• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Compulsory National Slavery fitness programmes for poly students?

xingguy

Source: TR EMERITUS

Compulsory NS fitness programmes for poly students?
April 6th, 2014

nationalservice1.jpg

The life of a male Singaporean is tough. Not only does he have to compete with foreigners for jobs, he has to undergo 2 years of national service (NS) and be an “Operationally-Ready” National Serviceman (NSman) for the next 20 to 30 years, protecting Singapore and, of course, the foreigners working in Singapore.

As if the life of a male Singaporean is not tough enough, some participants at a public forum organised by MINDEF yesterday (5 Apr) proposed having compulsory fitness programmes for male polytechnic students. This is to help them gear up for NS.

The forum was organised by MINDEF to discuss ways to boost physical fitness before NS. It also discussed ways to help NSmen keep fit. The suggestions will be considered by a high-level committee which is set to announce its recommendations in the middle of the year.

It was noted that the passing rate of fitness tests among polytechnic students is only 30%, lower than JCs and ITEs. Educators at the forum said the pass rate for JC students is between 70% and 80%, and about 50% for ITEs.

Choo Keng Hui, director of student development at Singapore Polytechnic, said, “In Singapore Poly, there are about 50 different courses, or close to 50 different courses, and every course has a different curriculum.”

“A compulsory structure (fitness programme)… will require a lot of planning and coordination, and we need some time before we can put this programme through.”

Chan Chun Sing, Second Minister for Defence, said:

"This is something MINDEF will want to work closely with the polytechnics to see how we can institute more structured programmes in the form of… more regular NAPFA (National Physical Fitness Award) fitness testing, diet and lifestyle recommendations to help them keep fit, and also how to institute the mindset whereby individual students take ownership of their fitness."

Question: Is this not the purpose of the 2-year NS stint – to boost the enlistees’ physical fitness and train them to be soldiers?

What if the passing rates of fitness tests at polytechnics, JCs and ITEs are still deemed not good enough? Do we then initiate compulsory fitness programmes at secondary or even primary school level to ensure that our boys are all “commando-fit” when they enter NS?

Meanwhile, PRs who can opt out of NS, and foreign students who are sponsored by Singapore taxpayers, do not need to worry about such “hassles”. They just need to focus on their studies to get more scholarship funding from the foreigner-loving Singapore government.

1379893_662393663793624_1970340724_n.jpg

Clearly detached from ground sentiments. Already locals are wondering why we are even doing NS only for some to end up driving taxi never to see the middle or end of their chosen vocation.

First thing they have to do is yank the PRs of foreigners whose whole family has PR except their sons who are on dependent pass just to avoid NS. And they are studying in fucking polytechnics.

Proof me wrong you arseholes.

xingguy

Clearly detached from ground sentiments. Already locals are wondering why we are even doing NS only for some to end up driving taxi never to see the middle or end of their chosen vocation.

First thing they have to do is yank the PRs of foreigners whose whole family has PR except their sons who are on dependent pass just to avoid NS. And they are studying in fucking polytechnics.

The scums in white have bastardize NS with their white horse scheme and 12 years deferment for the "elites" :mad:

1899944_684212151601917_224459991_n.jpg

1384169_420556228049832_1111083694_n.jpg

LEGEND

"Meanwhile, PRs who can opt out of NS, and foreign students who are sponsored by Singapore taxpayers, do not need to worry about such “hassles”. They just need to focus on their studies to get more scholarship funding from the foreigner-loving Singapore government."

Song boh?

Why the fark not have compulsory fitness training boot camp during ns?we have 2 farming years to waste and its not like we are doing anything useful either.I was a bui bui during NS and I could have used a couple months of physical training before that bullshyt BMT.I mean seriously how much weight can u lose in 3 months?

they should go two steps further by starting ns fitness programs at secondary school level. sinkie boys are wimps and wussies, and it's only through tough ns physical and mental programs that they can man up. otherwise, they can't and cunt compare to ang mo tua kee, who are many times manlier than the manliest sinkie momma boy. :wink:

GoldenPeriod

Have you ever wondered
Why we must serve
'cause LKY told us so
and so, it must be so.

Looking all around us
People everywhere
Children having fun
But we are holding guns
Have you ever wondered
Why we must serve
'cause LKY told us so
we have to be slaves.

rushifa666

Oh yes please give rebellious youngsters rifles as early as possible. What a great idea. I hope the chief of army learn the lesson firsthand

NS is a walk in the park. It's nothing more than a summer camp where all your fun is paid for by the government.

Why anyone would kick up a fuss about doing NS in this day and age is beyond me.

JPMorgan888

NS in itself is fine and generally tolerable.

If you really have your ears on the ground, it is the commutual repugnance to bureaucratic inflexibility accorded to reservist and IPPT for NSmen.