• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Justification for the COE System,.

• Thread starter Deleted member 80916
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 80916

Hello to the Experts,..

Appreciate Your comments, rebuttals to this reply I got, from LTA,..

Quote,..

"Please allow us to clarify that
the sale of pre-owned cars are not regulated and are transacted based on a willing-buyer and willing-seller basis.

The Vehicle Quota System (VQS) that manages the growth of our vehicle population may not be perfect,
but it is the most efficient and transparent way to allocate the scarce Certificates of Entitlement (COEs).
We adopt an open bidding approach to allocate such a scarce, but non-basic, resource as the COE.

Through bidding, the price of the COE is determined by the demand for them, and COEs will be allocated to those who value them most.

The quota premium (QP) of motorcycle COEs, and of all other vehicles, is therefore an outcome of the market forces at work. "

Unlike public housing, education and basic healthcare,
it is not possible to treat car ownership as a basic need, given our country's circumstances.
Instead, most of the transport needs have to be met by our public transport system,
in which we are investing heavily to develop and improve. "

Unquote.

What do You think ?

Thanks

sochi2014

Coe is okay open bidding drives up prices. Making it more expensive to own cars. Or only the rich can own cars. Which is socially and morally wrong.

Families should be able to own cars because you are optimizing the maximum usage of the car.

Singapore is a sad country to live in this century. 24 mile up down and 50 mile left right and now want 6.9M people.

Cant think of any logic and yet build such a big airport takes up land space and ever over crowding air spaces waiting for accident to happen.

Before globalization shuts down, think about leaving and then go back as FTs, legs on 2 boats better than 1.

Now more unemployed driving taxis clogged up roads, never ending layers of problems 走吧 去比较大的国家。

Coe is okay open bidding drives up prices. Making it more expensive to own cars. Or only the rich can own cars. Which is socially and morally wrong.

Families should be able to own cars because you are optimizing the maximum usage of the car.

bic_cherry

Hello to the Experts,..
Appreciate Your comments, rebuttals to this reply I got, from LTA,..
"Please allow us to clarify that
the sale of pre-owned cars are not regulated and are transacted based on a willing-buyer and willing-seller basis.
The Vehicle Quota System (VQS) that manages the growth of our vehicle population may not be perfect,
but it is the most efficient and transparent way to allocate the scarce Certificates of Entitlement (COEs).
We adopt an open bidding approach to allocate such a scarce, but non-basic, resource as the COE.
Through bidding, the price of the COE is determined by the demand for them, and COEs will be allocated to those who value them most.
The quota premium (QP) of motorcycle COEs, and of all other vehicles, is therefore an outcome of the market forces at work. "
Unlike public housing, education and basic healthcare,
it is not possible to treat car ownership as a basic need, given our country's circumstances.
Instead, most of the transport needs have to be met by our public transport system,
in which we are investing heavily to develop and improve. "

What do You think ?

Thanks
Dis reply is okay on the surface only. Yes, driving pte car is a luxury, somewhat like alcohol, holidays and even smoking: BUT ONLY IF THERE ARE GOOD VIABLE ALTERNATIVES. e.g. drink plain water, go sentosa/ ECP, exercise/ go movie respectively.

Transport might be a necessity, but pte travel by motor car isn't (there is proof that besides being pollutive, it also takes up much more space compared to pub tpst and bicycle tpst).

Point is, both public transport and bicycle transport must be both user friendly and inexpensive: the fewer people will desire owning cars: that way, COE prices can still be relatively affordable though always more dear: due to the prestige (more space take up)/ increased air pollution caused ultimately.

In conclusion, both public transport and bicycle transport options in Singapore have to be improved tremendously.

Public transport fares shouldn't be hiked if at all possible:
fare-hike.jpg
(IMG URL)

Efficient use of road space for shorter distances, ride bicycle is better:
"In the space it takes to accommodate 60 cars, cities can accommodate around sixteen buses or more than 600 bikes. As Australia’s population swells and our cities experience ever increasing congestion we need to get smarter about how we use existing road space—including investing more in alternatives such as public transport and cycling—if we are to move people more efficiently and effectively.” said former professional cyclist Stephen Hodge (Australia).
7999178447_e3e87542fe_o.jpg

IMG SOURCE
CanberraTransportPhoto.jpg

Münster's iconic 'waste of space' photo keeps on giving - Bikehub - http://www.bikehub.co.uk
Related:
- Public transport in Singapore: Ride bicycle is faster.

3_M

Basic need on car ownership is base on individual situation and not national circumstances.

In any case why COE is only valid for 10 years since a car lifespan can last up till 30 years or more? And shouldn't the COE be pegged to car owner and not the car itself?

Kuailan

Singapore is a sad country to live in this century. 24 mile up down and 50 mile left right and now want 6.9M people.

Cant think of any logic and yet build such a big airport takes up land space and ever over crowding air spaces waiting for accident to happen.

Before globalization shuts down, think about leaving and then go back as FTs, legs on 2 boats better than 1.

Now more unemployed driving taxis clogged up roads, never ending layers of problems 走吧 去比较大的国家。

Sickapoor everything also want to be number One! Airport number One, ICA at Tuas Number Hugh Complex but ICA counter operate like 3rd world country, 2 lanes and 5 booths are opened every time causing bad JAM, whereas the 2nd Link Malaysian
side crossing was a breeze.. So ICA causing Jam is an ART! JB and Causeway famous JAM every day!!

You may some questions, they say Security is our concern, causing JAM is nothing!! who ask u to go JB??

Ngiam Tong Dow ever asked oldman wow!! COE sure make a lot of money from motorists, oldman said, "Yes!"
one way to get money from Sickapoorean, to this day LTA has been extorting billions from motorists!

Its' no more bidding LTA determine the amount they wished, it's sky the limit!! Motorcar distributors can KPKB
COE will never come down!!

escher

PAP screw stupid stinkies for money for themselves and for smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds by the hundreds of billions and tell
all kind of fucked up stories that all that done for your own good.
While those PAP bastards laugh all the way to their fucking banks

STRING THEM WITH PIANO WIRES FROM LAMP POSTS

garlic

If one can afford it, it's justified. If cannot afford it, it's unjustifiable.... In SG, everything is expensive and we can no longer afford the ministers..

3_M

So we discussed this when we had the Economic Review Committee a few years ago which I chaired and we decided to make a major policy shift to shift from ownership to usage so that we could bring down the ownership taxes, ARF, excise duty and so on, we could issue more COEs (Certificates of Entitlement) so that they will be more affordable, then we could enable more people to afford cars but to do all these good things, we would have to push up ERP (Electronic Road Pricing) so that we can control traffic jams on the roads. And in fact, we have moved decisively on that.

Lee hsien loong 2008.

Looks like he decided not to honour on what he promised. So with lesser COE, shouldn't the gov reduce ERP? Instead we are face with a double whammy of higher coe and ERP.

COE are decide by supply and demand. Bidding price agree by the buyer.
If cannot afford just don't drive or KPKB here and jam up the road traffic.
Before year 2000 many just take MRT/Bus/taxi that time no one complaining COE price high.

COE is the best LKY ideas and the worst ideas is 2 child policy.

ahbohthen

PAP screw stupid stinkies for money for themselves and for smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds by the hundreds of billions and tell
all kind of fucked up stories that all that done for your own good.
While those PAP bastards laugh all the way to their fucking banks

STRING THEM WITH PIANO WIRES FROM LAMP POSTS

So when do you think they will up the GST?

They must have naughty thoughts on that already.

kukubird58

hahaha......GST will definitely be raise from the present 7%, there is no doubt about this...
the question is when (probably within next 5 years) and by how much (probably 3%).....u better be warned.

winners

“Well, everybody has a car, we have two — my wife drives one, I drive one. We are both professionals, we need to travel.” - Quote of the year from Ass Doctor Koh Poh Koon.

enterprise2

If Singapore consists of 2-3 million Singaporeans, then no problem. Enough for everyone. COE will be under $10k, HDB under $100k, lots of space for everyone. When u try to jam pack 7m people, everything goes up. Common sense, rite!!

Wrong leh! Crime went down, bro.

melzp

Coe for motorbikes must split into A) Luxury... B) below 150/200cc
$4k plus coe, u can buy more than 2 bikes in neighbour countries.
ERP gantry charges for bikes are pegged to Half of Car; whereby small biker
is earning less than half of car owner.
Either increase more erp/coe for car OR reduce more for biker.
No wonder wage gap is huge.