• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Minister claims Govt. cannot lower World Cup TV fees

congo9

Logic is simple here.

If you can charge a premium on a commodity and some are willing to pay for it, why not squeezed these dumb fucks ?

McDonaldsKid

What about Mediacorp?

Surely Singtel, Starhub and Mediacorp can work something out and offer it to us for free? In fact with fibre broadband now get all all the other ISPs and stream it online.

All share the costs lah!

McDonaldsKid

Why is GD talking to himself in this thread? Haha.

Oh and I thought Heng Chee How is married to a DS in one of the ministries?

if TCS promise fifa it free to air, surely fifa will charge lower rights fee. But knowing the arsehole, everything also count $$. since fifa know singtel can make big bucks so they charge huge rights fee which in turn hurt the consumers'pocket.

anyway plenty of free streaming available over internet. i been watching BPL matches via beijing tv channel over the web. yes the commentary is in manderin and sometime lag but then it free. Can also switch to cantonese commentary from guangzhou tv channel.

fark singtel, dun subscribe, furthermore i bet most matches will start around 2-3am which was the norm during 86 and 94 worldcup. i wont be surprise some matches start at 7am, how to watch at these timing, no need to work meh...

i just found out the kick off timing of the brazil world cup. i post the link here for all to see. By the way, it a 12hrs difference between singapore and brazil.

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/matches/

the opening match will be lima time 5pm, that 5am here while final is 4pm lima time.

see how many ahgongs will pay $100+ to watch matches at 4-5am.

in group stages, 3 matches a day, singapore time 1am, 4am and 6am.

if TCS promise fifa it free to air, surely fifa will charge lower rights fee. But knowing the arsehole, everything also count $$. since fifa know singtel can make big bucks so they charge huge rights fee which in turn hurt the consumers'pocket.

anyway plenty of free streaming available over internet. i been watching BPL matches via beijing tv channel over the web. yes the commentary is in manderin and sometime lag but then it free. Can also switch to cantonese commentary from guangzhou tv channel.

fark singtel, dun subscribe, furthermore i bet most matches will start around 2-3am which was the norm during 86 and 94 worldcup. i wont be surprise some matches start at 7am, how to watch at these timing, no need to work meh...

You don't need to put up with Chinese commentary. There are plenty of quality streams with English commentary and punditry. ITV, Sky Sports, Bein Sports (formerly Al Jazeera Sports).

For European non-English streams, there are French, Spanish, Portuguese and German sports channels.

There's even Astro tv from Malaysia, with Abbas Saad as a pundit. Nothing like the crap they serve up on Singtel MIO.

Save your money and watch an online stream.

i just found out the kick off timing of the brazil world cup. i post the link here for all to see. By the way, it a 12hrs difference between singapore and brazil.

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/matches/

the opening match will be lima time 5pm, that 5am here while final is 4pm lima time.

see how many ahgongs will pay $100+ to watch matches at 4-5am.

in group stages, 3 matches a day, singapore time 1am, 4am and 6am.

Great to be in NZ during the WC. Maybe Leongsam can host any bros going to NZ.

Just wondering the use of satellite dish for receiving satellite TV channels is illegal under what act? There are no active transmission on the satellite dish.

There are many set top boxes (C and Ku band) selling from 40 to 200 dollars (one time purchase) and you can received several hundred channels. High end ones comes with HD 1080 and recording functions.

These set top boxes might need to upgrade once in awhile but the good boxes can do online upgrades. There's even android apps for locating the satellites so you can point your dish to the right directons.

JHolmesJr

Its never free....even in msia, indonesia etc....its advertisers who foot the bill....but they can justify the numbers since 20-50 mill ppl are watching.

Advertisers in singoland see no value advertising on tv since theres about a million foreigners on menial wages plus 4 mill singos, out of whom 3 mill have poor purchasing power.

Streaming is the way to go.

cocobobo

Business Times

Published April 15, 2014

SingTel unlikely to profit from World Cup: Minister
Govt to review current cross- carriage policy and anti-siphoning list

this one really dont know what to say.
nobody ask singtel to bid for wc, they go and bid.
now they kanna bummed sideways by fifa, kanna fuck by sinkees, and best is end up make no money.

Govt should just unravel singtel, let more competent foreign players take over the more complex business of satellite tv, mobile and broadband.
What remains of the present singtel and its management can focus on payphones, land lines and telegram.
That's their appropriate competence level.

Govt should just unravel singtel, let more competent foreign players take over the more complex business of satellite tv, mobile and broadband. What remains of the present singtel and its management can focus on payphones, land lines and telegram.

Please lah, Singtel is a Familee business, run by Pinky's female cousin.

ms_chua_sock_koong_shares_the_success_of_singtel_1.jpg

LEGEND

this one really dont know what to say.
nobody ask singtel to bid for wc, they go and bid.
now they kanna bummed sideways by fifa, kanna fuck by sinkees, and best is end up make no money.

Govt should just unravel singtel, let more competent foreign players take over the more complex business of satellite tv, mobile and broadband.
What remains of the present singtel and its management can focus on payphones, land lines and telegram.

Cannot lah, how is Ho Jinx going to cover the sum lost in overseas investments? Local investments all Bao Jiak one you know?

rodent2005

Stupid sinkees, don't watch World Cup will die issit? Other people win world cup your lives will be better is it?

What's wrong with you asshole? Sinkie life already so stressed and pressurize, watch some football, enjoy for a couple of hours, and forget about your troubles..................you not happy? Fuck off.

zeebjii

In the first place it was Singtel who fucked up the market by a major bid to get the BPL rights n we r fucked after that ... Each nego based on the previous pricing

CB Singtel for cocking it up

Singtel never cocked up. All were planned carefully to squeeze sinkies dry. Everything, every little step..singtel 'winning' EPL rights from starhub, WC rights.

Yes, that's right, our govt only good at exploiting its own citizens.

They tried to do that with SPH mediawork, realised cannot milk $$ from sinkies through free-to-air channel tv and promptly closed it down within a few years.

Can even staged fake quarrels between singtel and starbub over soccer rights. Worse than a communist country.

Always remember, both singtel and starhub are majority owned by our govt. Just like HDB and CPF, Singtel and Starhub are partners in crime to squeeze sinkies left and right.

Singtel never cocked up. All were planned carefully to squeeze sinkies dry. Everything, every little step..singtel 'winning' EPL rights from starhub, WC rights.

Yes, that's right, our govt only good at exploiting its own citizens.

Can even staged fake quarrel between singtel and starbub over soccer rights. Worse than a communist country.

They tried to do that with SPH mediawork, realised cannot milk $$ from sinkies through free-to-air channel tv and promptly closed it down within a few years.

Always remember, both singtel and starhub are majority owned by our govt. Just like HDB and CPF, Singtel and Starhub are partners in crime to squeeze sinkies left and right.

To be fair, Singtel started the nonsense by taking away the EPL broadcasting rights from Starhub by obscene outbidding. Starhub was genuinely caught unaware and outraged. It happened under Lui Tuck Yew's watch, when he was the Information Minister.

Yes, the same Lui Tuck Yew whom you are depending on to solve all your public transport problems. :rolleyes:

knnbccb here in Siam can watch everywhere free. Even when you have supper in Teochew porridge joint its bloody free. Sinkapore really kelong man.