• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MINDEF sabo angmo

Adrian Lim
MyPaper
Thursday, Feb 27, 2014

SINGAPORE - The animal activist who uploaded the video of a dog allegedly being abused in an army camp said she revealed the identity of her informant, a full-time national serviceman (NSF), because she was under the impression he would merely be warned.

Ms Cathy Strong, founder of Animal Lovers League, added that she would not have given his name to the Ministry of Defence (Mindef) staff member who contacted her, had she known he would be charged and punished.

The NSF was given a 21-day Suspension of Leave which started this week, and has to check in with the military police every two hours, The Straits Times reported.

The army has said that he violated camp security regulations by taking photographs and sharing them. It has also pointed to the danger that stray dogs posed to its staff.

Ms Strong said she did not know the NSF prior to the incident, but added that he might have called her as her shelter is located near the camp.

The 21-second clip that was put up on Facebook on Jan 14 shows a black mongrel tied up in what appeared to be a bathroom stall.

In a Facebook post on Tuesday that has since been shared more than 5,000 times, the NSF's father, Mr Simon Spencer, wrote that a warrant officer had thrown a truncheon at the strays and that a lieutenant-colonel had hit a dog.

"This was witnessed by my son and eight other NSFs who were threatened to be charged if they did not keep their silence," Mr Spencer wrote.

Regarding what happened between Ms Strong and Mindef, Mr Spencer said: "There was no honour in the way this situation was handled by the SAF. It is only our word against theirs."

But the army said on Tuesday on its Facebook page that "the dogs were never abused. Allegations against these commanders were untrue and unfounded".

It added that the NSF in Pasir Ris Camp had "violated camp security regulations that prohibit unauthorised photography in camp and disclosure of information to people outside the Singapore Armed Forces".

Posting a photograph of the dog bites suffered by one of the camp's staff, the army added that there were at least five recorded occasions of "dogs biting or attempting to bite our staff".

It said the dogs were "unpredictable" and a "persistent danger" to camp staff, and, after unsuccessful attempts to chase the dogs out, the unit was advised by the Agri-Food & Veterinary Authority of Singapore (AVA) to contain them and hand them over to the AVA.

Ms Strong said five dogs taken from the camp are doing well at the League's shelter and she is trying to find homes for them.

[email protected]

All you women and foreigners: now you know that SAF and Mindef can never, ever be trusted.

We Sinkie NS slaves who have served or are serving military conscription only know too well.
You didn't know. But now you do.

Mr Simon Spencer must have been one of those angmo FTs who got psycho by PAP propoganda to let his son do NS....
Now he must be regretting his decision.

I_Hate_Pappies

The army has said that he violated camp security regulations by taking photographs and sharing them. It has also pointed to the danger that stray dogs posed to its staff.

I remember seeing a picture of a big fat leg bitten by the dog. I m quite sure it was taken in camp too. Not violation?

Tat NSF deserve to kenna 30 days DB at least. In the military he violated the chain of command n committed treason by givin info to the public. N army never teach him ah? Dont see dont tell. N idle alone. So big mouth for wat? He not crown prince hor who can email blast everyone n still get away w it. Thai n viet army camps no such problems. The dogs get makan.

All you women and foreigners: now you know that SAF and Mindef can never, ever be trusted.

We Sinkie NS slaves who have served or are serving military conscription only know too well.
You didn't know. But now you do.

Agoraphobic

To the best of my knowledge, dogs, whether strays or not will not attack humans unless they are provoked, teased, or threatened.

For those who wish to eat dog, please kill it quick and humanely, else leave them alone. All they do is mind their own business and look for scraps of food. There is no reason to taunt or torture them.

hockbeng

To the best of my knowledge, dogs, whether strays or not will not attack humans unless they are provoked, teased, or threatened.

For those who wish to eat dog, please kill it quick and humanely, else leave them alone. All they do is mind their own business and look for scraps of food. There is no reason to taunt or torture them.

Your knowledge is indeed questionable.

Dogs are like humans; when alone very cowardly but once in a pack, they behave differently and will attack anyone it sees.

You obviously havent lived in a kampong before where packs of dogs would terrorize pple who accidentally cross their path. When faced with these beasts, never run but confront and attack them back; show more aggression than them. kill one if you have to.

It's kill them or be killed; show these strays who is boss; just like how they tame wild elephants.

All these spastic animal lovers need to be educated.

Agoraphobic

I spent primary school age living in kampong, Somapah to be exact. I cycled in reclaimed land while reclamation was still ongoing and the construction huts were guarded by dogs. You cycled too close, the dogs would come for you, not one, but the whole pack - but then, that is because you would be intruding into "their" territory. You trespass into somebody's house, and they have a dog, expect it to come for you - otherwise its a useless dog. You are right, the dog would terrorise pple who accidentally cross their path, and that's because THEIR path was crossed. You don't find dogs from afar coming over to your property and cross YOUR path.

The issue here is the treatment of the dog at the camp and the way it was tied up. There was no need for that. That is animal cruelty.

Your knowledge is indeed questionable.

Dogs are like humans; when alone very cowardly but once in a pack, they behave differently and will attack anyone it sees.

You obviously havent lived in a kampong before where packs of dogs would terrorize pple who accidentally cross their path. When faced with these beasts, never run but confront and attack them back; show more aggression than them. kill one if you have to.

It's kill them or be killed; show these strays who is boss; just like how they tame wild elephants.

All these spastic animal lovers need to be educated.

hockbeng

I spent primary school age living in kampong, Somapah to be exact. I cycled in reclaimed land while reclamation was still ongoing and the construction huts were guarded by dogs. You cycled too close, the dogs would come for you, not one, but the whole pack - but then, that is because you would be intruding into "their" territory. You trespass into somebody's house, and they have a dog, expect it to come for you - otherwise its a useless dog. You are right, the dog would terrorise pple who accidentally cross their path, and that's because THEIR path was crossed. You don't find dogs from afar coming over to your property and cross YOUR path.

The issue here is the treatment of the dog at the camp and the way it was tied up. There was no need for that. That is animal cruelty.

In Spore; all territory belongs to PAP!
The dogs have to learn that.

Actually It's the other way round. Angmo saboh nsf. Knn, if no big mouth, think nsf can book out liaoz. Nsf father also gong kia, the only honour in saf is to organise ndp.

batman1

Ha ha the Ang mo trust SAF ???now they know the realities of covering the arse holes of army officers.
If u trust the army,then pigs can fly !!!

Agoraphobic

All territory maybe, but not all life. And we're not talking about the PAP here, it is a member of the SAF that has conducted himself despicably in front of his subservients by his inhumane treatment of a mute animal. And the SAF, instead of punishing him chose to punish a low ranking soldier who was acting honourably in defence of the poor animal whilst covering up the irrational misdeeds of an officer! In any case, what is the stray dog doing in a camp that is supposed to be fenced and guarded? You teach dogs by physically beating them? No wonder you're afraid of dogs.

In Spore; all territory belongs to PAP!
The dogs have to learn that.

palden

Mr Simon Spencer must have been one of those angmo FTs who got psycho by PAP propoganda to let his son do NS....
Now he must be regretting his decision.
Hi Simon, wake up. This is Stinkapore. Don't talk about animal rights. Human rights also don't have.

Tat NSF deserve to kenna 30 days DB at least. In the military he violated the chain of command n committed treason by givin info to the public. N army never teach him ah? Dont see dont tell. N idle alone. So big mouth for wat? He not crown prince hor who can email blast everyone n still get away w it. Thai n viet army camps no such problems. The dogs get makan.

He has angmo values ...angmo treats animals like human beings.