• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How to generate monthly $1k using $300K

lifeafter41

yes think I will look further on this ocbc dbs pref shares :smile:
Windfall to me is just a dream, I never had windfall in my life, only downfall, donated big portion of my $ to turfclub and sg pool and casino. The 300k is hard earned savings, that's why I told ZhiHau I will not hesitate to chop him if he don't return me my money :biggrin:

My thoughts is that they are relatively safe (pref shares of ocbc and DBS, not great returns but at the very least meet your minimum requirement of 1k/month)

I must say you must have been very thrifty to be able to save 300k. It's not easy to even save 50k, what more 300k, in today's environment.
It's good to know that at the very least, the flat has been paid, no debt, good savings, at least got a job.
There are people I know living life to the hilts, lots of debts, while still got job, but living paycheck to paycheck, with very little savings to fall back on.

I was interested in accumulating more Malaysian banking shares last year. Unfortunately the shares that I was interested in kept going up & up in price:eek:

At these price levels, it's too risky.

since you invest in US, i read about this instrument from Merrill Lynch called MITTS.................

MITTS - guarantees your capital sum so you won't lose while you can lock in any profits..........i know it sounds too good to be true but worth investigating leh............

the sg stock exchange (sgx) is the greatest joke in this known universe. it's the only exchange in the world with numerous sub-dollar and sub-penny stocks. :*:

I remember during it's heydays when every housewife, student, taxi driver, .... had a trading account. Some of these housewives, students,... ended up with $$$ in debt.

Now there are many dubious chinese companies listed in SGX. Fortunate for the punters that there are the casinos where they can gamble their $:rolleyes:

meepokboy

difficult to get the returns you yearn for. I suggest you split it into different components. Have one part of it for trading and some minor investment purposes. I believe your yields would definitely be more than what you need. Plus the risks you need to manage is acceptably okay

since you invest in US, i read about this instrument from Merrill Lynch called MITTS.................

MITTS - guarantees your capital sum so you won't lose while you can lock in any profits..........i know it sounds too good to be true but worth investigating leh............

I currently don't use any "instruments". I just buy the stocks that I like & think will perform.
However with todays risky environment you find many people are turning to the ETF market. That's why I am taking a serious look at ETF market to reduce my risk.

An ETF share is composed of several different companies. So buying a share in that ETF would mean that you are actually owning several companies via one share.
It is something like owning a unit trust without the penalties e.g. have to pay a management fee, delays when buying or selling, ...etc

There are many, many... many different ETF shares to chose from.

Many who trusted their banks were played out e.g. Lehman . I have no idea if Merill Lynch is trust worthy but be careful of any guarantees given by a financial company.

Hans168

put 300k into medisave acct which will pay you $1000 monthly to pay for your medicine & operations etc...........

Hans168

I currently don't use any "instruments". I just buy the stocks that I like & think will perform.
However with todays risky environment you find many people are turning to the ETF market. That's why I am taking a serious look at ETF market to reduce my risk.

An ETF share is composed of several different companies. So buying a share in that ETF would mean that you are actually owning several companies via one share.
It is something like owning a unit trust without the penalties e.g. have to pay a management fee, delays when buying or selling, ...etc

There are many, many... many different ETF shares to chose from.

Many who trusted their banks were played out e.g. Lehman . I have no idea if Merill Lynch is trust worthy but be careful of any guarantees given by a financial company.

banks are the biggest crooks ard.............. using your money to earn obscene returns ... worse than cpf

Hans168

I remember during it's heydays when every housewife, student, taxi driver, .... had a trading account. Some of these housewives, students,... ended up with $$$ in debt.

Now there are many dubious chinese companies listed in SGX. Fortunate for the punters that there are the casinos where they can gamble their $:rolleyes:

& then ST encouraged use of CPF money to punt in SGX counters...... many din see daylight
journalists are so fucking irrespensoible

how u know he not member already?
Hehe I am already 1 currently but I didn't use this privilege usually unless the queue is too long. I prefer to be in peasant queue becos I feel more pang sim tis way. Similarly I was uneasy in visitng a luxurious boutiques.

lifeafter41

Hehe I am already 1 currently but I didn't use this privilege usually unless the queue is too long. I prefer to be in peasant queue becos I feel more pang sim tis way. Similarly I was uneasy in visitng a luxurious boutiques.

Wah!!!. Privilege banking, I remember seeing those in the local bank, you need to have card to show them just to q........steady lah......

No wonder, 3k wallet no problem, that's only 1%......

Wah!!!. Privilege banking, I remember seeing those in the local bank, you need to have card to show them just to q........steady lah......

No wonder, 3k wallet no problem, that's only 1%......

Walau there r so many rich bro here. Even I have 300 400k is nothing. Just look at MovieStar he make 120k pa.