• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

School of Business what they learn and students end up doing what?

blackmondy

There is an oversupply of business degree graduates. Almost everybody's children are studying for business degree.

I would say these degrees are better:

Degree in Actuarial Science
Degree in Metallurgy
Degree in Materials Science
Degree in Food Science
Degree in Mining
Degree in Rocket Science
Degree in Fuck Science
Degree in Bullshit Science (pappies full of them)
Degree in Porlumpar (pappies full of them)
Degree in Taichi (pappies, stat boards, civil service ..... full of them)

I am aiming for a degree in paranormal studies. Industrial attachments will be with voodoo magicians and ghost catchers.

vamjok

Lots of my friends are engineering grads, second upper at least, and many are doing something totally unrelated to engineering. That is a fact.

of cos, everyone has an engineering grad friend and this is a common knowledge. but vet is a professional vocation, it required specialised training and is strictly regulated. not any ah cat ah dog with any degree can be one.

So many young kids want a degree, or many parent want their kids to have a degree, a status for the family regardless the degree useless type.

So in fact Sinkies boys spend than 6 years wasting their prime time. 2 yrs NSF and 4 years in business school.

I know a chap his father was a butcher in Bt Timah wet market and he went study in US doing Marketing and Communication, something like in IT. Cant get a job and end up selling chye tau kuay in Bt Timah Hawker center.

USA and the West really know how to market useless degrees to Asians.

dun waste time studying business...its a general degree - like arts & social science.
go study engineering - you can get a MBA after no problem. but you cannot get engineering degree after studying business..get it?

if cannot get in local U, go study foreign U.

Whatever shit, no fret, start a biz....and if you r successful, you can hire whatever fuck grads u want to work for u.

Like Bill Gates -dropout but see how many grads dying to work for him?

garlic

Most business graduates end up selling credit cards first, then if they are good at it, sell financial products. After they hit target, become RMs or some other fancy names and sell more financial products. Anytime during this timeline, they do not hit target, off they go... Meanwhile, they get themselves into debt. First, by buying Audi A3 or BMW 316, 318. Then they hook up with other people working with them doing the same thing and then get married, buy a condo, getting even more debt. No HDB flats for them, it is beneath them...

After that, they pray and hope everyday they can hit the target.. life is too stressful if cant hit... Most of the time, their conversation revolves around sales target and discussing which bank has better commission etc. Some at this point in time might think about making a career switch to property sales agent or insurance sales agent... anything in sales that can give them a fancy title. I think in property sales line is the sector where there are most directors.

So i agree with earlier poster, getting an engineering degree is better, people in this line solves actual problems...

The bestest thing is by being a hawker in bukit timah market he will earn more n have less stress.. Can buy a few houses as its a cash business.... Never see hawkers who drive mercedes n wear rolex? Cash biz n less stress...drink stalls also good biz....

So many young kids want a degree, or many parent want their kids to have a degree, a status for the family regardless the degree useless type.

So in fact Sinkies boys spend than 6 years wasting their prime time. 2 yrs NSF and 4 years in business school.

I know a chap his father was a butcher in Bt Timah wet market and he went study in US doing Marketing and Communication, something like in IT. Cant get a job and end up selling chye tau kuay in Bt Timah Hawker center.

USA and the West really know how to market useless degrees to Asians.

The bestest thing is by being a hawker in bukit timah market he will earn more n have less stress.. Can buy a few houses as its a cash business.... Never see hawkers who drive mercedes n wear rolex? Cash biz n less stress...drink stalls also good biz....

problem with hawker is that, its tough life. and the success depends really on you...its not like you patent something, and it will generate income even if you are PCCing at home.

hawker means, u stop, income stop. U are in a dilemma to pass the recipe to ah tiong who will not hesitate to back stab you. hiring staff is always an issue - meaning you have to slog it out yourself alot.

Alot of jobs r like tat now. Go on leave come back u kenna retrenchment. At least hawker is yr own biz n its cash biz. :f biz good u can close for a mth every 6 mths..better than b sales for credit card n all those bs financial products...at least as a hawker u r doing something tangible. Alot of hawkers r rich n some buy property etc becoming a landlord....most jobs now r hard..except being a pappie or a super scale civil serpant. Than life is easy...work 10 yrs n retire...

problem with hawker is that, its tough life. and the success depends really on you...its not like you patent something, and it will generate income even if you are PCCing at home.

hawker means, u stop, income stop. U are in a dilemma to pass the recipe to ah tiong who will not hesitate to back stab you. hiring staff is always an issue - meaning you have to slog it out yourself alot.

TeeKii

Not need status lah, give me a position such as road sweeper, monthly wages 2500 I also grab, no stress at all. You think all those Bank AVP earn a lot is it? No, bank status are go by wages rank, my friend taking 3k plus holds a AVP title in a investment firm.:*: and it's a shitty job.