• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

It takes an Indian to tell Sinkies you have bloody bad English

So sinkies please buck up your English the next time you go any meet your MP session

Singaporeans 'fare poorly in spoken English', says MP Hri Kumar Nair

They lack confidence in articulating their views, says MP

Published on Apr 04, 2014
8:26 AM

By Carolyn Khew

kumarnsgen040414e.jpg

While Singapore teens have been proven to do well in problem-solving, Singaporeans still fare poorly in spoken English and lack confidence in articulating their views, said Member of Parliament Hri Kumar Nair yesterday.

Far too often, he shared on his Facebook page, he has attended meetings where Singaporeans kept silent, giving the impression they are ignorant.

So, although Singapore teens scored well in the Programme for International Student Assessment (Pisa) released on Tuesday, beating students from 43 other economies in its problem-solving test, there is still room for improvement. Singaporeans he dealt with are mostly "hardworking, knowledgeable and have a deep sense of responsibility and commitment to their work", said the Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC MP. "But they are often let down by their standard of spoken English and a lack of confidence to persuade or articulate their views on their feet. Many employers I know share this view," the lawyer added.

These are what he considers important aspects of education which Pisa does not test.

"However skilled you are at problem-solving and however many hours you spend at your desk, you will not likely make a strong impression in the business world if you are unable to communicate your thoughts and ideas effectively," he said.

He had attended many meetings where he had observed that "Singaporeans keep silent while others dominate the discussion, thus giving the impression that the latter are more knowledgeable or capable".

"If you say nothing, people will assume that you have nothing to contribute. That is a serious disadvantage if you are competing for a job, a promotion or a project."

Mr Erman Tan, president of the Singapore Human Resource Institute, said the importance of being outspoken is weighed differently by firms. "Some may like that you're outspoken because it means you engage more but some might think that you're not respecting your bosses or not a team player."

Singapore International Chamber of Commerce chief executive Phillip Overmyer said that while older Singaporeans may be less outspoken, younger ones are quite the opposite.

"What I'm seeing a lot... is that younger groups are much more open... They want to know what they can do to make things better. They're more outspoken and they tell you what they think," he said.

lianbeng

lianbeng replies: sorry i'm a Singaporean Chinese, not British English or American English! :biggrin: i'm proud of my Singlish! dun anyhow say hor!

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
The Indians from India have terrible spoken English too. Most times, I can't understand what the fuck they are trying to articulate. What's worse is their habit to act like they know everything by being argumentative. Is that what the ah neh wants us to be?

Typical Ah Neh trait - Over promise under deliver

AungSanSuShi

Chinese also say Sinkies speak poorly too. Many Sinkies have the impression that LKY, LHL and GCT have good accents. In fact their accents are characteristic of the educated elites of Southeast Asia before WWII. During that period, educated Burmese and Malays also spoke with that accent. Despite the fact that both LKY and his sons were educated in the UK for many years, their accents are still Malayan (Southeast Asian).

Tuayapeh

whatever..............

if the fucking clowns who come here cannot get with the programme and try to understand singlish.....then fuck off home to wherever you are from....but please dont mix singlish up with chinglish and kelinglish or myanmarlish hor ccb..............

groinroot

When you import native Chinks, Ahnehs, Pinoys and what not, by the thousands, can you expect good English to flourish here?

Ash007

he also forgot to mention that sinkies chinese can't communicate in mandarin as well. perhaps singlish should be the national language.

Tuayapeh

he also forgot to mention that sinkies chinese can't communicate in mandarin as well. perhaps singlish should be the national language.

Thank you LKY for creating a nation full of pwa-tang-sais!!!!!!!!!

KNNBBNCB

The Indians from India have terrible spoken English too. Most times, I can't understand what the fuck they are trying to articulate. What's worse is their habit to act like they know everything by being argumentative. Is that what the ah neh wants us to be?

Typical Ah Neh trait - Over promise under deliver

Indian have terrible smells too. Their stinko can kill you.

You're the one to talk, Ah Neh. :rolleyes:

Here is a sample of English typically spoken by Ah Neh FT lecturers.

[video=youtube;Ta8-g4iZ2Hs]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ta8-g4iZ2Hs[/video]

ZorrorroZ

Of course.. this thread reiterates what Sam Leong says.. Ang Moh is da best... to speak Ang Moh language.

He must have been speaking to Mong Seng or Ah Heng recently. LOL .............. LOL

Bytheway, is this the fellow who was pictured with the shocked wide eyed look and drank water from the water tank? Or the other one? LOL .......... LOL

LOL .............. LOL