• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Early retirement in JB

secondtimer

This looks like HSA- a govt hospital, charges almost free
There are many private hospitals in JB. eg Johor Specialist, Puteri, Columbia, Regency, Kempas etc.
JSH is a JCI accredited hospital.Gleneagles is starting a big hospital in nusajaya opening year end
I don't think there is anything to worry about healthwise in JB

gooddebt

Healthcare in JB: http://chrysanlee.blogspot.sg/2015/02/grumpy-post-read-at-your-own-risk.html

Read the chio bu who ranted about how bad the healthcare is in JB. Pictures included.

Although many Singaporeans have contemplated retiring in JB, or have already done so, I think when they need medical help, it's still Singapore they will be going back to?

SG will only be a train ride away once the HSR / RTS are built. Going back to SG for med is not a problem.

Anyway, with the trains, the MY hospitals will improve as they will know that there is a huge market from SG just a train ride away.

freedom

Spent cny d1 to d3 in jb with mil as fil passed away recently and we r not supposed to celebrate....saw fireworks set off by neighbours, quite nice and colourful, quite a few of them every nite, something we never experienced before in sg, makes the mood more festive...

went to jpo first day and bought overpriced toys at kids insistence and cheap t shirts for ourselves....

bought umobile sim card at 7 eleven and kids managed to play wifi games but I could not surf at our house as connection somewhat slow for me but much better outside of my house like now at the eatery....

MiL quite impressed with the place and says it is a good buy to my relief, hope to come here for holidays more often with her and other family members if it remains untenanted....though there is a potential one now, viewing after cny....

Happy CNY to all.....huat ah!

Manhattan

Today I decided to do a dry run into nusajaya on my motorcycle. It was a breeze with no queue at all both ways. On the return journey, i got to bypass the 200m car queue and direct back home, felt a bit sorry for those in the cars. And the toll is only sgd 0.50 and rm 1.10 one way!

Pumped 15 liters of petrol at 75cts sgd per liter before moving towards nusajaya. I went to bukit indah aeon and surprised to see such a lively shopping belt with thousands of shoppers. They even have a gated and guarded parking for my super bike! Nice. Had a meal at the thai restaurant with sg food court price, bought some simple groceries at 30 % off sg prices. came back a happy man.

Healthcare in JB: http://chrysanlee.blogspot.sg/2015/02/grumpy-post-read-at-your-own-risk.html

Read the chio bu who ranted about how bad the healthcare is in JB. Pictures included.

Although many Singaporeans have contemplated retiring in JB, or have already done so, I think when they need medical help, it's still Singapore they will be going back to?

I recall reading before two Msian forummers here who said their family members received good standard of care in JB public hospital. One is chinese and the other I think is non-malay. For Singaporeans with no family relations in Msia, I think our only option is either Spore public hospital or JB private hospital.

freedom

Found out that the 24hr clinic at 8th avenue just outside Austin Heights charges consultation fee of just 15rm no matter when, PH or middle of the night....that is like S$6 which is so cheap compared to midnight consults in Sg 24 hr clinic which can be near S$90....glad to have such service near my place :smile:

PuteriWorld

Seriously I heard about how bad 1-2 govt hospitals there are.. But when one of my loved ones was made to wait 2-3 days to undergo a simple operation at KTP Hospital, I was thinking the Spore hospitals are not that fantastic either.

RM 50 to give birth to a child I heard in JB govt hospital. In Singapore, its a 4-figure sum. I can attest to the latter as I am paying a 4 figure over 10 years ago

PuteriWorld

I was once amazed by a good friend grandma who called the ambulance to come and fetch her to a govt hospital as her kids are working in Singapore

Her ambulance service, 3 nights stay in the hospital and the COST OF THE OPERATION come up to less than RM 100. She's Chinese by the way

In Singapore I don't dare to think any further regarding the cost.

I recall reading before two Msian forummers here who said their family members received good standard of care in JB public hospital. One is chinese and the other I think is non-malay. For Singaporeans with no family relations in Msia, I think our only option is either Spore public hospital or JB private hospital.

nitecrawllerr

I was once amazed by a good friend grandma who called the ambulance to come and fetch her to a govt hospital as her kids are working in Singapore

Her ambulance service, 3 nights stay in the hospital and the COST OF THE OPERATION come up to less than RM 100. She's Chinese by the way

In Singapore I don't dare to think any further regarding the cost.

There were once i visited my msian friend at tun aminah hospital. The hospital condition and environment is quite terrible even at the ward. Houseflies everywhere. But my encounter was 15 yrs back.

freedom

Yes u r right. Am also planning to retire at Johor. But pls note when u say jb u r talking about the little city jb, when u say Johor it's the entire state.. I also prefer the Malay/Indian ambience..

Hi, do share more about yrself and yr retirement plan...

freedom

Am just your average 35 yr old chinese single male singaporean. My retirement plan is quite the same as the rest. Hope to get a flat n rent it out then retire at johor. I like to live in a place where its cheaper n less crowded. Whats more u could use your cpf to paý for expensive medical treatments (especially old age diseases) at singapore owned hospitals there at malaysian price. Wat about u freedom?

Mine also about using rental income or sale proceeds, shared earlier, of my terrace and condo to retire in JB...

Funniman

Mine also about using rental income or sale proceeds, shared earlier, of my terrace and condo to retire in JB...

Wow...how I envy you guys. 35 years old already planning about retirement.
Old guns like me still hope to work till 65. :biggrin: