• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Police Commissioner wants 1,000 more policeman, only sprinters need apply

39,000 police man in the SPF not enough for this small island. Compare this with NYPD who has only 34,000 personnel and responsible for an area twice as big (1214 sq km) and much larger population (over 8 million, many armed with guns), and who do real police work like go after drug gangs and terrorist. Ng Chai Jiu He here has the audacity to ask for 1000 more men using the Little India riots as an excuse. Fucker should have his manpower cut seeing as how useless they are. The SPF is already fat and bloated and evidently useless and he wants to make it fatter. Anyway, I am sure there will be a 100m sprint as part of the physical test for the 1000 new policemen. Must run run very fast meh.

Police Commissioner Ng Joo Hee has asked for 1,000 more police officers to give the force "much needed strategic depth".

Also on his wishlist, stated on Tuesday at the hearing into the riot that broke out in Little India on Dec 8 last year: an extra Police Tactical Troop to be placed on standby at any time, thereby raising the number of available troops from two to three. He also hopes to ramp up the number of boots in Little India and Geylang, saying that 150 more officers are required in each location to bolster police visibility.

"(This is) so that we can police Little India and Geylang better, so that we can reinforce our thin lines in the neighbourhoods and communities in the rest of the country, so that we may continue to keep Singapore safe," he told the Committee of Inquiry, adding that there is "some truth" in the refrain that one hardly sees police officers roaming the streets of Singapore.

"We frequently have to rob Peter to pay Paul, as was the case when we keep reducing the size of our anti-riot troopers to fund other capabilities," he said, of the constraints in headcount and budget. "I have never been satisfied with the situation in Geylang or Little India, but I accept the fact that we can do little more with the resources that we currently can muster."

Now SPF play Tai Chi game saying police personal not enough compare to HK. That bull shit.
Why just don't admit that SPF are useless.
1. HK dont have army that why they need more police. They dont have to spend on army.
2. Just see Malaysia>> thier police ratio/popilation even less less than 1 police per 1 thousand population and still manage to handle riot countless time and dont have police property damage(police car)
3. All SPF are Bo Chap attitude that why cause little India riot>> 1st few police reach the accident site do nothing. Ans 2nd group police come also do nothing>>> Police dont even call riot police for backup when it start riot in 1st 5 min>>> this is totally Bo Chap attitude from bottom to up ranking.

bloody scholars can't think outside the square.

Keep the same numbers of police force and use strategy and kunfu not manpower?

Time to recruit riots.

More riots they have more training and exposure the police force can have.

How about using batons to shove it up their asses
for strategic depth?

Time to recruit riots.

More manpower needed? How did they manage to lower crime rate year after year with lack of manpower? Something is wrong somewhere? Maybe Commissioner Small Boy can clarify.

iluvgst

all there is to do is to stop bringing in the wrong kind of foreigners, and there will be no need for more policemen.

Geylang, not Little India, a 'potential powder keg'. Agree or disagree?

If riot took place in Geylang and not Little India how? That Little India, not Geylang, was a potential powder keg? Looks like the lumber 1 mata in S'pore continues to be misled by his men. Some things dont change, do they? The way he is going, he stands a good chance to be the worst CP in the history of the SPF.

1,000 more cops needed to boost force: Police chief
Goal is to raise additional tactical unit, have more patrols in key areas

Top of The News | Updated today at 01:35 AM
By Francis Chan Assistant News Editor

TO BEEF up the anti-riot capability of the police while keeping Singapore safe, Commissioner of Police Ng Joo Hee wants to recruit 1,000 more officers.

The police chief made this passionate plea at the end of his testimony yesterday before the Committee of Inquiry (COI) into the Dec 8 riot.

The extra manpower will let him raise an additional tactical troop specialised in tackling riots and police hot spots, and increase the number of officers who patrol the streets and neighbourhoods. It would also allow the police to train its front-line officers better.

The COI, led by retired judge G. Pannir Selvam, had over the course of the public hearing, questioned why police patrolmen were not adequately trained to deal with the unrest.

The 47-year-old - who was testifying at the COI for the first time since it was convened - said that a move to train officers to deal with the "initial moments" of a riot more effectively is now being considered. But that will involve "large and persistent investments in manpower and in training".

Already, front-line officers work a four-shift system lasting 12 hours each, leaving them with very little time for training of any sort. That is why Mr Ng feels that training these officers to fight riots under the current shift system is "quite impossible".

"If we were a football team, we would be a team that spends most of our time playing matches and very little time training," he said.

"And in my view, that is quite incredible and not a desirable situation... I think we have to rethink the system and we have to certainly get more resources if we want to do that."

A key reason for the manpower crunch in the force, added Mr Ng, is because its ranks have not kept pace with Singapore's population growth over the years.

In 1994, there were 222 officers for every 100,000 residents here. Now there are 163.

This also affects the size of anti-riot squads, better known as Police Tactical Troops (PTT) under the Special Operations Command.

The first time these specialised units were restructured was in 1983, when 12 troops of 63 men were cut to just eight troops, each with 46 men. In 2004, the number per troop was cut to 35.

As of last December, the Singapore Police Force has just under 8,800 regular officers, supported by about 3,700 full-time national servicemen and 2,000 volunteer policemen.

"If you look at cities of comparable sizes like Hong Kong, Tokyo, New York, London, you will find that they typically operate with two or three times more police officers than we do per resident in Singapore," said Mr Ng.

"So there is some truth in the common refrain that one hardly comes across police officers on the streets of Singapore. But at the same time, we are able to deliver safety from crime that is still the envy of the world."

Mr Ng told the COI that the way to "increase police robustness before the next disturbance comes around is to build up rather than to cut down on our contingency forces.

"My intention, if I have the resources, is to raise an additional PTT to be on standby at any one time. If we are able to do this, we can increase our rioting fighting capability by 50 per cent and create the ability to bring a far larger force to bear to an incident."

In addition to augmenting the PTT, Mr Ng said it is critical to project a stronger police presence in areas where there is a congregation of foreign workers and that "pose a clear and present danger to public order", aside from Little India. "Today, despite the riot in Little India, I worry more for Geylang," he said. "If Singaporeans are irked by the littering, the noise and the jaywalking in Little India, they'll certainly and quickly sense that there exists a hint of lawlessness in Geylang."

A deployment of 300 pairs of boots on the ground should bring noticeable police visibility to both locations, added Mr Ng. But efforts to maintain law and order in Geylang and Little India have "already stretched police resources to near breaking point".

"My planners tell me that police presence is defined as a police patrol passing a point once every 15 to 20 minutes... This is a useful benchmark, but one which we cannot come close to achieving in either Little India or Geylang on present levels of resourcing."

[email protected]

NOT DELIBERATELY SLOW

I agree that our contingency forces were delayed in responding to the incident; this delay was not due to the troopers being deliberately tardy... I concede that if the troops had come earlier, certainly we would have quelled the disorder earlier.

- Commissioner of Police Ng Joo Hee

KNNBNBCB

If riot took place in Geylang and not Little India how? That Little India, not Geylang, was a potential powder keg? Looks like the lumber 1 mata in S'pore continues to be misled by his men. Some things dont change, do they? The way he is going, he stands a good chance to be the worst CP in the history of the SPF.

Yesterday he was describing the riots as frenzied, unrestrained, fluid, violent, chaotic, hysterical. But initially SPF stand was that they were exercising maximum restraint because there is no immediate danger. So which is which?

KNNBCCB to SPF. :oIo:

csi88

Give him 10,000 more policemen also no point cos officer on the ground can't make even make firm decision resulting in this ah nehs thinking the police is timid thus resulting in this incident. Ask the CP to go geylang along Lorong 8 to 20 between the early hours of the morning and see for himself how this illegal cigarette peddlers had no respect of the law peddling boldly there.

steffychun

Time to recruit riots.

sounds like sim city

Let me try and prove Commissioner Ah Hee wrong. Little India 100,000 visitors on weekends. Geylang how many? Geylang a hotspot for crimes such as illegal gambling and drug dealings? These are victimless crimes and from my experience hardly poses law and order problems.

Overt hostility and antagonism? He should ask why? From what I heard, it is because of police's overzealousness. For instance, pulling the hair of the FLs when arresting them. Spectators tak boleh tahan when such things happen infront of them.

More concentration on Geylang than Little India? Whoever decided so lacks ground intel and a brain that works. Why?

what they need is to recruit more FWs Ah Nehs for riot jobs. More riots more exposure and soon they find that no need waste time on rioters.

Fire one shot in the air, piang sound, all rioters run and take cover. A few more piang sounds from other directions pau jia rioters all go down on the ground and surrender. They know kenna ambushed.

Give him 10,000 more policemen also no point cos officer on the ground can't make even make firm decision resulting in this ah nehs thinking the police is timid thus resulting in this incident. Ask the CP to go geylang along Lorong 8 to 20 between the early hours of the morning and see for himself how this illegal cigarette peddlers had no respect of the law peddling boldly there.

KNNBNBCB

Let me try and prove Commissioner Ah Hee wrong. Little India 100,000 visitors on weekends. Geylang how many? Geylang a hotspot for crimes such as illegal gambling and drug dealings? These are victimless crimes and from my experience hardly poses law and order problems.

Overt hostility and antagonism? He should ask why? From what I heard, it is because of police's overzealousness. For instance, pulling the hair of the FLs when arresting them. Spectators tak boleh tahan when such things happen infront of them.

More concentration on Geylang than Little India? Whoever decided so lacks ground intel and a brain that works. Why?

SPF talk until got dragon got tiger in Geylang and until they know a lot of information there. So if now got riot in Geylang, are they prepared? I seriously doubt.

Yesterday he was describing the riots as frenzied, unrestrained, fluid, violent, chaotic, hysterical. But initially SPF stand was that they were exercising maximum restraint because there is no immediate danger. So which is which?

KNNBCCB to SPF. :oIo:

Forgive him. He is always confused and misled. He is making himself look foolish. Oxford grad I think. Or Cambridge. A disgrace.

What the whole lot of bull coming from the SPF from the COI......pay, they know how to collect the highest....then give excuses & taichi....

Fire one shot in the air, piang sound, all rioters run and take cover. A few more piang sounds from other directions pau jia rioters all go down on the ground and surrender.

A pity you arent involved in the COI. I share the same opinion. To fire warning shots once the rioters started burning and turning vehicles. Not before.

Charlie99

KBH and NJH are running neck to neck.

SPF talk until got dragon got tiger in Geylang and until they know a lot of information there. So if now got riot in Geylang, are they prepared? I seriously doubt.

Let me tell CP that for every illegal gambling den/stall in Geylang, there are at least 50 premises to game legally. Illegal dens in Geylang died 1-2 years before RWS and MBS started. In the words of an illegal gambling den operator, ' mata bien lai long, wa nang ka ke toh.' So for fuck sake, get your facts and intel right. Dont get misled. People who move around in Geylang have better intel than police intel.