• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Simi lanjiao meaning is – sinkapore most expensive for expat but not for sinkies?

Yes read the headline I really cannot understand. Does it mean that sinkies are fucking rich???

Ok when you read the content it make a bit more sense but then why such headline? Give readers a hard-on or what?

Singapore is priciest city for expats but only 60th most expensive for locals: survey
Published on Mar 28, 2014, 5:09 PM
By Chia Yan Min

The high cost of living for expatriates here relative to other cities is due mainly to Singapore's strong currency, according to a study released on Friday.

While Singapore is the most expensive among 109 cities for expats, it ranks 60th on the list when the cost of living for only locals is measured, based on a survey by the Asian Competitiveness Institute.

The think tank, part of the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, releases an annual cost of living index which distinguishes between living costs for expats and those for average residents.

The Singapore dollar, which appreciated 25 per cent between 2005 and 2012, bumped up the cost of living here for expats, whose are usually paid in foreign currencies.

If the exchange rate had held steady at 2005 levels, Singapore would be the 16th most expensive city for expats, the study showed.

sochi2014

dunno maybe expatriates dun eat in hawking centers and stay in nationalised pigeon holes? :biggrin:

Muthukali

Cb sinkie, dun understand then don't read. Simple thing cannot comprehend, knn fuck back to your thai thread lah:oIo::mad::biggrin:

vnhhinjb

So poor thing the expatriates so liddat we should let them humtam us some more so that they will be happy.

Wow... the spin from the pappies is becoming more...desperate?

Expenditure in Singapore is done with Singapore dollars, salary received is in Singapore dollars, doesn't matter if it's a local or expat, so why the hell would you factor in currency when measuring living costs?

Fucked up Old Bastard's think-tank trying to hoodwink the gullible again. :rolleyes:

greenies

They said locals do not eat or enjoy what expatriates foods/ facilities.
There are classes divided socially.
Then we wasted tonnes of tax payers' dollars on integration effort!!!

kingrant

This Dr Tan chap is truly a balls licker. The LKYSPP is nothing but PAP's apologist.

They said locals do not eat or enjoy what expatriates foods/ facilities.
There are classes divided socially.
Then we wasted tonnes of tax payers' dollars on integration effort!!!

There are expats who are living frugally. There are also locals who are spendthrifts.

Therefore, it is quite curious that the think-tank asserts that there is a gap between the cost of living of locals vs foreign expats.

The expats complaining about high cost of living are from third world countries like malaysia, indonesia, thailand, cambodia, myanmar.

sochi2014

There are expats who are living frugally. There are also locals who are spendthrifts.

Therefore, it is quite curious that the think-tank asserts that there is a gap between the cost of living of locals vs foreign expats.

how can you buy a maserati when you live frugally??

ahhock24

Yes read the headline I really cannot understand. Does it mean that sinkies are fucking rich???

Ok when you read the content it make a bit more sense but then why such headline? Give readers a hard-on or what?

Meaning there is a group of elite class who can afford to live life here in opulence, while the rest live or chose to live like Ethopian.