• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP wants to squeeze you dry

Reverse mortgages for elderly HDB flat owners being seriously studied: Khaw

Here is an excerpt of the statement by the Ministry of National Development:

Enhancing Monetisation Options for the Elderly

Currently, 220,000 HDB flats are owned by Singaporeans aged 55 and above, and with mortgages fully paid up. Most of these elderly have strong family support and healthy savings. For those who want to convert part of their housing asset into cash, the current options are:

a) Sell their HDB flat and move to live with family members or to a smaller flat or Studio Apartment (SA). An eligible elderly household who chooses to top-up their CPF Retirement Accounts (RA) with proceeds from right-sizing and join CPF LIFE can enjoy a Silver Housing Bonus (SHB) of up to $20,000 in cash. Since 1 Feb 2013, 70 households have enjoyed the SHB.

b) Join the Enhanced Lease Buyback Scheme (LBS) where the household sells part of the flat's lease to HDB and retains a 30-year lease, and use its net proceeds to top up their CPF RAs, join CPF LIFE, and get a cash bonus of up to $20,000. The LBS is currently available to eligible elderly households in 3-room or smaller HDB flats.

The LBS was introduced in 2009 and enhanced in 2013. Over the last three years, LBS has benefited 390 elderly households.

c) Rent out their HDB flat or spare room.

MND last improved monetisation options for the elderly on Feb 1, by introducing the Silver Housing Bonus, and enhancing the Lease Buyback Scheme to allow more households in 3-room or smaller flats to qualify, allow retention of cash proceeds after meeting the required CPF top-up, and increasing the bonus to $20,000 in cash.

Going forward, MND is studying reverse mortgage* as a new monetisation option, with a view to formulate a practical scheme. MND is also reviewing to improve existing options, including whether to extend the Lease Buyback Scheme to larger flat types.

* Under a reverse mortgage, the owner retains the full lease of the flat, but takes a loan against his flat as collateral, and will have to repay the loan with accumulated interest upon termination of the loan, or death.

Reverse mortgage is one of the worst scheme to borrow ...it is compounding interest reversed.

The PAP wants to squeeze you till you are complete dry. How heartless can they be? Hopefully, they will leave you with some money to buy your coffin.

This sounds like a noble and generous scheme... until you realize that the pappies are never noble or generous, and they will profit from these reverse mortgage schemes.

The pappies have now degenerated into the unscrupulous 'relationship manager' at your local bank who pesters gullible old folks to purchase certain structured products.

Mixing business with government: avarice is what you'll get.

Khaw-Boon-Wan-exposes-nipples.jpg

my-middle-finger-salutes-you_o_1201062.jpg

Reverse mortgage is one of the worst scheme to borrow ...it is compounding interest reversed.

The PAP wants to squeeze you till you are complete dry. How heartless can they be? Hopefully, they will leave you with some money to buy your coffin.

The 60% just loved to be screwed, they are screwing their backsides & have to pay for the condom.... ha ha ha ha , reverse mortgage...:biggrin:

garlic

You think ministers/deputyies (or anyone) will gather around a conference room and brainstorm many hours, coming up with schemes and ways to HELP sinkies get rich and live a wonderful life?

It is unfair to criticize the PAP for this because it is merely an option that is offered for those who feel it would benefit them. Those who frown upon the scheme can simply not use it. It's not being forced upon anyone.

For example, those with no dependents might well find it advantageous to take the reverse mortgage option so they can fulfill all their bucket list items.

If I'm still around in 20 year's time, I will definitely do a reverse mortgage of the home I'm living in as I have nobody to leave it to. I want to go out with a bang and the more money I have to spend the better.

It is unfair to criticize the PAP for this because it is merely an option that is offered for those who feel it would benefit them. Those who frown upon the scheme can simply not use it. It's not being forced upon anyone.

For example, those with no dependents might well find it advantageous to take the reverse mortgage option so they can fulfill all their bucket list items.

If I'm still around in 20 year's time, I will definitely do a reverse mortgage of the home I'm living in as I have nobody to leave it to. I want to go out with a bang and the more money I have to spend the better.

You get more money by selling your property and then renting than using a reverse mortgage.

The last thing I want to do when I'm a senile old man is to end up living in rental property. I want familiar surroundings so I can find my away around my own home.

At the same time the money from the reverse mortgage will enable me to enjoy my last few years on earth.

bacab201-2b8b-4e4e-afab-e09c3fc21a7f.jpg

LEGEND

Who will be offering the reverse mortgage? HDB or financial institute or both?
Can the 2nd timers of HDB loan take up reverse mortgage if HDB is offering reverse mortgage?
Business for the banks has been slow since the gabernment tightened the regulation on borrowing. Could be a tied down to generate more business for the banks. :oIo: Business of local casino is slow too. :oIo:
390 out 220000 households, don't think it's a good deal since the take up rate is so low. Either that or the criteria to meet the eligibility of LBS is strict.
Only daft Sinkies will trust that the gabernment is going to give them good Kangtou. :oIo:

Reverse mortgage is good if the dollar is given in cash. But to put back to CPF RA is want to squeeze till bones also never left.:eek:

PHUA CHEE BYE PAP STILL DIDN'T WAKE UP WANT TO CONTINUE SQUEEZE, CB CHUP ALL DRY UP LIAO SQUEEZE AIR COME OUT AH :oIo: