• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Avoiding Alzheimier

Currently the major health problems are cancers & heart problems. Something which may not yet be a problem is dementia(alzheimier). However as the population gets older we may see more cases of alzheimier. Especially since Sporeans are eating a more western diet.

So how do you minimize the risk of getting dementia:confused:

The article I read mentions that eating a gluten free diet improves alzheimier. So even if you are not allergic to glutton it might be healthier to go glutton free.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gluten-free_diet

So to minimize the chances of getting problems, one should:
avoid gluten
limit grain & sugar
eat more fat: cholesterol is good for your brain. If you are vegetarian you fave to ensure you get enough veg fats.
exercise
drink water: drink half your weight in ounces everyday e.g. someone who is 150 pounds should drink 75 ounces(9 glasses)
avoid processed foods: includes white sugar, white rice, white bread. Eat organic
coffee is good: If you don't like coffee, take a look at green coffee http://www.iherb.com/search?sug=green coffee&kw=greencoffee&rank=1#p=1
take supplements for the brain

Supplements that are known to improve brain function:
Hericium erinaceus aka lions mane http://www.iherb.com/search?sug=hericium erinaceus&kw=hericium e&rank=1#p=1
phosphatidylserine http://www.iherb.com/search?sug=phosphatidyl serine&kw=phosphat&rank=9#p=1
pycnogenol http://www.iherb.com/search?sug=pycnogenol&kw=pyc&rank=1#p=1
coconut oil http://www.iherb.com/search?sug=coconut oil&kw=coconut &rank=4#p=1

other things to consider: curcumin, ginseng, vtamin E, L-carnitine, DHEA, huperzine A,...

Very interesting to know dementia risk can be minimised. I've bought a small bottle of coconut oil some time ago, this will motivate me to start drinking it..

God Meng Seng

You have time to worry about all these disease. I worry about my ADHD and OCD enough for me to worry already. I cannot find girlfriend because no gal willing to bear with my condition

Very interesting to know dementia risk can be minimised. I've bought a small bottle of coconut oil some time ago, this will motivate me to start drinking it..

My grand parents never had the health problems that are so common nowadays. Something is going wrong in Spore & I don't want to be included in that statistic. If I can I am willing to spend $ to take precautions.

Alzheimer is scary because those who suffer from it don't know until it's too late. If you have it might already be too late. In the article I read, the wife gave the husband 3 teaspoons of coconut oil in his meals, twice a day. It's not that difficult to include coconut oil in your diet. I use virgin coconut oil in my cooking. The brand I use goes nicely on toast.

For more background on why cooconut oil helps with alzheimer take a look at http://coconutketones.blogspot.sg/

Eat more fishes.
Fish contains good cholesterol.

The problem with eating fish is that nowadays our environment is polluted & the pollution may affect the fish that we eat. Even taking fish oil may be a problem as there is a problem with rancid oils.
The bigger the fish, the more likely that it will be polluted.

That is why I am supplementing with capsules of Krill oil. Krill is sustainable & less likely to be tainted with pollutants. I also add flax seed oil to my juices. I also take wheat germ oil. If you are taking ubiquinol or CoQ10 it will work better with the oils

My grand parents never had the health problems that are so common nowadays. Something is going wrong in Spore & I don't want to be included in that statistic. If I can I am willing to spend $ to take precautions.

Alzheimer is scary because those who suffer from it don't know until it's too late. If you have it might already be too late. In the article I read, the wife gave the husband 3 teaspoons of coconut oil in his meals, twice a day. It's not that difficult to include coconut oil in your diet. I use virgin coconut oil in my cooking. The brand I use goes nicely on toast.

For more background on why cooconut oil helps with alzheimer take a look at http://coconutketones.blogspot.sg/

For Alzheimer, one of my favorite aunty is now suffering from mild Alzheimer. The family is doing well so not so much of financial issue. More of mental stress for those around her. I understand they have problems remembering recent events but can recall events in detail that happened 30-40 years ago.

I don't have alzheimier but I do suffer from memory problems which may be due to poor blood circulation. I suffer from hardening of the arteries which affects my memory. That is why I was looking at supplements that help with brain activity. I'll be trying Lions mane to see if it helps :o

You should suggest some of the brain supplements to your relatives because it might slow down or improve your aunts condition.

I don't have alzheimier but I do suffer from memory problems which may be due to poor blood circulation. I suffer from hardening of the arteries which affects my memory. That is why I was looking at supplements that help with brain activity. I'll be trying Lions mane to see if it helps :o

You should suggest some of the brain supplements to your relatives because it might slow down or improve your aunts condition.
Thanks Johnny, you have always been helpful. My aunty case is typical old auntie case. Like to worry everything and anything. She also has high blood pressure. Personally, I feel her kids/grandkids need to spend more time with her. If possible, I would like to pay her a visit soon.

shctaw

2 thing you can look into.....

1. Vitamin B17 (world without cancer)
http://pdf.amazingdiscoveries.org/World_Without_Cancer.pdf

2. Bob Beck protocol.
[video=youtube;xMlXd9hLpcY]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xMlXd9hLpcY[/video]

I am not teaching anything here...... do your own research.

Currently the major health problems are cancers & heart problems. Something which may not yet be a problem is dementia(alzheimier). However as the population gets older we may see more cases of alzheimier. Especially since Sporeans are eating a more western diet.

So how do you minimize the risk of getting dementia:confused:

The article I read mentions that eating a gluten free diet improves alzheimier. So even if you are not allergic to glutton it might be healthier to go glutton free.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gluten-free_diet

So to minimize the chances of getting problems, one should:
avoid gluten
limit grain & sugar
eat more fat: cholesterol is good for your brain. If you are vegetarian you fave to ensure you get enough veg fats.
exercise
drink water: drink half your weight in ounces everyday e.g. someone who is 150 pounds should drink 75 ounces(9 glasses)
avoid processed foods: includes white sugar, white rice, white bread. Eat organic
coffee is good: If you don't like coffee, take a look at green coffee http://www.iherb.com/search?sug=green coffee&kw=greencoffee&rank=1#p=1
take supplements for the brain

Supplements that are known to improve brain function:
Hericium erinaceus aka lions mane http://www.iherb.com/search?sug=hericium erinaceus&kw=hericium e&rank=1#p=1
phosphatidylserine http://www.iherb.com/search?sug=phosphatidyl serine&kw=phosphat&rank=9#p=1
pycnogenol http://www.iherb.com/search?sug=pycnogenol&kw=pyc&rank=1#p=1
coconut oil http://www.iherb.com/search?sug=coconut oil&kw=coconut &rank=4#p=1

other things to consider: curcumin, ginseng, vtamin E, L-carnitine, DHEA, huperzine A,...

I understand they have problems remembering recent events but can recall events in detail that happened 30-40 years ago.

My aunt is the same. About 90 or 91. She is able to recall her childhood days very clearly. Stories consistent with what she narrated before. But events past few hours, days, weeks and months all cant recall.

Yeah, GD. From siblings info, During last CNY , out of sudden, she asked all the relatives how come I go sailing (Gia Zhun) so long? Also tell everyone I very dee siao when young. Really malu sia.

Thanks for the link. Yeah Alzheimer is very serious in future when the elderly in Spore will have less family support than now due to lesser family members. So if can help to minimise risk of contracting the disease should always try.

Oh I find the coconut oil brand I bought is not that tasty and affect the taste of the food and don't like the coconut aroma when cooking. So i decided to just drink it instead but not very motivated to do so. Just took one teaspoon, not that bad on its own. The bottle label say can drink it two or four tablespoons daily.

Thanks for the link. Yeah Alzheimer is very serious in future when the elderly in Spore will have less family support than now due to lesser family members. So if can help to minimise risk of contracting the disease should always try.

Oh I find the coconut oil brand I bought is not that tasty and affect the taste of the food and don't like the coconut aroma when cooking. So i decided to just drink it instead but not very motivated to do so. Just took one teaspoon, not that bad on its own. The bottle label say can drink it two or four tablespoons daily.

I am using the Nutiva brand which I get from iHerb.com for all my cooking. I have even used it on toast & it is tasty & if you read the comments for this brand, there are many who like this brand. I have been satisfied with this brand & haven't tried the other brands. Suggest you try the Nutiva or the other brands because taste may differ.

However if you really don't like the taste of coconut oil you can get the pill form http://www.iherb.com/search?sug=coconut oil&kw=cocnu&rank=5#p=1

We can't rely on a good health care system in Spore. Even if you can afford it, we all know about the uncaring foreigners in the system. They will of course cut corners when no one is watching or even abuse the vulnerable old. So you have take care of yourself because no one else will. Even if you have caring relatives you don't want to burden them with your problems.

I am using the Nutiva brand which I get from iHerb.com for all my cooking. I have even used it on toast & it is tasty & if you read the comments for this brand, there are many who like this brand. I have been satisfied with this brand & haven't tried the other brands. Suggest you try the Nutiva or the other brands because taste may differ.

However if you really don't like the taste of coconut oil you can get the pill form http://www.iherb.com/search?sug=coconut oil&kw=cocnu&rank=5#p=1

We can't rely on a good health care system in Spore. Even if you can afford it, we all know about the uncaring foreigners in the system. They will of course cut corners when no one is watching or even abuse the vulnerable old. So you have take care of yourself because no one else will. Even if you have caring relatives you don't want to burden them with your problems.

Oh thank you for recommending, will try Nutiva some time. Mine is the Country Farm Organic brand bought from supermarket, initially bought the small bottle just to make up the sum for discount but now that know coconut oil got help anti dementia then can seriously look into it haha..