• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Combat obesity with 'fat' tax (NOT!!!)

bic_cherry

My reply to Combat obesity with 'fat' tax :

Dr Lam must be Sinkies politician, always finding excuses to use the stick to make $$$. Can I suggest an annual reward (/carrot) system like for NSmen IPPT but physical fitness test is run by private companies: if a certain grade is met, then a certain cash stipend is paid. This grade can be in the form of cholesterol levels, diabetes state, smoker/nonsmoker, blood pressure, BMI, time taken to run 2.4km/ swim 1km or stationary cycle 20km/ sit ups in 2 minutes or skipping 3mins/ wheelchair spinning 2.4km etc: a total score (lab test plus fitness test) stratified according to age. Everyone gets the same stipend, ~$300/annum, however, only those with good results get it in cash, the rest/ absentees get it as medisave top-ups vs cash with medisave top-ups in greater proportion. Those with spectacular results (top 33%) get a small cash bonus e.g. $100 more for their efforts and setting a good example for the rest.
Three chances to take the physical test and the annual blood tests at polyclinic are FOC, anything else is chargeable and people take the physical fitness test at their own risk (just pon the thingie if afraid, then all cash 'health incentive' goes 100% to medisave)

Those who cannot do any of the aerobic activities including the wheel chair option perhaps shouldn't object to the medisave top up. Guess if medisave is topped up to certain limit, than Edusave is topped up and eventually the guy gets (unlikely) overflow in $$$.

All food is taxed already under 7% GST, difficult to impose sugar/ fat vices tax: ICA already has problems stopping people from sneaking in, don't give them extra headache.

With this preventive health scheme, $300 from medisave p.a. can be claimed on preventive healthcare reform including authorised gym membership and fees for other health activities: e.g. $20 sponsorship of sports activity/ 100% payment for govt dietitian/ physio visits etc.

Budget expense $$$ calculations:
SG population (2013)= ~3.313million, PR=531,200. Suppose each Singaporean receives $300, upper 1/3 get $100 bonus, PR get half of anything Singaporean gets,
Population strength value= 3.5786million.
Total annual budget cost= 3.5786million X $333 = $1191.6738million.
Healthcare spending to hit S$12b by 2020, says Tharman
The government's projected healthcare spending is expected to triple to S$12 billion a year by 2020, up from S$4 billion in 2011. Healthcare spending, he said, will reach S$8 billion in 2015 -- a year earlier than what had initially been projected.
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/healthcare-spending-to/1021468.html
Given that gahmen healthcare spending is set to "hit $8billion by 2015", I guess spending $1.192 billion on preventive healthcare is perhaps peanuts in this respect, (rather than hit "S$12 billion a year by 2020")
The Straits Times, Published on Apr 01, 2014
Combat obesity with 'fat' tax
ONE in eight people in the world is undernourished, yet people in affluent nations like Singapore are wasting food, at the retail and consumer stages, at an alarming rate ("More food going to waste"; March 19).
Another big problem is overindulgence in food, leading to obesity.
The obesity epidemic has become a worldwide phenomenon. Singapore has not been spared - our adult obesity rate increased from 6.9 per cent in 2004 to 10.8 per cent in 2010.
Obesity is a major cause of diabetes, stroke and cardiovascular disease. If the obesity epidemic is allowed to grow unfettered, it will take a toll on our health-care system.
The weakest link in our fight against obesity is complacency - mainly because the condition does not kill someone quickly and easily.
The Health Promotion Board has done its utmost to encourage healthy eating through public education and collaboration with the food and beverage industry to provide healthier options.
But gorging is still common in food centres, fast-food outlets and eat-all-you-can buffets.
In tandem with existing efforts, a "sugar" and "fat" tax of at least 20 per cent to 30 per cent ought to "shock" Singaporeans into changing their eating habits.
Taxes on vices are not new - we already have high tobacco and alcohol taxes.

Taxing unhealthy food, such as sugary drinks and junk food, will hopefully induce people to opt for healthier food, which needs to be cheaper than unhealthy food.
The marketing of unhealthy food, much of which are addictive, also needs to be controlled, similar to measures against the advertising of cigarettes and alcohol.
Food supply chains need to adhere uniformly to health guidelines.
Singaporeans must be convinced that reducing the prevalence of obesity will significantly cut their future medical costs and universal health insurance premiums.
Let us learn the lessons of tobacco use - the ill effects of smoking were discovered 50 years ago, and it was only decades later that our Government took action - rather belatedly.
In short, take the scourge of obesity seriously - now.
Edmund Lam (Dr)
Copyright © 2014 Singapore Press Holdings. All rights reserved.
http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-letters/story/combat-obesity-fat-tax-20140401

bic_cherry

Penny-pinch prizes average= S$1/pax: "One Million Kg Challenge"= FAIL

Penny-pinch prizes average= S$1/pax: "One Million Kg Challenge"= FAIL..
shadowcast said:
Thread source (SGC): Combat obesity with 'fat' tax (NOT!!!)
Why is no body talking about the be rewarded for fitness campaign recently?
wxBe6fr.jpg

Because the prizes are peanut and mostly hype/ lip service.
According to CNA: 12March2014: '"One Million Kg Challenge" to be launched this weekend': 300,000 participants are sought. Whilst no worded details are made, the HPB poster seems to describe the first prize being a Suzuki swift, I'd guess sans COE as usual: worth sans COE= probably not exceeding S$50,000. Even if the tour package prizes were worth any material value, my guess is that the total size would not top $300,000: I.e. like winning average just $1 per person: which probably cost more than the bus fare to the weighing centres for those who register to participate, and less than 2 sticks of cigarettes here. The vouchers given, I won't be surprised are just throw-away gimmicks to make U buy useless health supplement/ crappy spa visit stuff.

Also, the BMI target does not consider one's muscle build up. I know some army folk with 'overweight' BMI of say 25-28 but still do very well at IPPT because its all muscle mass: unfortunately, the silly HPB challenge does not accommodate that. AFAIK, u are rewarded for achieving targeted weight loss, but those who are already target weight are penalised with fewer rewards cos nothing more to 'achieve': the scheme is thus a knee jerk reaction/ insincere wayang show with little if no sustainability after 3 yrs: people's weight will yoyo: just like their luck in the casino...

All in, its all just lip service/ dog n pony show: it will fizzle out soon, and then we will wonder why obesity/ chronic disease keeps getting worse, why the national healthcare budget 2020 is S$12billion or even right through the roof...

da dick

Re: Penny-pinch prizes average= S$1/pax: "One Million Kg Challenge"= FAIL

i already below 20 BMI . if i become more skinny n die, they will give me 1 million prizes at my furneral issit?

bic_cherry

ST forum: Where do we draw the line?

The Straits Times, Published on Apr 03, 2014
Where do we draw the line?
I AGREE with Dr Edmund Lam's point that obesity increases the risk of many diseases, which would take a heavy toll on our health-care system ("Combat obesity with 'fat' tax"; Tuesday).
His suggestion to implement a "fat" or "sugar" tax is indeed a creative way to deter individuals from buying fattening food, but it seems rather impractical.
Overindulgence in any food, and not just fatty or sugary food, can lead to obesity.
In fact, studies reveal that the consumption of artificial sweeteners, and not just sugar, correlates with higher risk of metabolic syndrome, Type 2 diabetes, hypertension and coronary heart disease.
So, should we impose a tax on artificial sweeteners as well?
Not to forget carbohydrates like bread, rice and pasta, which also contribute heavily to obesity.
Where do we draw the line on what is and what isn't taxable?
Perhaps we should not focus so much on restricting the availability of food.
Instead, we should inculcate the importance of proper nutrition and exercise in very young children via the school system, as well as in their parents, so that children can grow up with the knowledge and habits to make healthy food choices for the rest of their lives.
Luke Ho Boon Choong (Dr)
Copyright © 2014 Singapore Press Holdings. All rights reserved.
http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-letters/story/where-do-we-draw-the-line-20140403

Re: ST forum: Where do we draw the line?

Send the fatties to the gas chambers. That'll solve the problem once and for all.

akasha

Re: ST forum: Where do we draw the line?

Send the fatties to the gas chambers. That'll solve the problem once and for all.

Can also turn the fat into soap.
And harvest the organs.
Hair can be taken for mattress.
And their CPF all go into state funds

Win win win for PAP.