• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Early retirement in JB

ComingToJB

Haha! My nephew, after graduated took 6-months to get a job at age of 25.
Some companies claimed that he has no experience and had chosen the FT instead who had ahead start with few years experience..
WTF!! NS had played him out.. Worst still, a NTU grad lose to a "don't know what" university grad??

Our poor kids need to serve NS to protect the FT..
When our kids are in the jungle feeding mosquitos.. FT walking along at Marina bay & having a good time eating peacefully in the restaurant with their families..
Couldn't even find a job after graduate.. are force to accept the same or lower pay who got ahead start without the need to go for NS
Not forgetting, our kids earn SG dollar and spend SG dollar in S'pore.. trying to buy an "affordable" HDB flat.. while FT earn SG dollar and send most of their earning back home.. already had their landed house, condo, car, etc back home

So when come first sight of trouble.. Those "talk loud loud" FT plus all other FT will be gone, while our kids will stay back to face the trouble??

... the FT are Mercenaries and will be gone at the first sight of trouble..

Skooz

You forgot they buy our hdb at low price n sell at higher price making a huge from it leaving spore n make us suckers with huge debts in our hands unable to go anywhere.

I think control and knowing where to draw the line is important. It's not that we don't want growth. It's not that we hate or think foreigners are unnecessary here. But it's how to manage it well such that there is balance. Cost of living will definitely increase in every developed country. But by how fast? Can the people cope or feel comfortable?

Back in the 90's and early to mid 2000, Singapore was doing very well and I remember there was hardly any concern we had unfavourable economy or exchange rate. I remember at every GE, there was no point waiting for the results. PAP would win hands down 80+% of the votes. Fast forward 2011, they won marginally only and we know, they know, their popularity has gone down drastically.

Then suddenly, when there was a surge in population and we began to notice foreign-looking faces every corner, infrastructure not planned properly (by PM Lee's own admission), we knew something was not quite right or comfortable.

For me, I knew something was screwed up when within a span of 5 years, typical HDB flat prices in non-prime areas could increase by as much as 250%, or more than $300,000 but yet PAP ministers constantly insisted they remain affordable.

If economy is of utmost importance over the commoners' well-being, and if I want to be selfish now, then I will say, Ok please jack up the population by 6.5 million end of this year. And I hope more HDB flats can be sold for a million $. Don't give a damn about the poor whiners of this country. Let the new grads live in 2-room HDB flats. Tell them: "Either you try to survive here with your pittance salary or you can rot and be gone from this country."

I don't think that's the right thing to do.

Yes you are very correct. Throughout 90s to 2000s, we might not have favourable exchange rate but our lives were much better. Did the favourable exchange rate even bring down Spore cost of living in the recent years?

Growth is only useful if our lives improve as a result of the growth. Obviously something very wrong when growth is by sacrificing citizens wellbeing and benefitting foreigners instead of or much more than citizens.

hippoheyhey

I read all these posts and agree with all the points brought up. But I can't help but question will it make a difference. Come polling day, there will still be 60% selfish brainless sinkies and converted sinkies to fly the white flag again. There is only Roy championing for real sgreans, but what little support he got? Does selfish sgreans dare to take to the streets? No. So will anything change? No. Will the opposition bicker among themselves? 100% yes.
Also, sgreans are only good in birth control and keyboard warriors.

RedsYNWA

I read all these posts and agree with all the points brought up. But I can't help but question will it make a difference. Come polling day, there will still be 60% selfish brainless sinkies and converted sinkies to fly the white flag again. There is only Roy championing for real sgreans, but what little support he got? Does selfish sgreans dare to take to the streets? No. So will anything change? No. Will the opposition bicker among themselves? 100% yes.

One may not agree with the election results, but one just has to live with the choices made by the majority. That's part of living in a mature democracy.

Manhattan

After reading this tread for a while, I am getting puzzled. So many people talking about retirement in JOhor, is there anybody from sg who is really retired in JOhor?
Can someone who is really retired in JB share with us what is the life like being retired in JB? I am seriously looking at spending some of my retirement life in johor, so would be greatful to hear from those who really retired in johor. Thanks.

D

Deleted member 80916

After reading this tread for a while, I am getting puzzled. So many people talking about retirement in JOhor, is there anybody from sg who is really retired in JOhor?
Can someone who is really retired in JB share with us what is the life like being retired in JB? I am seriously looking at spending some of my retirement life in johor, so would be greatful to hear from those who really retired in johor. Thanks.

I'm retired, living in Johor.
Need to increase my network of Real Friends.
Pm me
If you want to know more,...

summervale

You are right and probably the MIW already knew the outcome of the next poll thru' their groundworks. That is why time and time they are taking our voices for granted, right?

Keyboard warrior or not, it is alright because not a lot of people has the courage like Roy, but at least our voices were heard even though it appeared to them as noises...

Come polling day, there will still be 60% selfish brainless sinkies and converted sinkies to fly the white flag again. There is only Roy championing for real sgreans, but what little support he got? Does selfish sgreans dare to take to the streets? No. So will anything change? No. Will the opposition bicker among themselves? 100% yes.

One may not agree with the election results, but one just has to live with the choices made by the majority. That's part of living in a mature democracy.

But do we have democracy? In a democracy, does Prime minister sue citizens? I never hear of any other country prime minister doing that. In the first place, are all the ministers elected into the govt by the majority? Or did many walk in uncontested via the GRC system?

You are right about the voting. These people just don't complain when they or their future generation are affected by the govt policies favouring foreigners.

But who is keyboard warrior? Anyone making threats of war here? Are citizens not allowed to voice opinions of govt's performance, govt doctors' performance, or for that matter any civil service job holders' performance?

You are right and probably the MIW already knew the outcome of the next poll thru' their groundworks. That is why time and time they are taking our voices for granted, right?

Keyboard warrior or not, it is alright because not a lot of people has the courage like Roy, but at least our voices were heard even though it appeared to them as noises...

I think Roy has courage and intelligence to know so much details of CPF. Not everyone is capable of doing that. However, everyone of us should be able to contribute in our little own ways.

PuteriWorld

This I can attest to it. Have pinoy and ah toing business associate who did that and during the booming time, they pocketed like S$300,000 and convert to their RMB at 1.5 million and retire happily ever after in their homeland.

Sporeans are struck.

You forgot they buy our hdb at low price n sell at higher price making a huge from it leaving spore n make us suckers with huge debts in our hands unable to go anywhere.

Valdez

I m fully retired in jb and loving every minute of it.

RedsYNWA

How do you think living/retiring in JB is so different from SG, other than the fact that you can go casino and shop for Chanel/LV in SG? I have friends asking me what I do on weekends in JB.

My ans is always the same, pretty much the same as what you would do in SG: groceries, movie/TV, shopping, swimming, golf......

RedsYNWA

But do we have democracy? In a democracy, does Prime minister sue citizens? I never hear of any other country prime minister doing that. In the first place, are all the ministers elected into the govt by the majority? Or did many walk in uncontested via the GRC system?

Other than the GRC and elected presidency, we have pretty much inherited the Westminster system, which is good enough for me. I would very much prefer Westminster to the US system. GRC is a double edged sword as GE 2011 has shown. You can use your vote to change the outcome, but we should respect the outcome, as part of a mature democracy.

http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/05/16/net-us-britain-twitter-defamation-idUSBRE94F0L120130516

cybermad

How do you think living/retiring in JB is so different from SG, other than the fact that you can go casino and shop for Chanel/LV in SG? I have friends asking me what I do on weekends in JB.

My ans is always the same, pretty much the same as what you would do in SG: groceries, movie/TV, shopping, swimming, golf......

But in SG , we can simply walk around neighborhood at nite without fear of getting robbed but not so in JB... also SG has many social events to participate in like marathons, car shows , seminars, exhibitions , art festivals etc. JB dun seem to hv these so quite boring or am I ignorant ?

Frodo

But in SG , we can simply walk around neighborhood at nite without fear of getting robbed but not so in JB... also SG has many social events to participate in like marathons, car shows , seminars, exhibitions , art festivals etc. JB dun seem to hv these so quite boring or am I ignorant ?

In JB most would drive around rather than walk around.

RedsYNWA

Well, one can also walk around the G&G Taman, which is what I do every weekend evening. The G&G compound should not be too small also.

There are marathons & seminars organised by JB developers and by schools. Art festivals/exhibitions are lacking (usually held mostly at City Sq or KSL), but are there a lot of art festivals in SG in the first place? If so, yes, JB is lacking such stuff e.g. Esplanade, but I don't go to Esplanade often. If need be, the Esplanade is just a short drive away from JB.

As for car shows, I just passed by 1 opp Tebrau City last weekend.