucasians are called ‘Ang Mohs’, ‘White Trash’
12. PRCians are called ‘Chinamen’, ‘Chinawomen’, 'Ah Tiongs', 'Tiong Bus', ‘Chinks’
13. Malays are called ‘Mats’
14. SPF officers are called ‘Poodles’
15. Kong Hee is called ‘Con Hee’
16. Ho Yeow Sun is called ‘Horse Face’, ‘Sun Whore’
17. Singapore is called ‘Peesai’, ‘Sinkapore’, ‘Singaporn’, ‘Sinkaporn’,
‘Stinkapore’, ‘Singapoor’
18. Singaporeans are called ‘Sinkees’, ‘Sinkies’, ‘Stinkies’, ‘Stinkees’
19. Hong Kongers are called ‘Hongkees’
20. Japanese are called ‘Japs’
21. Koreans are called ‘Kimchis’
22. T.T Durai is called ‘Durex’
23. DBS is called ‘DB ASS’
24. HDB flats are called ‘Pigeon Holes’
25. MediaCorp is called ‘MediaCorpse’
26. Straits Times is called ‘Shit Times’
27. Singapore’s Mass Media is called ‘154th’

And so on and so forth…

Let the person without calling others names cast the first stone at the mainstream media and PAP.

They threw the first stone. We're merely picking up that stone and throwing it back at them. No longer are we meek and turn the other cheek.